We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I liked that I could walk outside the hotel and there were dozens of places to choose from to eat. Also that it was attached to a shopping complex was handy.

The staff were helpful and professional, my room was nice.

The bar staff were friendly and helpful too.

There was a charge for the WIFI - but this is normal at the Hilton.

The hotel was in walking distance to many attractions and buses to show you around. Close to the post office too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmoTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear ElmoTJ,

Thank you very much for sharing these wonderful comments of your recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, in particular highlighting our unbeatable location. Very good to see, and we thank youagain for your very kind comments.

Wishing you very safe future travels, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Antwerp again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Antwerp Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

After the disappointing experience with the Radisson Blu in Hasselt, it was a relief to find a hotel and its personnel so outstanding.
The location: you cannot expect a better location for such a hotel. It is situated in the city centre, near the cathedral and connected to a shopping mall. It is in the vicinity of all the interesting places to be visited.
The room: perfect. Huge, with all the comfort and a perfect bathroom.
The breakfast: the buffet was outstanding: eggs, bacon, sausages, cheeses, cut meat, fish, vegetables, sweets,.... The only min point was (but that is in almost the hotels) the coffee was not warm.
The restaurant: the menu contained mostly items that you find on each Hilton hotel menu, added with the local specialities. I had bisque with calvados and a Hilton burger. Everything was perfect.
Staff: fantastic people at check in, restaurant, executive lounge and during breakfast.
I'm looking for "an excuse" to go back to Antwerp and stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Exectutive rooms and suites are on the 5th floor with a fantastic view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brussels-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Brussels-Chris,

What a great pleasure to read your recent review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for sharing this with fellow travellers.

I do not believe there is a kinder compliment than 'making one feel at home,' and I am so happy that this is how you felt about your stay with us. It is our wish to have every guest feel this way, and I am very happy we suceeded in making your feel at home.

Thank you again for sharing your very kind words, and we hope you do find the 'excuse' to return to Antwerp, so we might have the pleasure to welcome you 'home' here at the Hilton Antwerp once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on the executive floor. The hotel itself is a solid choice, nicely appointed rooms, ok service, just like you would expect from a good Hilton. The real asset of the place is the location, in downtown Antwerp, close to the major tourist sights and shopping area.

All in all a safe bet if you are looking for a good international chain hotel in Antwerp in a great location. However if you are looking for a place with historic character or local flavour, that's not the Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Michael-Traveller-JP,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience of our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate when our guests share their comments in this way.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course recognising our unbeatable location. I was surprised you didnt feel our hotel had historic character as part of our hotel is housed within a building dating back to 1864. As a matter of interest, our Facade is a protected monument in the city dating back to that year.

Once again, our sincere thanks for sharing your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our second time visiting this hotel in Antwerp. Along with the Shangri-La Edsa hotel in Manila this is our favorite hotel.
We had 1 standard room for our kids and a suite for us both on the executive floor (HH Diamond). The executive longe is very nice and the staff was wonderful.
The location on the plaza is the best. Metro stop, shopping, dining, historical sites, etc all within easy walking distance. There must have been 50 -75 restaurants within an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel covering every ethnic region of the world. We ate italian, greek and local.
The shopping areas around the hotel are incredible. Everything from high end modern stores to local boutiques and we even found a local swap meet / flea market.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the plaza have a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScenicWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear ScenicWanderer,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

Your review was a pleasure to read, and we are so proud to be considered one of your favorite hotels. It is great to know that our team has been so welcoming, and that our hotel and facilities have satisfied your needs to such an extent.

Thank you very much again for your kind words, and we all do hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You might be tired from your travels on arrival at Antwerp, wet and cold from the miserable damp weather, but fret not folks, you have landed feet first into a warm welcoming Hilton Hotel, where the service is superb, and facilities luxurious. The hotel has the added benefit of being no more than ten minutes walk from the main station, and three minutes to the old square, full of restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelinspecytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear hotelinspecytor,

Many thanks fro taking the time to share your comments about our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. It was a real pleasure to read.

While we can do little about the weather here in Northern Europe, we are very glad that you enjoyed the warmth and luxury of our hotel and our great team.

Many thanks again for your kind words, and we all hope to be able to welcome you again to the Hilton Antwerp on your future visit to our great city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Location is great. Close to metro. Short cab, or reasonable walk from the train station (not w/ luggage). Beautiful surrounding area.
I am a HH Diamond. Received a nice 'upgraded' room. The concierge lounge is sizeable and well managed. Weather permitting, there is a great outside deck off the concierge level.
The morning breakfast buffet is very good, but somewhat redundant. You are able to order eggs cooked to order, and it is a refreshing change from the standard fare. The view from the terrace restaurant is wonderful.
Front desk staff is informative and helpful.
If I remember, the fitness center is not hotel owned/operated and there is a fee.
All is all, typical Hilton quality. Nothing over the top, but dependable and commendable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poopdeckFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear poopdeckFL,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate when our guests are satisfied, and are very happy when our customers share their experiences with fellow travellers.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, our superb location, the wonderful exclusivity of our Executive Floor with it's private elegant lounge and sunny (weather permitting) terrace, and of course the most important factor of any stay, our great team members. I would just like to clarify that while we used to work with an out sourced Fitness Center, this was always complimentary to our guests. Further, I am very happy to advise that as of July this year we have had our own in house Fitness Center available only to hotel guests, and open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Upon your next visit, please do ask at reception for directions to this wonderful new facility.

Once again, many thanks for your kind words, and happy future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We started off well with a very pleasant lady at check-in, a free welcoming drinks voucher and and our room was great on the Eecutive Floor. The Executive Lounge was excellent and staff very welcoming! However, it all went down hill very quickly. We decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal mainly because of the poor weather. After ordering and sitting for a good 30 minutes the waiter came back to tell us he had forgotten to place our order! No such thing as offering a complimentary drink or a discount. The meal itself was not up to much when if did arrive! Breakfast the next morning was poor. I do not think I have ever seen scrambled eggs look less appealing. The staff were almost unwilling to serve and could not be bothered to help when we asked for tea and coffee. This is not what I expect from a Hilton stay. At check- out the gentleman was incredibly rude and when I asked to speak to the Manager he was strangely 'unavailable'. Yet again we were let down on accurate advice about the main shopping area and sites to see by the concierge. Would I return -NO! Would I recommend this hotel -No! What a shame when the hotel looks so good on the site but the reality is such a disappointment.

Room Tip: Executive Lounge is great and worth the extra!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyrella826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Tyrella,

Thank you for taking the time to share your ecent experience in our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

While you did enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us, such as location, the Executive Floor and Lounge, and some friendly staff, what really concerns me is the inexcusable behaviour and experience you had in our Terrace Cafe, be it at dinner or the next day at breakfast. I want to sincerely apologise to you for this and would like to assure you that your comments have been shared wioth the Team Leader of that department to ensure corrective action is taken. I have likewise shared your comment regarding your check out with the Front Desk Manager. We always have a 'Manager on Duty,' so there is no excuse to say he/she was not present.

I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for this bad experience you have had, and I invite you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further. Thank you again for sharing this feedback, as we will use this to improve, and ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $168 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing