We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a very average hotel. The location is undoubtedly perfect as it's next to the Grote Markt. The receptionist was not thrilled to see us it seemed, nobody went out of their way to be exceptionally friendly but I suppose that shouldn't put you off staying there! The rooms were nothing special, we had two rooms as our children were with us, they put us on separate floors which is just another point of their 'average' service. Surely it doesn't take a whole lot of planning to put the rooms beside each other? The kids room had a pretty ugly and dirty carpet on the floor with old fashioned as my kids called 'scratchy' blankets on the beds. The bathroom was clean. Our room was a bit nicer with laminate floor. Breakfast really wasn't very nice, I would say below my average benchmark. The eetcafe across the road was really good and we had a great night there so all was not lost!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kehlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenshotel, Owner at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Customer,
We are sorry to see that you were disapointed. Personnel seems to be considered exceptionally friendly to people who have a problem to solve or need help. As you can see from many reviews that is exactly what happens. Sorry to see you did not like the complimentary breakfast,which is exactly the feature that 90% of our guests quote as excellent. The carpet is real wool, the best quality and just starts its 3rd year, of course personal taste differs.. Since this review was not written in the same name as any of our bookings, we cannot really know which room you are complaining about so it is difficult to know why the 2 rooms where not next to each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location for those visiting Antwerp. The guy who checked us in was friendly and very helpful, the room was clean, but decadent. The decoration tried to pull up a boutique style hotel, but failed miserably. The Ikea objects painted didn't make a statment, they actually say the hotel is decadent. The breakfast was the nicest thing till I found out that the hot food was gone at 9 am. The hotel poses as four stars, but should have only 2 and half.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floor, I think it will minimize the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelerIE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012 for a business trip. Great location if you want to either play or work in Antwerp. Good standard rooms, excellent breakfast buffet, an all round pleasant stay. The gentleman who welcomed us to the hotel was a delight and extremely helpful as were all the staff. Sadly the receptionist who checked us out, was not so friendly or helpful. Had I not had such a good experience from everybody else, would have left with a somewhat sour taste. However, I would recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Antwerp on either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenshotel, Owner at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Madam,
Thank you even so much for your kind words. Could you kindly l tme know on which date and time you checked out so that I can have a word with the receptionist who was on duty at that time ? I'm sure she or he did not mean anything bad but of course it is very sad to see that she did not confirm your idea of the hotel.
We certainly look forward to seeing you again at the Rubens !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Rubens Grote Markt as part of a short 3 city Belgium visit. The location of the hotel, a few minutes walk from tthe Grote Markt was excellent. The room was modern and comfortable, but nothing special. The front desk staff were business-like, but not particulatly friendly or outgoing. THe breakfast had a reasonable selection of food and was good. Overall, the Rubens was ok and I wouldn't mind staying there again. However it would be good if the front desk staff were a bit friendlier and outgoing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdkatzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quiet surroundings close to the centre of Antwerp. Friendly service. Good comfortable beds but no decent TV (I only had 5 channels working), 20th century internet service, and not that many choices available at breakfast. If you add to that the fact that the closest parking is 5 - 10 minute walking distance, this is NOT your ideal business hotel, although it may well suit you as a tourist.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjm_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenshotel, Owner at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Sir,
I am really sorry that you did not ask reception about the tv channels since a simple re-set would have immediately solved the problem. We have 24 hour reception occupancy and our personel is there exactly for that : helping you with any problem that may occur.
We have 2 parkings : As you can see on our website :1 is 180 m and the other 200 m from the hotel. This is at worst a 2 minute slow walk to the hotel. Of course right under the hotel would be more convenient but since we have 16th century medieval sellars, in the historic city center , that is not really an option.
Sorry you did not like the selection at the complimentary breakfast, with pancakes bacon, saussages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, beans in tomato sauce, 4 types of cereals, all varietys of yoghourt, jam, 4 types of cold cuts, 4 choices of cheese, 4 types of viennoiserie and 5 to 7 types of bread, we are of course very happy to look into any suggestIons as we always want to learn about new things and improve.
Could you possibly explain to us the exact meaning of 20th century internet ? We have just installed , about 2 months ago a totally new system and we receive absolutely no complaints about it, we would love to be able to improve ourselves of course, since catering to business guests is exactly what we do the whole week.
We hope to be able to satisfy you next time, please do ask us about anything you do not see or understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

After having a very frustrating experience at Hotel Maison D'Anvers, these people accepted us with open arms and a great, nice room at 11.50pm on a rainy saturday evening.

Nice rooms, friendly staff, cleand and amazing location!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boostieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights in this hotel. The hotel is very smart, the staff couldn't be more obliging, a good breakfast buffet (with coffee etc available all day), and the rooms first class. We had a garden terrace room, as I was on business but my wife was being a tourist, but she looked at the other rooms and said they would be fine. Location is perfect for the city centre: just a few yards to one of the main squares, and close to too many restaurants to count, but it is in a very quiet street with hardly any traffic. We would definitely stay there again, and the rate was reasonable compared to the impersonal large chain hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 73 in Antwerp
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#3 of 73 in Antwerp
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 73 in Antwerp
838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Address: Oude Beurs 29, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $118 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubens-Grote Markt is situated less than a 1-minute walk from the lively Market Square with bars and restaurants, as well as The Cathedral of Our Lady. It has a 24-hour front desk and free high speed wireless internet access throughout the property. This hotel offers light and spacious rooms as well as a luxurious suite. All units have individual climate control as well as a flat-screen TV. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites also come with a private terrace. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot and cold choices. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio with the hotel's own 16th-century Pagadder tower. Guests can benefit from the Rubens-Grote Markt's convenient location in the historic centre for visiting the most important museums and shopping streets, De Meir and Groenplaats Square, all within walking distance. The MAS Museum is a 10-minute walk and the Red Star Line Museum can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rubens Grote Markt
Rubens Grote Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing