We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leonardo Hotelo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
California, United States
2 reviews
“Leonardo Hotelo”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel was situated across the street from the Centraal Station which came with its pros and cons. Since the entire Diamond district block was 'under construction' there was a constant hum of machinery along with dust in the air which made it difficult to breathe.

Apart from this annoyance, the wifi internet was an egregious 13 EURO for 24 hours -- 1 DEVICE AT A TIME! There was NO air conditioning except for a radiator for heating in the winter and the windows, when opened, let in ALL the noise in from the streets and dust from the construction. Furthermore, the room is TINY, with barely enough room to comfortably fit 2 persons and the shower left no room to bend or maneuver.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor. That should reduce the noise, dust and cigarette smoke from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGreenroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    251
    195
    93
    47
See reviews for
106
256
52
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is situated near the central station of Antwerp. It's in the city-center though turning the Keyserlei into a one-way street reduced the traffic noise. There are however quite al lot of restaurants and bars in the neighborhood so if you are looking for silence then this is the wrong location. The hotel and the rooms look clean as does the in room bathroom. The hotel provides a reasonable breakfast at 12 euro's a day. The staff is friendly and 24 hours a day availabel. The outside of the hotel however could use some maintenance. There are two free internet pc's in the lobby and there is paid WiFi in the rooms. The hotel has 3 stars and that seems what underrated. The Antwerp Zoo is nearby and so is public transport (train, bus and underground). There is an (empty) minibar in the room so you can get your own drinks and store them there. The rooms are available at reasonably prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is better on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robpetraentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is located near the train station - the most magnificent train station you will ever see - and is situated within an area of gambling clubs, night clubs, restaurants by the score and the zoo - yes, a zoo right in the middle of Antwerp and slap-bang up against the station. Unbelievable! The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and there are two PC's in the common area for your free use. It has a breakfast restaurant only. This is a badly designed room and everyone is bunched up in the corner if you want any food. The breakfast is adequate, the juice lousy but the bread, croissants and rolls are all fresh, the scrambled egg is hot and the fresh fruit is a nice touch. The rooms do not have AC and the area is noisy at night so if you want the window open you have to put up with the noise. Overall the big plus is that it is inexpensive so I guess you only get what you pay for but it could be a lot worse.

Room Tip: First floor would be good, there's only one lift (elevator) so if it breaks down (which it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel was located very near the city center and the station of Antwerp, It was hard to go there by car because of the busy city roads, and the parking garage wasn't very spacious. The room itself was big but if you looked out of the window (at my room) there was a ugly wall. The shower changed temperature the whole time and most of the time it was cold. There was a small hole in my blanket. We told the receptionist about the bad shower, and she gave us the parking for free. I don't think they ever solved the problem after we complained. Antwerp is a very nice city you could spent days walking there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were two cyclists on a tour of Holland and Belgium, after 100kms in the rain we would be grateful for anything with a bed and shower in any condition. After reading the reviews in Trip Advisor I expected the worst experience possible, especially when I got a direct Internet rate of e59 per night!
I could not have been more surprised, I manage a 6 star resort so know what I am talking about when I say that this hotel offeres superb value and quality rooms. The location is as good as it gets in Antwerp and they didn't blink at two weary cyclists and gave us free secure parking in the basement, the room was modern, light and well equipped, only thing I could fault was the glass shower curtain which looked nice but made getting in and out of the bath shower dangerously slippery, (small quibble).
Staff are quite standoffish but I don't speak French or Flemish so that's a plus for me that they speak English, they knew what they were doing however.
TIP: if you pay for WiFi and have dinner next door at the Boston Steak House the WiFi signal is strong enough to work!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialbuttefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the cathedral-looking Antwerp Central Station, and down the street from the main attractions and shopping area. It is clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is decent, and there is an elevator. But the free Wi-Fi is horrendously slow, and the service, while generally efficient, was inconsistent.

The street in front (De Keyserlei) is under construction and rather noisy during work hours. I was fortunate to get a room at the back, but the bars and the nearby Queen Astrid Plein could be noisy some nights. Those sensitive to noise might want to get a room facing the small inner courtyard.

The room itself was a normal size, which was a relief after the generally compact Dutch hotel rooms. The bed and beddings were clean and comfortable. The tub/shower combination's glass divider was rather leaky but clean, and the toilet was in a separate room, which makes the double room okay for sharing, for example, with a colleague.

Overall, a decent hotel for a good price. Nothing extraordinarily good, but not bad either, and overall a good deal. The Hotel de Keyserlei across the street is as close to Antwerpen Centraal (but the lobby is up a flight of steps), and the Radisson Blu and Park Inn hotels are across Queen Astrid Plein from the main entrance of the station, so the Leonardo is not the only choice close to the station. You might want to check out some of the other places, although Leonardo Hotel could be the best value for money.

Room Tip: Try rooms facing the inner patio if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The benefits of staying at the Leonardo are:

· It’s close to the train station and to downtown Antwerp
· It is clean
· There are two internet facilities in the lobby, available for hotel guests
· The staff are efficient and courteous

The drawbacks are:
· The décor is dated, the fit out a bit shabby and not well-lit
· The buffet breakfast, while abundant, is nothing special and in a room which gets very noisy.

Overall, it’s a good budget style hotel. Were I in Antwerp again, I would look for a slightly more upmarket hotel. There seem to be several hotels in this location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#23 of 72 in Antwerp
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#58 of 72 in Antwerp
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen

Property: Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Address: De Keyserlei 59, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Florida)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing