We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location except for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Excellent location except for...”
Reviewed June 12, 2009

the room! The location is excellent (perhaps it is the best being only one block from the Grote Markt)! BUT:
1) There is one receptionist who is clearly not a customer oriented person...she saw us approaching from the breakfast room (we were walking back from lunch to check in as we arrived too early) and was not happy to see us. Guess we distrubed her break!

2) Be sure that you know what room you are getting. We booked a 'Deluxe' for 228 euro as we had a third person. The room was NOT like the photos shown on the hotel's website! It was room #103, faced the front (noisy because there is construction work beginning at 7 a.m. which we were not told about), single paned windows, decor and furnishings from the late 80's except the toilet and bathroom were apparently recently remodeled. Think of the room as a cheap motel look (photos to follow shortly). Their website shows very modern, attractive rooms. Total deception. We were there for one night only, otherwise, we would have asked about to move.

As stated above the location is the best thing about this hotel. The housekeeping and breakfast room staff as well as the other two receptionists were all nice however.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paris_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    169
    73
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
200
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Right by the Grote Markt in the centre of the old town in quiet street. Nearly all the sights and museums in easy walking distance. Good comfortable rooms, but breakfast a bit hit and miss - if you are late things can run out. Reception staff a bit off-putting, but seem to cheer up if you smile at them.

At €150 for two bed and breakfast it is not cheap, but couldn't be better placed. Ideal for a weeked break. Parking €16 per day. Very hard to find hotel by car - get detailed instructions.

We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trufflehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

From the moment we arrived (quite early), each and every staff member went out of his/her way to be welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is perfectly situated, just around the corner from the Grote Markt. The building is attractive and well maintained (fresh carpets and paint in the public areas); breakfast is lavish and included. The rooms are generic but completely comfortable. Ours faced the inner courtyard, which meant it was extra quiet at night.

The restaurant Roode Hoed, just off Grote Markt, has superb food at good prices.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2009

My first business trip to Belgium found me staying at the Hotel Rubens in Antwerp. I loved the location in the heart of the historic district with great restaurants and sight-seeing within walking distance. The hotel had a very nice breakfast buffet that is included in the room rate.

In particular, I thought the staff were very helpful and very nice people. I would recommend this hotel for either a business or leisure trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Rubens in Grote Markt for one night in Nov 08 kind of by accident. We had originally booked into M0851, which had been billed as a hip hotel by the Guardian newspaper, but it was actually a disaster for us. M0851 consists of a few trendy rooms above a leather goods shop (do not stay there if you don't want to climb a lot of stairs!). When we arrived, tired from our trip, the room was "ready" but there was no water on the whole street, but they didn't inform us - I found out when there was no water to wash my hands with only after using the loo. They didn't know when it would be restored and they had no explanation for the loud, high pitched noise from the bathroom which made it unbearable to remain in the room. We went off sightseeing for about 3.5 hours, and nothing had changed by the time we returned, so we got on the internet, found Hotel Rubens, called them and when they offered us a room for 150 euros, we walked over, leaving behind the somewhat outraged folks at M0851 (who had claimed that there were NO rooms available in Antwerp other than at the big hotels, which would cost over 400 euros a night). BTW, there is no concierge or service at all at at M0851 - just the people who work in the shop during the day who give you a key and a voucher to get your breakfast at the French bakery 2 blocks away.

In contrast, the people at Hotel Rubens were friendly and welcoming, the room was ready and comfortable (though, as stated in other reviews, the furnishings are a bit tired), and everything went smoothly. The location is fantastic, located just behind the main old square, Grote Markt, so it is quiet. Breakfast is self-service buffet, but is perfectly adequate.

One small travel tip: there are hardly any taxis cruising around Antwerp, so don't think you can just walk outside and raise your arm. Make sure you get a number to call for a taxi (they normally will be with you in about 10 minutes). Most places (hotels, restaurants) will make the call for you.

  • Liked — the location and friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — tired furnishing, lack of secure storage for luggage
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Six of us (three couples) have just stayed 3 nights at the Rubens. From the moment we walked in the door, all the staff we exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size, with good amenities. The breakfast buffet is inclusive, really worthy of mention, and run by a lady (not some kid) who had everything totaly under control. There is a large lounge area, but no additional facilities, but then the hotel does not advertise that any are offered. Shops, restaurants/cafes (thousands), tourist sites etc are all easily and quickly reached by foot. The main tourist information office is 1 minute walk. We did read a couple of poor reviews when doing our research, but based on our experience, they must have been the unlucky ones, or people who prefer to do a bad review when they get home rather than get it sorted at the time.

  • Liked — staff, location and breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My sister and i stayed at the Hotel Rubens for 2 nights in Sept. '08 during our month-long excursion in Europe. We chose Antwerp because of its easy train connection between Paris and Amsterdam. It was really great to stay in a less-touristy city but still with plenty to do. We chose the Hotel Rubens because of its location and availability and were a little worried about the uneven reviews. There are far more pluses than minuses, so go ahead and book. We stayed in Room 208, which was large and attractively decorated. It's the room with the dark floor which is posted on their website.

Pluses: 1. The front desk staff was really friendly, efficient and helpful. It was the only hotel in our entire trip where I genuinely felt a personal connection. They were open and candid in their recommendations. Their advice about what to do with such a short visit was very good and restaurant choices were excellent. 2. The room was large, spacious and quiet with windows on two sides of the hotel. 3. Breakfast, which was included, was plentiful and quite good for the class of hotel. Much better than other breakfasts we've had. 4. The location was excellent. Within easy walking distance of everything but nice and quiet.

Minuses: 1. The carpets in the public areas were a little tired and this weird green colour, which were also a little dirty. Hotel Rubens, you must do something about this. It's off-putting and mars the ambience of an otherwise good hotel. People leave with the feeling that something wasn't quite right, yet are not able to put their fingers on the cause. It's the carpet! 2. The woman working in the breakfast room was a little frantic. Perhaps the restaurant ought to splurge and hire more staff.

By the way, Antwerp is a really good place to shop! For the size of the city, about 500,000, I believe, they have fabulous local designers. Because the city doesn't seem to get many tourists, especially from Canada--it was heavily bombed during the war and lacks the architectural dazzle of Bruges--wherever we went, we were treated royally by the locals, who are so proud of their city and really glad we came.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the green carpet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cilantro_and_Lime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Property: Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Address: Oude Beurs 29, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubens-Grote Markt is situated less than a 1-minute walk from the lively Market Square with bars and restaurants, as well as The Cathedral of Our Lady. It has a 24-hour front desk and free high speed wireless internet access throughout the property. This hotel offers light and spacious rooms as well as a luxurious suite. All units have individual climate control as well as a flat-screen TV. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites also come with a private terrace. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot and cold choices. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio with the hotel's own 16th-century Pagadder tower. Guests can benefit from the Rubens-Grote Markt's convenient location in the historic centre for visiting the most important museums and shopping streets, De Meir and Groenplaats Square, all within walking distance. The MAS Museum is a 10-minute walk and the Red Star Line Museum can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rubens Grote Markt
Rubens Grote Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing