We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ok for solo traveller especially a woman”
Review of Billard Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Billard Palace
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Room was above billard hall and noise can be heard. When taking the lift a man made woman unfriendly suggestions. Breakfast consists of getting a voucher to a take away croissanterie. 50 euro's is a little overpriced...for a bar of soap and some dirty talk!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm a skilled traveller with expirience from hostels and guesthouses to 5* hotels and I thought I was prepared for everything, but this hotel impressed me with its conditions. The only advantage is location. The hotel is situated very close to central station. But everything else... Thin walls and 24-hours noise, bad smells and dirty rooms (finger-printed cups, hairs), ragged furniture. It's OK if you stay for a night and have no variants, but I can't recommend this hotel for long staying and I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilla_my82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As my train was terribly delayed, I chose to stay one night, 7 h near the station. The single room is 48 euro.

It was noisy the whole night. Toilet was old and maybe dirty. Shower certain was old and nasty. Bed was cheap and soft.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is probably the cheapest in the area - I paid 48 Euros for my single room. There is a supermarket next door so cut costs by getting groceries and eating in your room. Not the best place I stayed but not the worst!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If your in urgent need of a place to stay the overnight, because your car broke down or you missed the last train, go there. It's cheap and very basic, but also very central. The wireless internet was free and worked well.

Room Tip: Pay 10 euro more (which I did) to have toilet and shower in the room, the corridor might be occupied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Once you get out of the train station, at Koningin Astridplein exit, you can't miss it. The location is excellent if you are travelling by train. Moreover, the rooms have an excellent view of the train station and the square in front of it. There is free wifi at the rooms. The staff is polite and friendly. The room was adequately clean and spacy. There is a fast food place right next to the lobby. But besides that, there are plenty of restaurants at the area around the train station with all kinds of ethnic cuisines one might think of. Antwerp is a truly multicultural city.
However, there are some things that need to be fixed. For instance, in our room there was only one plug socket, up in the wall behing the tv. So, in order to charge our cellphones and cameras we had to disconnect the tv. The tv cable was worn out at some point and it was dangerous as someone might accidentaly touch it. Heating was turned off so when we got there the room was very cold. And the worst problem was in the bathroom. The toilet pipe was not well attached to the wall pipe so, when someone sat on it, it got disconnected and the toilet was unstable because it is not fixed to the floor. Thankfully no water came out but it was nonetheless an unpleasant experience.
All in all, the location is very practical however there are some problems. It is a cheap and practical solution if you can't afford something more expensive or for a short visit in Antwerp.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathcliff_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were excited to find that the hotel was right outside the Central Train Station once arriving! Our check in wasn't till 2pm but we arrived at 10am and they had the roomed prepared already so we were able to check in earlier and drop our bags off in room before heading out to explore! We were even more excited to find that the Zoo and Aquarium were in the same square as the Train Station and Hotel and that the restaurant, stores, and cinema we planned on going to were within walking distance (maybe 5 mins). The hotel was in a perfect location for our weekend get away!
The entrance way to the hotel was very nice, the service was outstanding, the hallway leading to the room had us a bit worried ( looks as though there may be some remodeling happening ) but the room was great! A little out dated and some of the furniture needing replacing but still nice and with a GREAT view of the square! We were very satisfied with our experience and would recommend to friends traveling to the area! Also the price was not bad for a suite!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalCTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Antwerp Inn hotel
Antwerp Inn hotel
#45 of 73 in Antwerp
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#59 of 73 in Antwerp
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condo Gardens Antwerp
Condo Gardens Antwerp
#49 of 73 in Antwerp
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#52 of 73 in Antwerp
1,093 reviews
1.1 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#48 of 73 in Antwerp
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billard Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billard Palace

Address: Koningin Astridplein 40, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $72 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Billard Palace 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billard Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billard Palace Antwerp
Billard Palace Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing