We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, unhelpful receptionist”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Scheldezicht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Scheldezicht
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location, unhelpful receptionist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located only a few minutes walk from nearby attractions. Free parking is available about 5 minutes walk away. Sat nav was a nightmare as it was trying to send us down one way streets and walkways. Hotel looks shabby on entry but the room was a good size and comfy enough, although a little peculiar in its layout. The problems arose when we tried to converse with the receptionist. She was too involved with her mobile phone to offer us any kind of information and check in was a huge effort on our part. Poor first impression due to complete lack of welcome and hospitality. Hopefully she won't be there for long as all in all the hotel was quite satisfactory.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    45
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
41
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dieren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is located in an old building. When I walked upstairs, I wasn't sure about how clean the hotel was but that's only the hallway, and because it's an old building. The room itself was nice and clean and enough space. The shower is in the room and the toilets down the hall, also clean.
About 5 minute walk and there's a free parking. Breakfast was good as well.
The hotel is located very central.
The only thing is that there was no elevator and on the website was nothing said about it. No problem for me us but it can give problems for others, especially when the hotel has at least 3 floors.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adavidanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for easy walking access to the main square and cathedral of Antwerp. There is plenty of free parking by the river only 10 mins walk away. The hotel itself is on the old fashioned side with steep, noisy stairs leading to sparsely furnished rooms.
The biggest bugbear is that the toilet is shared on each landing but there is a shower and hand basin in the room.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of cold meats and cheese. There is an annoying basketball court right outside the front of the hotel, which can be noisy in the early evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We loved the pricing and its location. It is very close to the citycentre. The hotel has an authentic entrance which will turn into the breakfast room in the morning. This looks more like a restaurant.

The rooms were tidy and oldfashionable stylish ;) It was quite noisy as the walls aren't that thick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed here for the 14th Beer Passion Weekend, Groenplaats Antwerp Friday 28th of June through Sunday 30th of June 2013, leaving Monday 1st July 2013.

The only thing going for this hotel is it is in a good location with free car parking within a short walk. The youth on the desk was friendly and helpful. The only positive points,

On their website the hotel looks very promising but it is in fact very misleading. Do not get drawn in by the pictures of the rooms they do not exist.

My brother and I were very disappointed by the standard of the hotel. The linen and bathrooms seemed to be fairly clean but with racked and missing tiles! What floor covering there was threadbare the hotel was just very very shabby and neglected. I was eaten alive by mosquitoes every night. All the rooms and corridors were very dingy and smelt very musty.

No fresh fruit available at breakfast and what food there was very poor.

Room Tip: Only stay at this hotel if you don't mind very run-down rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererFXRSC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Location of the place is top. Close to the center and within walking distance of most interesting places. Hotel is old but rooms seem to have been redesigned recently; still quite basic though but clean and reasonably sized. Bathroom, including toilet, was little but modern and adequate. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdbgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#37 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rubenshof
Hotel Rubenshof
#36 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#22 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#28 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigone Hotel
Antigone Hotel
#40 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#24 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scheldezicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheldezicht

Property: Hotel Scheldezicht
Address: Sint-Jansvliet 12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scheldezicht 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Scheldezicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scheldezicht Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing