We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Launching point for Antwerp/Breakfast of Champions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Astoria Hotel. The outside is underwhelming but that is to be expected for the price you pay. The room was clean and had a decent work station area. It is close to the diamond district so I am not sure why others have felt it was dangerous. There is a police post about a block away. The breakfast was extensive and I wish every place I stayed had such a large eating area and menu selection. Walking distance from the train and in the middle of Antwerp. Will stay again when in Antwerp.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroGemHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding our rooms, location and breakfast options. Astoria Hotel team will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 535 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked at the Astoria after reading some of the reviews here on Tripadvisor, at the last minute. The hotel was good value, nice large room, Internet, clean, bathroom was nice- and I echo the reviewer below about Miriam, she was lovely and helpful.
However- we found the location to be very sketchy. At first I thought it was because we had arrived on a Sunday and things were closed, but come monday and Tuesday it still gave me an uncomfortable feeling. Sadly I wasn't alone- my travelling companion felt that way too, and he is a former policeman who is used to doubtful situations.
If I were to return to Antwerp, sadly I would not stay at this hotel, as the area just did not give me a good feeling. I say sadly because the hotel itself was nice, breakfast was delicious and ample, with lots of choices, and staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfrangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Antwerp and for your effort to write this review. We are happy to read that you were pleased with the services that Astoria Hotel offers. However, we feel sorry to read that you did not liked the area where the hotel is located.
We hope we will still be able to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Close to all the sites and transport links this hotel is set in a quiet (ish) street. The hotel serves excellent breakfast and offers evening meals at its affiliate three minutes walk away.

Good lift to all 4 floors and a/c with large rooms including tea/coffee tray. Staff very helpful and friendly will arrange taxi links. Free safe usage - hair dryers but soap in a bottle form only.

Gwesty o safon uchel efo brecwast da - agos ir Orsaf a Ddinas

Room Tip: Room at the top best - don't leave breakfast too late for a real choice and always ask at the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read you had an positive experience and that our team was helpful during your stay. We do hope your travels will bring you back to Antwerp and to Astoria Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Astoria Hotel in Antwerp. The room was nice and clean. It was located right on a elevator which I thought would be a problem but we never heard it at all! At check in and during my stay the staff were very nice. One stand out was Miriam! She really made us feel at home and that she wanted to help us... Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardmelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased to read that Miriam made you experience the ‘home away from home feeling’ in our hotel . We are looking forward to see you again because obviously we love happy returning guests.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Astoria. Short walk from main train station to the hotel. Front desk staff is incredibly nice and more than willing to give recommendations or directions. Modern, mid-rise hotel. Room was clean and quiet (had room in back that faced out over very large open area surrounded by apartment buildings. Room was large, bed comfortable, bathroom very good size with a full tub/shower, large wardrobe to store luggage and hang clothing, free WiFi worked consistently throughout stay. Grocery around the corner not open too late, but front desk sells drinks in lobby. The Astoria includes a very sizeable breakfast buffet each morning including fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, eggs, cheese & meat, juices, tea and coffee drinks - and the dining room staff was really on top of keeping the buffet stocked (even late in the morning) and quickly clearing tables after people finished their breakfast. Good hotel for business travelers, especially if you are doing business in the Diamond District. For tourists, it's still easily walkable in about 10 minutes to many sites and hotel very close to trams, buses, etc. to other parts of Antwerp. Only downside not fault of hotel at all, but the neighborhood at night feels a bit deserted once the shops and businesses close down for the day, and some of the local homeless population can be a bit aggressive. Hotel lobby is secure with key card access, but you may want to take a taxi in the late evening to/from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay. The whole Astoria team is delighted with you comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Antwerp. I hope whenever you decide to come to Belgium again you will consider our hotel for accommodations.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Astoria Hotel has a number of things going for it, but my experience and my parents' was not great.

The pros:

1. Excellent location if you want to be near Antwerp Central and there is a nice park across the street

2. A good breakfast buffet with lots of selection

3. Helpful staff

4. Reasonable price

The cons:

1. The rooms were rather shabby and not clean enough. My parents' carpet was stained and there was a broken, taped up light in my bathroom and a dirty smudge on the door.

2. My room did not have a working TV and the phone did not ring, so I missed a number of calls. I brought the TV issue up with reception and was told the technician had gone home, but to try reinserting the cord at the back of the TV. This did not work.

3. The view was not great - I had a view of an old fire escape and some depressing low rent apartments. On the second morning around 8 a.m., I could hear construction noise from this area.

Overall, this hotel will save you money and fulfill basic requirements, but keep your expectations to a minimum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We continously adapt and improve our services by listening and responding to the feedbacks we receive from our clients. Therefore, we thank you for your review and please accept all our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms are great, large and comfortable. We dislike separate beds as a double bed, but the rest was great. The location was perfect, a little walk away from the main squares, but close to the train station. The breakfast was vey good and complete, we devoured the hole thing, hope they will not find us to charge some more... Hehe
Parking is done next to the hotel, 19 euros per night, paid at checkout in the hotel.

Go here if the price suits you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime you decide to return to Antwerp.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 74 in Antwerp
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#11 of 74 in Antwerp
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#14 of 74 in Antwerp
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5-13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $83 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing