We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Can't Be Beat, But Getting here.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a grand dame of a hotel, superb location, huge rooms, with all the facilities one would expect from a Hilton. Getting to the hotel was incredible. I arrived by train, and took a taxi to the hotel. When I saw the number of roads being dug up, I had to almost applaud my driver for his avoidance skills. Once here, I cant think of a better located hotel. Walking distance to everything, including the station as I found out on my way back to the beautiful train station, a wonderful short walk. Staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. It seemed the hotel was very busy on the weekend I was there but they did give me a great room (perhaps because it was so busy, I got lucky). The bed is amazing, and I loved the bar. All in all, a super hotel in a very privileged location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Timothy J,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

It certainly was a pleasure to read your comments, and I am glad to see that our hotel met and exceeded your expectations. I fully understand your comment regarding the road works in our city at this moment, and have shared your comments with some City Officials as it is important that they understand visitor's experiences so they can hopefully better plan the works that need to be taken.

Once again, many thanks for your very positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

In principal this hotel has everything going for it - large, comfy rooms and an excellent location close to the nicer, 'old end' of town. Exec rooms aren’t much better than standard rooms but access to the lounge will mean that you get free breakfast/lunch/drinks and the most excellent 5th floor balcony which overlooks the cathedral.

However, buyers beware! During our visit they had let a function room to a party and the (loud) music went on until midnight despite dozens of complaints. This radiated through one half of the hotel. We shifted rooms but were then unable to have our choice of king size bed - which was a bit of a let down on our anniversary! We were told the hotel was full but it was clear that some of the better rooms were still available ;). We also encountered large groups of smokers blocking the entrance at the weekend, again from another function.

At the weekend the breakfast service is poor. They take away the good stuff like pancakes/sprinkles and when we arrived half an hour before service close there wasn’t a free table available because nobody had bothered to clear tables away. It’s not very nice having breakfast while being sat around rotting food.

Don’t try and complain either. There is no formal procedure other than the room surveys which probably get thrown in the bin. Overall disappointed and bitter – make sure you ask if they have any functions during your stay and then think twice.

Room Tip: They are mostly all the same, just smaller or larger. Exec rooms get free in-room water. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear uk_hotel_expert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you did notice the uniqueness of our location, as well as the superb Executive Floor terrace that is exclusive to those staying on the Executive Floor. We are the only hotel in Antwerp to have a true Executive Floor product, and the rooms actually are quite different, with added features, comforts in the room, amenities in the room, along with the exclusive access to the Executive Lounge and Terrace. It is not as you say simply free water.

While I would like to apologize for any negative experience you may have had, I do feel it is only fair to correct some of the comments you have made. As with numerous hotels the world over with banqueting facilities, we of course sell such space to functions on a regular basis. Our banqueting rooms are located in a separate part of the hotel, and while we do our utmost to reduce any noise inconvenience, if this is not possible, as you mentioned, we did immediately change your room due to your being disturbed. To say, therefore, complaining had no effect is simply untrue. We reacted immediately to your complaint and offered a solution. How you can state there were dozens of complaints is simply not true, there were not. As the event's noise stopped at midnight, I can confirm yours was the only such complaint, which again we reacted to immediately.

Our hotel follows the Belgian Legislation that requires the hotel to be completely non-smoking in all public areas. As such, smokers do tend to go outside the hotel and smoke. This is not something the hotel can be held responsible for.

To state you were sitting at breakfast next to 'rotting' food is undoubtedly an exaggeration to say the least. Breakfast on the weekend tends to be very busy at the later part of the morning. hence the reason we actually extended our breakfast serving hours until 11h00 on weekends to allow our leisure guests more time for breakfast. Of course our team was clearing tables, as they always do, and my apologies if you were seated next to a table that was not yet cleared. Our offering at breakfast changes daily, so if on the day your were there there were no pancakes, then for sure there was another warm sweet option be it waffels or the like. Likewise, if you did want pancakes, you could have asked this of your server at any time during breakfast. Further, we always have sprinkles and chocolate flakes available so I am surprised by this comment as well.

Once again, we appreciate your sharing your comments, and likewise the opportunity for us to respond to these comments. We do take guest feedback very seriously, and no, the in room questionnaires are not 'thrown in the bin' as you state, but actually read on a daily basis by me with my operational team, and action taken where and when needed to ensure each and every one of our guests has an enjoyable stay. As it seems we have failed to do so in your case, once again, my sincere apologies. You may always contact me directly should you wish to discuss this situation further.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I agree with previous comments, that location of Hilton is fantastic. It's just in the heart of Antwerp. I liked a lot this hotel, because it has an aura of romantism and you can feel that it is so old and warm!

Breakfast was served in the conservatory on the ground floor. That was perfect start of the day watching people passing by and having great coffee. By the way, the locals say, that there is the best coffee in the city.

There is the Leonidas chocolate shop In front of the entrance, don't forget to visit it and get some fresh belgian prolines.

Room Tip: 437 has no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gattusak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Gattusak,

What a great pleasure it was to read your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you have found our hotel to have met and exceed your expectations, and that you felt it to be the perfect romantic retreat in our beautiful city.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your kind words, and we all hope that upon a future visit to Antwerp, you will once again stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't think you can beat the location of the Hilton in Antwerp. Having stayed here 3 times over the last 6 years, I can say, the decor is looking a little dated, but the rooms offer lots of space, with big windows.

Parking is right under the hotel. Breakfast is 25 euros, and although I am sure it's great, but there are nice options right outside the hotel, which are more cheaper like Mockamore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear 2travelingbugs,

I wanted to thank you very much for taking the time to share your past experiences of our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel over the years, and thank you once again for sharing your comments.

Thanks and happy travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed there for one night.

Although it is a very big hotel the service was excellent. The location of the hotel is in the city center of Antwerp which is very nice. The parking underground is just below the hotel with direct access.

The rooms were quite big as also the bathrooms. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear huguesheylen,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel, the Hilton Antwerp, here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate when our guests share their travel tips and comments with fellow travellers.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our hotel, the size of the rooms and our absolutely unbeatable location. It was really nice also that you highlighted the service from our freindly team members.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hilton Antwerp is usually the most expensive lodging option in Antwerp, but it's only because it's also the best option – especially if you're visiting for holidays. Located in the best location on the Grote Markt – the main plaza in the old city of Antwerp. Antwerp has always been one of our most favored destinations for an indulging urban time out – great food, shopping etc. Since the Hilton is located in the heart of attraction, it makes your stay in Antwerp perfect. It's really nice that you can easily drop your shopping bags every few hours in your nearby hotel room.
Besides for its location, the hotel is a very good hotel. The rooms are specious enough. The hotel was opened around 20 years ago, but is very well maintained. We stayed in a room viewing a side street, and although it's quite a busy street – the room was quiet.
If you come only for business you should consider also the Radisson Blu Park Lane Hotel – which is also a very good lodging alternative in Antwerp, but not as good as the Hilton.

Room Tip: Besides for its location, the hotel is a very good hotel. The rooms are specious enough. The hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriNothingButTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear OriNothingButTheBest ,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel, the Hilton Antwerp, here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate when our guests share their travel tips and comments with fellow travellers.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our hotel, the size of the rooms (largest in the city of course) and our absolutely unbeatable location. It is a testament that we are trying to do things right by the fact that you return to us whenever your travel to Antwerp.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night on points. Since we are Gold members we were upgraded to the Executive Floor which gave us access to the Executive Lounge and free Internet. A pleasant surprise was the room service delivery of strawberries, cookies and chocolates to our room after we checked in. Our room was ready when we arrived at noon. The staff who checked us in was very informative and recommended a restaurant for lunch that put us on a walk through the fashion district to a lovely meal. The Executive Lounge is spacious and comfortable and offered enough food at night that we didn't bother going out for dinner. Breakfast in the Lounge was equally as good. The hotel is quite large and built on in a square formation so ask for a room near the one set of elevators unless you want a long walk to your room. The only things we had problems with had nothing to do with the hotel. The street that the hotel site and our GPS wanted us to take to the parking lot was under repair and we were required to make a detour. It was a major effort to find the parking lot then and I don't know how we would have if I hadn't already had a decent street map. Secondly, the parking lot was being renovated too and so a number of parking spots were not available. Consequently the lot was full and the entrance gates would not open. Along with several other cars we just sat on the ramp until enough cars left that we could get in. We were lucky to find a spot near the hotel entrance. Similarly, on our way out our GPS still wanted us to leave via the road that was closed and it was almost as stressfull getting out of town as coming in. Downtown Antwerp is not an easy city to drive in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear 142,

I just wanted to say a big thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have so rightly stated, the parking garage located under the hotel is being renovated which has caused some spaces to be unavailable. We are sorry for this, but the parking is not managed nor owned by the hotel, but it is very convenient for our guests as there is direct lift access from the garage to our lobby. We have been in discussions with Antwerp City Officials on numerous occassions to update the coordinates for GPS users as many streets have been changed and are being worked on. Once you do arrive at our hotel, however, there is simply no better locationin town!

We greatly appreciate when our satisfied guests share their experiences here with fellow travellers and we do hope you will have a longer time to explore our city upon your next visit.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 73 in Antwerp
155 reviews
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $168 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing