We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, but...”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location right in the city centre. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet.
Easy parking right below the hotel for a reasonable price. Friendly staff, good services.
But...
Paying for WiFi is very much something from yesterday!
Breakfast is very expensive when compared with what the environment offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear RobertD,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is true that we, as so many other hotel chains the world over, do charge for WiFi, but we do offer it complimentary to our guests in the public areas of the hotel, and in the guest rooms for our Gold and Diamond level Hilton Honors members.

Thank you very much again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    826
    282
    86
    43
See reviews for
339
807
101
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,095 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

For the final 2 nights of our September trip to Belgium, my wife, my mother-in-law and I visited Antwerp. Originally I had picked out an economical hotel near Antwerp's train station, but my wife decided to use her Diamond Member status and hotel points to put us at the Hilton Antwerp. She reasoned that to end our trip, we would want (a) to be nearer to all the great sights in Antwerp and (b) to be as comfortable as possible. Her ideas were absolutely spot on!

First of all, our room, down one of the labyrinthian halls of the hotel, was spectacular. The view wasn't great, but I didn't mind. Otherwise, it was just the best - large, comfortable, spotless, beautifully decorated.

Second, having use of the executive room added a little something extra to our afternoons and evenings. After sighseeing most of the day, we would come back and have a cocktail and a snack, lounging on the couches in the large and well-appointed room. In the evening after dinner, we would come back for a nice sherry on the balcony next to the exec room, listening to the music from the Greenmarkt wafting up to us and gazing at the lovely Cathedral all lit up.

Third, we regret that we only had one chance to have breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. It was a typically excellent Hilton breakfast offering. Nothing can be better for starting an ambitious day of sightseeing but to have a filling and varied breakfast. And Hilton does that better than anybody in my opinion - even here in Belgium I believe that was true, and that's really saying something since all our hotels in Belgium had excellent breakfasts!

A first-rate hotel. I may have to come up with a reason to visit Antwerp again just so we can spend another few days at this Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Charming_Karl,

Well, you certainly live up to your name, as your review is most charming and an absolute pleasure to read. I have immediately shared this with my entire team.

Thank you so much for sharing these comments with fellow travellers, and we all really do hope you come back and visit us again so we can have another opportunity to satisfy you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

been here loads of times, and had some great stys and great fun here, but a hotel with no bar on a sunday is criminal!!!! especially when its open its a really greta place for a drink and a relax, gets some characters in on a weekend so be prepared for a good laugh!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear AntwerpPaul,

Thank you for your review of our hotel posted here on Trip Advisor.

As you so rightly mention, our Bar is closed on Sunday. This was a business decision we took a few years ago as the Bar trade on Sunday's was extremely low to non-existent and it simply did not make economic sense to keep the Bar open. That said, we do offer a full bar beverage and snack menu in our Terrace Cafe Restaurant, and in the Lobby Lounge during the restaurants' opening hours 7 days a week to help ease any pain the bar being closed might cause.

Thanks again for your comments, and we do hope we can continue to count on your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hilton is right in the center of town. There's not a better location than this for exploring Antwerp. It's within easy walking distance of absolutely everything.

The lobby and common rooms have an old world, grand hotel kind of feel. While the decor in our room felt a little dated, the room was almost the size of our apartment at home (even had a sitting area). The bathroom was also huge, with both a stall shower and a tub.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, but they were a little strict about the time. If breakfast was set to end at 10:30am, they literally took away all of the food at 10:30 on the dot. I get that they need to turn the room over for lunch service, but it's a little rough to be taking away the food as people are just trying to finish up.

Overall, we had a lovely experience. We were there for New Year's Eve and attended the champagne lounge on the top floor, which was a lot of fun. Great staff, free-flowing champagne and a perfect view of the fireworks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear slsnyc,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay here at the Hilton Antwerp, and for sharing this review with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

I was very happy to read your positive comments, and glad you enjoyed our special New Year's Champagne Bar on our exclusive 5th floor terrace.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

On a recent visit to Antwerp my partner and i stayed in the Hilton. The staff on arrival were Superb, The hotel could not be better situated (center of the old town) close to everything -shopping, restaurants, museums friendly service, excellent breakfast the outside aspect of the hotel is classic. If you can afford the extra for the executive floor it is well worth it, beverage and snacks, free internet,Private breakfast and evening drinks,Top class Hotel with top class service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkW413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MarkW413,

Many thanks for your great review of our hotel, and for sharing these comments here on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, our great location, and our super team. I have indeed shared your kind words with the team.

Many thanks again, and safe travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

You can't beat the locaiton if you are planning to explore central Antwerp.
After flying into Brussels, its a 40 min train ride to Antwerp Central, and then 10 mins on the tram
to the GroenPlats stop. Call us stupid but we couldn't find the main entrance at first. the side of the hotel facing the plaza is all the restaurant. There were no signs directing us to the left side and up the street where the Lobby entry is.
The desk staff and bellman were helpful enough with check in and luggage storage. The room was good sized. nice bed and shower.

One item of note, the building was converted from an old department store and the upper levels form a ring around the central open area overlooking a roof. the elevators are on one side of the building, it can be quite a walk to the other side from the elevators depending on room location.

There is an Albert Hijn grocery store to the right of the hotel from the plaza. If you need supplies.
My main complaint about Hilton in general, not just this hotel, is the lack of free wi-fi. even the most basic hotels in the world are supplying it for free. It was 15 euros for one day Hilton needs to get on board with this service and supply system wide at no cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear atlbeme,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

While it seems you enjoyed our hotel and our unbeatable location, the cost of the WiFi dissappointed you. I do appreciate your comment in this regard, and have shared this with our corporate offices. Most major hotel brands do still charge for WiFi as we do, but we do offer complimentary WiFi in our public areas, and in guest rooms to those Hilton Honors members who are Gold or Diamond level.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope that if your travels bring you back to Antwerp, you will once again consider our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Despite being a Intercontinental hotel, platinum ambassador, decided to use Hiton membership, due to location in center of Antwerp. Location is indeed perfect, public underground garage with connection to lobby make for fast and efficient arrival. Hotel staff is, at all times, very polite and friendly. BUT reserved a special room for 2 and got...upgraded :-) to a room I did not reserve :-( . What we got was a huge, cold, inpersonal room with furniture stuck to the walls to fill it up. AND 2 single beds. Shower in the bathroom fits... a child, no more. As hotel was full, no chance to get the room I had reserved. Whilst staff remained very polite and helpfull, no attempt was made to offer any compensation. What was suppose to be a special weekend for us, started off poor. Executive lounge is well set up, nice atmosphere, VERY good staff (girl in training was perfect!). Quality of food for breakfast (bread not very fresh) and selection in the lounge is not great so suggest you use the restaurant, even if that means paying for it. Should not have gone away from the Intercontinental hotels. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Avoid Ambassador suite : cold and very inpersonal. Funiture stuck to the wall to fill it up but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Chris3436,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in our hotel.

I was of course surprised that you titled your review 'Disappointing' when you actually are extremely complimentary about our terrific team members, service, location, the only true Executive Lounge in town, etc. You were even upgraded to a suite on the Executive Floor during your stay. Of course, yes, the suite is large, but again, surprised you felt it was impersonal. None of our rooms have furniture 'stuck to the walls,' with the exception of the headboard of the bed, and the wardrobe/closet/minibar cabinet so I am confused by this comment. I am sorry not everything was to your satisfaction as of course our guest's satisfaction is our main priority, but I am pleased you did enjoy most of what our hotel has to offer.

We all do hope the next time you travel to Antwerp you will consider our hotel once again, and I would happily take personal care of your booking should you wish to contact me directly. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing