We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, cozy room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 't Sandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 't Sandt
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location, cozy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel has got a very central city location, not directly in the oldest part of town but central enough to reach all interested site within walking distance.

Many of the hotel rooms have a gallery which you access via a spiral staircase. That gives it a quite unique feel.

The hotel is clean, efficient. The mix of styles is not really ideal which is a pity since the hotel is located in an old building. One could have certainly done a better job.

Staff was friendly, everything feels very laid back, quite unpretentious.

Room rates were rather on the upper end and doe not full reflect the value what you get.

But still, all in all, a centrally located property which is a good buy for a weekend visitor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    99
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
129
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Charming hotel close to the river and historical centre. Beautifully appointed and spacious light rooms although the carpets had some stains on them and probably need renewing. Rooms facing the street can be very noisy. Very good breakfast with local specialities but presentation could be nicer and not quite so chain hotel like.
Tastefully decorated sitting room across the reception. Pretty garden terrace. Free Wifi which is always a bonus and some hotels still charge for. Reception staff was very kind and helpful. All in all very happy and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleganTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights when I needed to be in the center of Antwerp. Perfectly located, just 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral and city center. It's basically an old house, fabulously restored, with high ceilings, a good breakfast, and unobtrusive staff.

I stayed in the "Cathedral Penthouse" -- all the rooms had similarly grand names. Lots of exposed wood beams, some salvaged industrial fixtures, really nice place. To give my room the high ceilings, it was actually between floors, and required hauling my luggage up or down half a flight from the elevator. Not a big deal but it might be a dealbreaker for others.

Also no real shower, just the European style bathtub with a hand sprayer (and no curtain). Due to what must have been plumbing issues with an old building, the toilet was actually in a separate room on the other side of the suite. Strange.

All in all, a good find and worth re-visiting for something with more character than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We checked out of the horrible Hotel National and checked into this gem. As far as I can tell, every room is a spacious suite. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is terrific. Location is perfect. Bathroom is spacious. Lobby is lovely. Room is nicely decorated. Price is reasonable. Can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
247 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is really nice and central, but it looks a bit old I think. The room was completly freezing when I went in. The windows were on and the heating off, with around 8 degrees outside. It took a while to warm up and it was not very pleasant. The rest was okay, even if there were no electric plugs close to the bed, so I had to charge the phone downstairs (the room had two floors) while I wanted to use it. Same for the computer. The breakfast was so and so, a bit poor with not so many choices. On the positive side there is the free internet that worked really well, and a kind of old fashion attitude that can be nice for some.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the 't Sandt over the Easter weekend and had a marvelous time. From the first impression - the helpful and friendly concierge and the charming in-house parking - to the cosy room allowed for a perfect stay.

We had booked one of the Junior Suites and enjoyed the vast room and the cosy reading corner, which was very relaxing after a long day of exploring the city. But not just the rooms are worth mentioning, but also the entire building. A nice quiet lounge at the entrance of the hotel, a pretty courtyard, grand wooden stairs... it all adds to the charm of the hotel. The location, only 5 minutes from the old center of Antwerpen, also made the hote the perfect choice.

We were also very happy with overall service. Staff were friendly and helpful, without being too overbearing or pushy. The concierge recommended a Thai restaurant nit far from the hotel, which turned out to be a nice gem of a culinary gem.

All in all, we couldn't have been happier with our stay in the 'Sandt and will gladly return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Even before arriving we knew that the staff was just great. We got an email in advance saying that the room we had chosen would not be available because of renovations. We were given an upgrade to the top floor Cathedral Suite, but we also had the choice of another jr suite or to just cancel. We were very happy with the suite and with the extremely helpful staff at the front desk. Each of the 3 different gentlemen (over a period of 24 hours) patiently answered our many tourist questions, made dinner recommendations and arrangements,reserved a taxi and were nice enough to show me other rooms. The breakfast was delicious with many choices. The hotel has a lovely patio garden and upper deck open to all guests. Our suite was a wonderful experience! We had a view of the cathedral and a lot of light as well as space. The hotel has style and charm. We highly
recommend it to anyone who wants a convenient location and a lovely room in Antwerp

Room Tip: garden view rooms may be quieter if there is no one talking on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovannaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
1.0 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Sandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Sandt

Property: Hotel 't Sandt
Address: Zand 13-19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 't Sandt 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme with 29 lovely rooms, all modern amenities and covered parking in the historical centrer of Antwerp. Fabulous terrace and Italian patio to find peace in the middle of a effervescent city and only a block away from a broad range of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 't Sandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Sandt
t Sandt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing