We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Antwerp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was quiet and clean, and the rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast included pancakes, which are a favorite of mine. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast and reception areas felt like a private club and had character.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 404 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at his charming hotel. Perfectly located in town center it is a great place from which to tour around Antwerp. I must add, Antwerp is a great city! Much to see and do with very friendly people! The hotel is also filled with very friendly and helpful staff and management. Excellent rooms with, in our case, a patio to sit and relax or smoke at. Very decent breakfast to get us started in the morning. Front desk staff that is very helpful in directing or suggesting sights and restaurants. Look forward to our next stay at Hotel Rubens!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with patio/garden access are very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0hnPeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 9th anniversary with a 3 week vacation in Belgium, Holland and France. Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt was most definitely our favorite accommodation of the entire trip. In touching base with respect to our accommodation prior to our departure, we mentioned we would be celebrating our anniversary. The first night of our stay, upon returning to our room, we found a lovely bottle of French Champagne on ice (as well as snacks) waiting for us! The following morning, while dining in the beautiful outdoor courtyard, Anna introduced herself and congratulated us on our anniversary. Her personal touch was most appreciated throughout our entire stay. Anna gave us suggestions of what to see while in Antwerp and where to find a delicious dinner on the water (even made our reservations for us)! The staff at Reception were most helpful, friendly, and genuine. Our accommodations were outstanding! We slept in absolute comfort and tranquility each night. We had a private garden to relax in at the end of each day, a huge room, with a very comfortable King size bed, lots of space for our clothing, etc. When we next return to Antwerp, we will definitely stay at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt again! We have told numerous friends and family that this is a first class hotel, in every sense!
Thank you again, Anna! You are a gem!

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite with Private Terrace - fabulous and very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Lidija M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rubenshotel, Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good position in the town centre, with a wonderful sight in the night on the Cathedral.
The strutture is ancient and classic style. Sad the little bathroom with only the WC... like the stairs.. Too dangerous for me. There were outside 33 C and the air conditioner was out of service at the arrive... Nice idea the free speritive. Very kind the receptionist, above all Thomas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stangatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenshotel, Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear sir
We are surprised by your remarks. All our rooms in the hotel have a full bathroom with a large bathtub and 2 have a large walk in shower only. The toilet is always separate, a rather luxurious thing since many hotels now have toilets without even a separation in the room to save space. We Are not aware of any breakdown of the airconditioner. There was a problem about 2 weeks ago, which lasted 2 hours and was solved before any of the guests had time to complain about it. Did you mention this problem to reception, since of course, as you can set the airconditioning yourself, maybe it could have been solved easily by adapting the button on the wall, or asking from help from our 24/7 reception. Most problems can be easily solved by just asking help from reception. Of course last week was an historically warm week, so maybe it was not as cool as you wanted it.
Anyway we feel sorry that you did not have a perfect stay and hope you’ll be back with us;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This gem of a hotel in the diamond city of Antwerp is just a sparkler. Rooms are clean, calm and quiet as the hotel is in a quiet street just off one of the main squares. Good breakfasts and even free 'Happy Hour' Mondays to Thursdays when we were there. Helpful staff and a warm reception with selection of fortified wines while you check in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JvZ646
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#10 of 72 in Antwerp
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Address: Oude Beurs 29, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $119 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubens-Grote Markt is situated less than a 1-minute walk from the lively Market Square with bars and restaurants, as well as The Cathedral of Our Lady. It has a 24-hour front desk and free high speed wireless internet access throughout the property. This hotel offers light and spacious rooms as well as a luxurious suite. All units have individual climate control as well as a flat-screen TV. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites also come with a private terrace. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot and cold choices. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio with the hotel's own 16th-century Pagadder tower. Guests can benefit from the Rubens-Grote Markt's convenient location in the historic centre for visiting the most important museums and shopping streets, De Meir and Groenplaats Square, all within walking distance. The MAS Museum is a 10-minute walk and the Red Star Line Museum can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rubens Grote Markt
Rubens Grote Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing