We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel, for a nice weekend out in Antwerp. The hotel is within walking distance from the shoppingarea and nice restaurants. However the direct surroundings of the hotel are not very special. Nothing happens there during the evening (during daytime it's not very exciting either).
The room was clean and up-to-date. At first wifi was not working properly, with some help from the reception we managed. Friendly and helpful staff.
The breakfast was crowded and there was lack of available seats, during our visit on sunday morning. When we came to the reception for check-out, there was a que of at least 8 other people in front of us for check-out.
After all, not very special but will do for a weekend Antwerp.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New-Flying-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Mister,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp. We aknowledge that we have not enough seats during the peaks in the weekend, and to resolve that problem we open the Sheffield room, to create more space.
The surroundings of the hotel are very quite thanks to the great park. This can be a pro if you want to have a good night rest after a day in the city center.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 856 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Very comfortable and clean rooms. :)
Helpful and welcoming staff. :)

One of the key things about this hotel is they have ample ammenties available - if you have left anything behind, (eg. plug adaptors, irons, etc...) just ask at the desk and they will be too happy to help you.

The 10 euro breakfasts are quite expensive but the choice and ammount on offer is excellent. They have cereals, crepes, breads and spreads, pastries, fruit juices, teas and coffees a wide selection of fruit, cooked breakfast and a selection of hams and cheeses. :)

The bar has a wide range of drinks which is great, however the hotels food in the evening is overpriced and bad quality - HOWEVER, the staff are extremely helpful in terms of suggesting other locations and helping us book tables, which more than makes up for this.

Room Tip: Make sure you state, smoking or non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CriticalMe284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to report your findings of your last stay in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp. It gives me great pleasure that you had a pleasant stay and you find our staff extremely helpful. We take your remark concerning the price of the breakfast and bar items in considiration.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Kindest regards
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed with my mother for six nights over the New Year. The room was a nice size and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel overlooks the park so you have a nice view and at night you can see bunny rabbits jumping about. Apparently they were domestic pets once, released by their owners. We didn't find it noisy except for on the last day when a delivery truck awoke us quite early. The staff were very polite and helpful. I didn't have breakfast there but I had dinner on our first evening. It was ok, but not briliant. For dinner I would recommend The Bistro near to the Rubens house for great Flemish food. For breakfast head up to the Jewish bakery on the Langekievetstraat and get yourself some custard and chocolate cakes - delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedicatedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear,

Thank you very much for the time you took to fill out this review. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed you stay in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp. Our bar serves some Lounge Food, and you have to compare this with Snacks. We woun't pretend that we are having a restaurant. I hope to welcome you again in the near future. And off course, ENJOY 2012. With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Leopold Hotel in their deluxe room for a week in December 2011. The location is really great - about a 5-7 minute walk to the Central Station ad the Diamond Centre.

PROS:

1. The location is great and there's a pretty park in front of the hotel.
2. The bed is very comfortable and their pillow service is fantastic.
3. Large closet space makes it great to put away all of your belongings & keep them out of site.
4. The staff were friendly.

CONS:

1. The room was full of dust upon arrival. We couldn't stop sneezing in the room and were surprised to know the cleaner never dusted the bed's headboard.

2. Food is SUPREMELY expensive and is SO AVERAGE. The small portions don't make it even better. You can tell most of the food is prepackaged and microwaved too. We saw one of their employees with microwaveable panini proscuittos (7 euros) coming up the stairs. To charge 4.50 euros for a tiny cappuccino is ludicrous - to charge 12.50 euros for a small bowl of 5 shrimps is even worse! They delivered our food cold and that is unacceptable when you have to pay 6 euros for room service!

They didn't have steak for days and didn't even have apple pie either. Sadly, if you're looking for Belgian chips with your meals - look elsewhere. They only have cheap wedges on hand.

Stay away from their restaurant and eat elsewhere!

3. The room cleaner didn't bother cleaning the toilet daily. Bathrooms should have at least one shelf or something to put toiletries. Not a lot of room in there.

4. Bring your laptop or iPhone because you'll have to pay to use their lobby Internet.

5. The baby cot was extremely uncomfortable for our baby. Our baby slept with us in the bed during our whole stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journalist89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Dear Miss,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. About the minor points, we have taken actions. After talking with our Executive Housekeepster, we obliged her to be more attentive with the dust in the rooms. This is unacceptable & not up to our standard. After a follow up of a month, I can guarantee you that at this moment our rooms are dust free. The same action has been done with the toilets. We bought 4 new baby cots, to give also our little guests the comfort of our standard. In the room we have free internet, and in the public areas also. For our guests who don't have their laptop, we give the opportunity to check their mails at a low tarif. In the Loungebar, we provide Loungefood of an average weight of 500 gram, what is a normal portion for a snack.

With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed at the Leopold for a couple of nights in December 2011. Rooms were modern and clean. Staff were helpful and hotel well situated in terms of the town centre, train station etc. Would highly recommend the Leopold for all of the above but even more so on account of it's value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Mister,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp. We are very please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I would stay here any time. Lovely spacious rooms, amazing comfortable beds and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwise_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear,
Thank you for taking the time for filling out our review. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. This gives us the extra motivation to keep on going like now. We hope to welcome you again in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp really soon.

With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Located in the heart of the city everything is within walking distance. Nice hotel very nice staff. Rooms are good size and well equipped with TV, fridge, ipod docking station, hairdryer etc.
There is a very good bar (although it doesn't stay open late even for residents but you can take drinks to your room). The food is very good and plenty of options. Breakfast is good quality and very good coffee.
You have the city centre shopping within 5 mins walking, the main station even less than 5mins and the diamond centre is right next to the hotel. There is a lovely park across the road where you can go for a run or walk.
I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room at the back as it is so close to city centre some rooms face out to main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula_Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipCaluwaert, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Miss,
Thank you to share you experience in the Leopold Hotel Antwerp with the Tripadvisor Travellers. The hotel is very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & that you recommend our rooms to other guests. The bar is open till midnight, but if you want to have a drink, you can always contact our night receptionist, who will be glad to serve you. I hope to welcome you again very soon in our hotel. With kind regards, Filip Caluwaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $107 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing