We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price for renovated room with firm bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good price for renovated room with firm bed”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Leopold hotel is a renovated hotel with well decorated rooms, excellent bed, breakfast was ok, welcome drinks. The only negative point was our room was not ready in time when we arrived and the room temperature was very high (we're very warm).

Room Tip: good value for the room/bed, the only negative: room temperature is too warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloenJen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our hotel. We are really sorry for the high temperature in your room and for the inconvenience this caused. We had some problems with the old heating system.The system has been repaired in the meantime and i hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    412
    129
    19
    13
See reviews for
90
347
52
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A good clean room and helpful front-desk staff.

However the wifi, even the paid "upgrade", was so slow as to be unusable. This is just not acceptable in 2013 in Northern Europe.

The room was not serviced at all on Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park opposite. Bring a wifi dongle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you took the time to evaluate your recent stay with us. We are aware that there are some issues regarding the internet connection. We are now working at a new system and we really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight to visit friends in Antwerp. This hotel is very reasonably priced, fun and funky. The decor is a lot of fun! The rooms are average sized, the beds were comfortable and the location is about three blocks from the train station. Would definetely stay here again in Antwerp!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your your valuable feedback. We were very happy to have you as guest in our hotel and we look forward for your next stay!

Best regards,

France De Zutter,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond surrey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the station and a short walk to Rubenhuis and thence on to the old centre. The rooms were a reasonable size and the bed was classed as very comfotable by my very fussy mother with whom I was travelling! The staff were charming and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. The compliments have been passed to our team and they are very happy. We hope that one day you will return in Antwerp and that Leopold Hotel will be your first choice!

Best regard to you and your mother,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was in Antwerp for business in January. i know it's not the best time of the year but still if outside it is -17 degrees then you expect that inside would be a little better. Instead it was really cold in my room and even if I pointed it out at the concierge they still did nothing.
The room is big and nicely furnished . There are also two choices of pillows on the bed (hard and soft). The bathroom is ok. Could be better.
The location is very good because it is very close to the Railways Station (from which I took the train to Ghent and Brussels) and it is within walking distance from the Meir, which is the main shopping street and the old center of Antwerp. In the vicinities there is also a big movie theatre.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MonicaM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused. We had some problems with the old heating system. We are happy to let you know that now the system has been repaired and i hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

France De Zutter,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel provides a very good base for business and pleasure when visiting Antwerp. It does not have great character but nonetheless it is comfortable, the breakfast selection is very good, the rooms are decorated nicely, the beds are very good and the staff were particularly friendly. The hotel manager even came round to each of the guests at breakfast and asked them personally about the service and the quality and what they could do even better. The location is ideal for business and for pleasure - with just a short walk away to the main shopping and museum centres. There is also parking available a block away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Depends if you want quiet - we asked for a room facing the park - it was a little noisy with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We continously adapt and improve our services by listening and responding to the feedbacks we receive from our clients. Therefore, we thank you and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Leopold is situated just a short walk away from the heart of the town centre. The building is old but the reception, restaurant, bar are nicely renovated. The rooms are good size and the bed is decent.
Would I recommend the hotel? Yes.
Is anything outstanding or special? No.
Did it exceed my expectations as a frequent visitor of Antwerp! No.

So there you go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtenbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking you time to review you stay in Leopold Hotel. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Property: Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing