We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Location great for easy walking to both new and old areas of Antwerp. A few streets and you're at the main railway station, a pleasant walk through the park and you're approaching the old town area. Good sized clean bedroom equipped with just about all you'd require. Excellent buffet breakfast on each morning of our stay, along with very friendly staff make this a 'stay again' hotel.
Only gripes were that on each night of our stay there were no towels left in the downstairs toilets to dry hands, only a bin of used towels also our bedroom (704) bathroom door had a very loud squeak from the hinges - only reasons I didn't give this an excellent rating, management please note!

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, for a good view of the park choose floors 6 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words,

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and more specific the combination of our location, our staff and the general comfort of the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Like you mention, the position opposite the park is a big plus. We now even have a running track in the park for the sportive ones.

Your remarks about the door and the towels have been taken care of, thank you very much for bringing this matter under our attention.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Antwerp.

Kind regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 826 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Antwerp for business and the Leopold Hotel was arranged for me. To be honest Antwerp has never been on my list of places to go, but I was really pleasantly surprised both by the charm of the city and the hotel itself.
I arrived earlier than check-in but the staff arranged a wifi password for me so I could sit and work in the very comfortable lobby for a few hours, and once my room was ready I found it to be stylish, spacious, and very comfortable.
I didn't spend much time in the hotel but the location was very convenient, within walking distance of the Old City (if you like a brisk walk), and right next to the Diamond Bourse which is where I needed to be for work.
The room had everything I needed for work, plenty of desk space, enough ports to plug in all my devices, and a decent table and chair to sit at.
Staff was lovely and friendly, very accomodating, and I had a very pleasant stay.
My husband travels to Antwerp regularly for business and he almost always stays at the Leopold... no surprise why.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayesdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm happy you took your husband’s advice and paid Antwerp and the Leopold Hotel a visit.
I'm delighted you enjoyed our staff's friendliness and the hotel's comfort.
As you mention, our location suits many occasions. Whether for business (Diamond district) or pleasure (City Centre, Zoo, MAS, ...), the Leopold is the place to be!
We are hoping to be welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located near stadspark, just a walk away from Centraal station and Roosevelplaats (Bus terminus). Ambience & breakfast is good. The Television + Internet facility is also very good. Opp the hotel there is a City Park, where you can have walk in the sunlight. Also there is a Hindu temple (BAPS) 5 min walk away (across the park).

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

We are happy to see that you appreciated both the hotel and its location.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon in Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Hotel Leopold is well situated to Central Station and across the street from a lovely park. It is a bit far, although walking distance to the Grote Markt, Cathedral, Rubenshuis and other points of interest.
We were put in a smoking room, although the door said no smoking and reception did not tell us. or give us a choice. While the reception staff was pleasant, they were clueless about directions, restaurants, and other matters. We paid upfront, which I've never done before, and they started to charge us for breakfast, too, until we explicitly stopped them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed you stay in Antwerp as well as the friendliness of the staff.

We took good note of your remarks and will keep on working to improve our service where possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are hoping to be welcoming you back soon at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took the rooms-only (ie no breakfast) option via expedia.com for 3 nights. This hotel is a little gem in Antwerp. The rooms are cheerfully decorated and well-equipped (iPod docks etc). It's about 10 minutes' walk from the main train station (where the action and noise are) -so a little farther to walk to the city centre - but it's next to a lovely park which has a large pond and cherry trees. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm words.

I love your description of our hotel as a Gem...
Couldn't be more perfect looking at our location next to the Diamond Disctrict!

We hope to be welcoming you back soon at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Kind regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had our in-laws over for Christmas and this hotel in the center of Antwerp was the perfect lodging spot. The room was very nicely decorated, neat and clean and the staff was kind and helpful. The bed and mattress were very comfortable.

Although it is not in the historic center of town, this hotel is very close to it (10 minutes walk) and nearby major tram lines. The central train station is also just 10 minutes away on foot. Be sure to pay that little extra (10€) to have a view on the city park but ask for a room that's higher up (above 3rd floor).

Room Tip: Take the room with park view, above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about the Leopold Hotel Antwerp with other travelers.

I'm happy to read that your relatives enjoyed their stay in Antwerp and we are already looking forward to their next visit. We will keep a room on a high floor available in order to fully enjoy the view over the City Park.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I overnighted in this hotel in the diamond district of Antwerp recently. Reception warm and welcoming. We arrived quite late but they were still serving very nice food in the bar/lounge. Bar open to at least 11.30. Bedrooms spotless and matress and pillows wonderfully comfortable. Hence a great sleep with no noise. Breakfast starts early and is perfect. Overall a very nice place to stay in Antwerp whether as a tourist or on business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm words.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are all looking forward to your next visit to the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 73 in Antwerp
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 73 in Antwerp
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing