We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed in Astoria hotel for 3 days with my bf, we were welcomed by a receptionist with a very nice smile and she gave all information about the hotel. Hotel is really great, room is clean, and every day a Filipina employee always make sure that all room are cleaned and she always replaced a cleaned and fresh towel. The most amazing services they have is a WONDERFULL BREAKFAST, different kinds of bread, juices, fresh coffee, eggs, all i can say is that they have a different variety of breakfast from Asian to french, german, english breakfast. I strongly recomend this hotel to all the travellers. EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your exceptional feedback on our hotel. I have especially enjoyed reading the compliments regarding our staff. We put a lot of effort in staff training to ensure a perfect service with a genuine smile. That is one of our main priorities at Astoria Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 525 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

Due to a medical emergency we were booked into here at 1am - and finally arrived at near 2am. The reception staff were welcoming and didn't bat an eyelid at a retired and very tired couple showing up in the middle of the night. The room is quiet and clean with a comfortable bed. As an added bonus the breakfasts are delicious and suited to both Belgium and Australian tastes

Room Tip: I gather all the rooms are quiet - it is near the Diamond Quarter - and an interesting place for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Astoria Hotel during your visit to Antwerp. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our staff. We hope that whenever you decide to come back, we will have again the honour to accommodate you.

KInd regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We booked our hotel view Eurostar and had absolutely no idea what to expect. When we got there we thought we had a made a mistake, it is down a back street, not too far from Antwerpen Centraal station, in what doesn't seem like a very well maintained area. The hotel however was wonderful. once you are inside you feel just as you would in any good hotel. There is a warm and welcoming reception. A large well furnished dining area, which incidentally serves an amazing continental breakfast. Our room was HUGE, as was the bed. The view left a lot to be desired but for the price we could not fault it in the slightest.
There was a night porter but rather than need them to open the door for you in the middle of the night you can simply use your room key, which we thought was a lovely touch.
I know most will want the highly rated hotels and possibly overlook this one, but if you want you custom valued, to get what you pay for and not be left wondering where all your money went then this is the place to stay. It is also just 50 yards from a lovely park and around 200 yards from the main stretch in the city.

Room Tip: We had a room directly next to the lift and didn't hear a thing, I honestly can't imagine th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for this kind review. We are pleased to read that everything was to your liking and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way back to the UK from Germany. The hotel is fairly centrally located (around 20 minutes to the historic centre) next to the train station, and easy enough to find i you're on foot. The staff were very pleasant during check in, and were happy to advise on local transport and the like. The rooms are a little dated and soulless but perfectly adequate, with decent beds, a/c and tea/coffee facilities. We may have been lucky with our room but we experienced none of the noise from neighbours or rooms above/below as mentioned by other reviewers. There's free wi-fi, and also a (small - too small for a laptop/tablet) safe in the room.

We drove to the hotel, and struggled to get decent parking info beforehand, so some tips. Firstly, driving around the station/diamond district is a bit of a pain - no worse than most major cities, but with a number of one way streets it's easy to accidentally head past the hotel. Secondly, the car park on the hotel itself had the gate down when we arrived, and there's nowhere really to pull in at the side of the road, so be warned you may have stop to drop someone off to check in/get the gate up as you head round the block. Finally, to avoid causing havoc trying to pull in by the hotel, we'd advise heading left at the bottom of the street and parking in the big multi-storey called something along the lines of Diamant Parking. It's actually cheaper per day there (albeit still 17 euros), and only a couple of minutes walk back to the hotel.

As a final point - the so-so breakfast buffet gets bonus points for having individual pots of cookie butter/speculoos butter...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the time you spent for reviewing our hotel. I am very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will share these comments with my team and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here during Tomorrowland.
The hotel is located a short walk from the central station in the diamon district where the only things in walking distance are diamond shops or banks. No good restaurant or bar.
The receptionist couldn't find our reservation and her english was extremely poor and we seemed to know more about the city than her when we asked for some tips.
Tomorrowland organization informed us that there would be a complimentary shuttle to take us from the hotel to the festival site but nobody at the hotel seemed to be informed about this, so we had to spend €40 in taxi to get there.
The rooms are small, with poor lighting. The furniture is super old. The tv is outdated and the bathroom was dirty (they did not change the trash bag). The worse part was at night, where we were attacked by 10++ mosquitoes despite the window being closed, which left us sleepless.
Breakfast is also pretty poor, it's a buffet with cheap food. Nobody helps you and the bread is not fresh, nor the juices.
The city centre is also not walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cara_s322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are sorry to hear that some of your expectations were not being met during your stay. However, fact is, that Astoria Hotel*** is very centrally located, only 5 min. from the Meir (the main shopping street of Antwerp) and numerous curiosities. Also you’ll find ample choice regarding bars and restaurants around the Keyserlei (only 5 min. max on walking distance). I’m set aback from reading that we allegedly offered a ‘free shuttle service’ to Tomorrowland. This was definitely not the case. Like in any other hotel in Antwerp, transfer to Tomorrowland was done mainly by cab.

We are also really sorry to hear you didn’t have a good night’s sleep. That being said, mosquitos are a nuisance in summer time and we do offer our guests a free mosquito killer lamps when they notify us about it. Staff are not native English speakers but are expected to speak a good level of English. This comment will definitely be discussed during our weekly meeting along with all other points you made.

Perhaps you can contact us via this email address to specify what exactly was not to your liking as the complimentary Full English & Continental breakfast we offer to our esteemed guests is both fresh, healthy and of ample choice on a daily basis.

We hope to make every stay with us a memorable one, however, when expectations are based on alleged services like ‘a free shuttle service to Tomorrowland’, we are unfortunately unable to meet them.

We hope you had a brilliant time at the festival and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Astoria is a very nice hotel situated in the diamond district about 10 minute walkto the train station and about 15 minutes to the historical section. The hotel is modern the staffis very nice. and the breakfast is very good. It is a very safe area there cctv cameras everywhere to the diamond district .Good value.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 days last month and had a good time. centrally located so walking distance to the town centre. Friendly and professional front desk staff (Victoria), clean and tidy room, excellent breakfast. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are very proud of Astoria team and we are very happy to read that Victoria has contributed to your nice stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 73 in Antwerp
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#17 of 73 in Antwerp
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 73 in Antwerp
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 73 in Antwerp
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5-13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $86 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing