We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with nice fitness centre and adjacent parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hilton in Antwerp is very central, and has a great parking access compared to other hotels I have stayed at in central Antwerp. Although I had never thought a parking access important, in fact it can make or break your initial hotel experience. The public parking adjacent to the Hilton is clean, well-lit and there is a clearly demarcated pedestrian entrance to the hotel via a ramp (for roll-on luggage), and a lift. The parking is not free (close to EUR20, a normal rate for Antwerp). But for the same price, i had a much worse parking experience at the RADISSON BLU and at the Hylitt.

A second positive point is the recently renovated (small) fitness centre with new machines and a great view of the GroenPlaats. (However, to get to the fitness centre from the room one has to take the lift down to the lobby and make one's way to the section of the hotel devoted to conferences).

The breakfast is very good, in the cafe with natural light giving onto the GroenPlaats.

Staff were helpful on my visit.

I got a good rate (no conferences on and mid-summer!)

The room was quiet.

Not many negatives. I had a Belgian 3G card so did not need Wii-FI but that would be a gripe if I had had to pay for Internet access. Hence only 4*.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendeMalamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear KendeMalamu,

Many thanks for your very gracious and kind review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and our newly opened Fitness Center giving our guests 24 hour a day, 7 day a week access to a modern fitness space. You also highlighted the Parking below our hotel. While we do not manage the Parking, we do view this as an excellent facility and feature for our guests with direct lift access to our hotel lobby.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel is in the best location in Antwerpm - less than 1 minute to the lovely cobbled streets & squares of the old town of Antwerp - restaurants, cafes etc The hotel is right beside a tram stop & only 1 minute from the main shopping area which had a huge range of shops!

The hotel itself was great, staff in all areas were wonderfull - check in was efficient & the lady on check in was v friendly & welcoming & gave us a complimentary upgrade for our party of 5 to the executive floor:) The executive floor was a gread addition as the use of the lounge was great for a catch up after a day sight seeing..complimentry drinks & food throughout the day - we thoroughly enjoyed it! we have since booked another trip with executive lounge as felt it was well worth having...The hotel itself was of the expected Hilton standard, spotless with very very comfortable beds & large airy rooms..

Would highly reccomend this hotel & will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcDonnellDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear AMcDonnellDublin ,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and its unrivalled location in the historic heart of the city.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very friendly receptionist had us booked into our room quickly and efficiently. Free internet was offered before we could ask.Even though we were early our room was ready and we had already been upgraded to a spacious room on the executive floor. Soon afterwards a member of housekeeping came to check that our room was in order - it was. Two bathrobes were in the clean bathroom (sometimes we only get one for some reason). The executive lounge is nicely furnished and there is an outdoor terrace with a view over the rooftops of Antwerp. The staff in the lounge were efficient and friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was what you expect from the executive lounge so nothing to complain about there. Oh and it’s in a lovely location too! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Travel_Duck_UK ,

Thank you so much for your very positive and factual review. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and that you would happily return.

We all look forward to being at your service once again on a future visit to Antwerp.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 2 separate stays over a 9 day time period at the Hilton in Antwerp. Front desk satff were nice and very helpful, Spent 2 weeks touring, using Hilton Honors points/combined with $. Initial stay was as a Hilton Silver member so had to pay for WIFI which was, in my opinion..expensive (25 Euro for 24 hrs-if my memory is correct). Which I wouldn't do, I actually just called home from the hotel. For people traveling, whose phones don't work in Europe, the only way to communicate is via phone or computer. Calling home was cheaper than the '24 hrs of WIFI'. I don't need 24 hrs, at the most 1 hour on a computer to send an email home (I had a notebook with me), to let family know we were safe. I also stayed at Hiltons in Edinburgh and Paris while vacationing, the Edinburgh Hilton had 1 hr free wifi in the lobby while Paris had an 1 hour wifi rate. The Best WEstern in Scotland had not only free WIFI throughout (and breakfast included) but also a computer in the lobby if you didn't have one with you. The Hilton Hotel and rooms were nice, typical Hilton, nothing special. Clean, safe, the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Central Station, so if you have a lot of luggage, take a cab. The Breakfast, which I didn't op to pay for, at 24 or 25 euros each-- but if you 'sign up for it at checkin was only 18 Euros' each was not worth the cost. On my second half of my stay my Honors program status had changed to gold so I the WIFI and Breakfast included. My dtr could not get the WIFI to work and I was glad I hadn't paid for the breakfast - there is a grocery store in the mall attached to the hotel, get supplies there, much cheaper than the hotel. Also, if flying in to Brussels, take the airport bus to Antwerp, only 10 Euros drops you off in front of central station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mominCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear mominCNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you find our hotel to be nice, but was concerned about your remarks regarding Internet and Breakfast.

We offer three different packages for internet, and as is the norm in hotels of our standing throughout europe, internet is a charged for facility. That said, as you are now Hilton Honors Gold, internet access is free of charge for you at the highest speed. Finally, we are currently upgrading our Internet throughout the hotel to address the speed/connectivity issues.

I was surprised by your comment regarding our breakfast. As so many posters here have indicated, we have an outstanding variety and choice on our breakfast buffet, and have often been told to have the best breakfast in the city. I am sorry you did not find enough items to fit your taste, but in future, if you do not see something you like, please ask the team in the restaurant for what you would specifically like, and I am sure they will do their utmost to fulfill your request if possible.

Many Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

All the classical ingredients of a better chain hotel are present.
Professional staff, good organisation, ...

Perfect location for visiting the city, or business in the city center.
(driving in and out the city for meetings is not a good idea)

Breakfast buffet has all you could expect. Same for the gym.

My room (445), "business" was large with a (very) partial view of the Groenplaats

Parking next door underground, save and easy.

Prices for minibar, internet, ... are as standard as the hotel in its category.

So perfect, perfect?
Well, it is a Hilton. So if you now what to expect you will find it, but nothing more.
"international design" but no let's say a cosy library. Professional staff, but no extra smile...

But don't worry, Antwerp has plenty of amazing extra's to make you smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear artica,

I Just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. I am happy we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, and to indeed, put a smile on your face!

We all hope that when you travel back to Antwerp, you will once again stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Superb Hotel could not be better situated close to everything -shopping, restaurants, museums friendly service, excellent breakfast the outside aspect of the hotel is classic. There is even a tram stop outside and a tram tour for 6 euros around the inner city. If you can afford the extra for the executive floor the all days beverage and snacks, free internet, breafast and evening drinks make the difference well worth while.

Room Tip: Try taking the Hilton upgrade offer and you may get lucky with a magnificent suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batista012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Batista012,

It was wonderful to read your very kind review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our superb location, the services provided by my team, and of course the hotel's facilities. As you mentioned, you also enjoyed the Executive Floor, Lounge, and Terrace. It is a unique feature in Antwerp as we are the only hotel in the city with a true Executive Floor experience.

Many thanks again, and we all hope that when you return to Antwerp, you will likewise return to the Hilton Antwerp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Antwerp Hilton is in the heart of it all, and so easy to get to many great restaurants, shopping and sights. The bed we had was VERY firm, but the room overall was very spacious, as was the bathroom. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Amelia H,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our unrivalled location.

We do hope that when you visit Antwerp again, that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Antwerp as well.

Many Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 73 in Antwerp
155 reviews
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $168 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing