We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
171
208
85
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
208
85
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrote marktgreat locationquiet streetold townthe main squarehot and cold foodseparate toiletlobby barnice breakfastcentral locationspent nightsbeautiful hotelminute walkfirst floorlarge roomyogurtbreakfast room is
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 490 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

We chose the Rubens for its location and got a bonus. It IS ideally dituated for exploring the centre of Antwerp and enjoying the bustle of the day and the food, drink and entertainment of the evening. The bonus was the hotel. Clean, tidy with friendly staff and with a great buffet breakfast. We had a large room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. The room was clean and had air conditioning which was welcome as the four days we were there were scorchers. The decor was modern and there was in room coffee making facilities as well as a mini bar and a free safe. The shower was nice and wwrm with a great pressure. Breakfast wss help yourself with a huge range of food from - cold meats and cheese, yoghurts, toast and pastries, as well as bacon, scrambled or boiled eggs, beans and pancakes. What more do you need? The staff were very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. All in all a very pleasant experience. Would we go back....definately, would we recommend it.....absolutely.

Room Tip: 205. Quiet room overlooking courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaypee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such glowing comments about your stay at our hotel.

We welcome your appreciation for the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel, and we are glad that our team provided excellent service.

Thank you for your high rating, as well as for your recommendations!
The entire team look forward to seeing you, again! Sincerely,

Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a quiet street a minute from the Market Square. We’d booked a room with a terrace so that we had outside space to sit in - these are situated at ground level at the back of the property. The room itself was clean, large and had everything that we needed. Huge, comfortable bed with good quality bed linen. Mini bar fridge with room for your own water/wine/beer. Well equipped bathroom. As previously mentioned, the shower is over the bath which may be a problem for some guests. We could hear the TVs in both the adjoining rooms - again, not a problem for us but could be for some. Breakfast suited us just fine. There was a small choice of hot foods plus all the usual cold items. Easy to operate bean to cup coffee machine plus orange juice. We found the staff both on Reception and in the breakfast room to be extremely pleasant and helpful. Everyone spoke English. This was our first time in Antwerp so I don’t know how the hotel compares with other 4 star establishments in the city but we couldn’t fault it.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Sara,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We're glad to know that you had a pleasant time while staying at our hotel.

Thank you for painting such a wonderful and detailed picture of our hotel. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our staff to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards.

We all hope we can see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

The Rubens hotel is a great hotel to stay at whilst visiting Antwerp. It is one street away from the main square where all the bars, cafes, and restaurants are. It is an ideal location for walking to a lot of the main tourist sights and also close to the metro. The rooms are a perfect size and the beds are huge and really comfortable. Buffet breakfast offers various choices of continental foods or hot cooked foods. The restaurant size is adequate and you can choose to eat in the courtyard outside. There is no bar as such but if you want you can help yourself to a drink in the reception area and the receptionist will charge it to your room. We stayed for 4 nights and the staff were very friendly and most helpful. Definitely would reccommend it.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jpirie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinions concerning your time at Rubens - Grote Markt Hotel in Antwerp.

It's great that you made the most of our location in the historic center, near the main square and The Cathedral.

We do our best to ensure that all our guests feel well taken care of and it is very rewarding to read that you both enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for mentioning how large your room was, and the quality of our beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Only 2 minutes walk from the Market square it is in a truly excellent location. The hotel is small friendly and excellently run, very clean, good facilities and would definitely recommend if you are looking for a few nights in the city.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Alistair, thank you for writing such a lovely review about your stay at our hotel.

We are so pleased to know that your recent stay with us has been a good experience.

Thank you for all your compliments.

We appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel cleanliness and modern amenities at disposal.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

From the delightful courtyard, to the ample breakfast, to the clean, modern lines of furniture and interiors, Hotel Rubens exceeded our expectations. We had a comfortable room with a couch and a view of Antwerp’s rooftops and towers. Centrally located and convenient without being in the middle of crowds and noise, great cafes are across the street and a wide array of restaurants are nearby. Staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Mara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Mara,

Thanks for your excellent review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great that you were able to make the most of your room cleanliness, it's comfort, calm and the lovely views over the city. We are proud of the high level of personal service we offer so it's really rewarding to receive your positive feedback. Thank you for all your compliments and we are very grateful for you recommendation.

We'd be pleased to count you among our guests again.

Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews