We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic and expensive”
Review of Hotel Hyllit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hyllit
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“basic and expensive”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

wanted to stay close tot he diamond market and found this hotel. well rather desappointed. the location is OK with a car park. welcome is acceptable but no more than that. you don't feel in a clean place. the bathroom is old and not confortable even for a suite. to charm whatsoever. I won't come back

Room Tip: good location if you want to be in the heart of the diamond world of Anvers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    206
    69
    32
    13
See reviews for
38
141
17
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was so near to the Antwerp train station but because we drove, we followed the car GPS and we could not find the hotel for almost 2 hours until we decide to park somewhere near and walked there. The road works closure on the main road was a real pain. We have made a few calls to the hotel for directions but it didn't help at all. They could have asked us to park at other carparks nearby instead of suggesting that we go around and find another route. Even with handphone naviagtor (GPS) help, we just could not find the right road. My phone bill will be in hundreds or more. No one would believe that we took 4+ hours to reach an Antwerp hotel from Den Haag. We felt so stupid and stressed out. Our holiday was totally ruined. I should have booked another hotel perhaps at the old town. Decent room and breakfast did not made up the chaotic situation we have faced looking for the right direction. SAD.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meisiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

clean, spacious room for european hotel, service could have been better, some tried to be more helpful than others,( took 30 min + when we called for extra to get towels) keys almost always had a problem and on wifi we also kept getting kicked off .

Room Tip: ask to see rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertrip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent a great night at this hotel, being four adults in total, for a weekend with the guys. We made a last minute reservation and got a famliy room with four single beds and ample room and all facilities that can be expected. Hyllit was one of the few hotels that offered such a large room for an acceptable price, with four star quality.

Staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. We requested a late check-out (which can be very nice if you get back at 05:00) and got one till 16:00, which was excellent. The curtains made it possible to fully darken the room, which allowed us to rest well, before checking out. The beds were all very nice and the room was impeccably clean. The only (minimal) negative things I can think of are: the bottle of water on the desk was not complimentary and the water cooker had no electrical outlet nearby to be used. Besides these minimal things, a great place for a short stay.

We will definitely try to keep Hyllit as our main hotel whenever we visit Antwerp for fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights here at the end of July 2012 and loved the hotel and its amenities. The pool and sauna were very much welcomed and the hotel breakfast was quite delicious with lots of variety. We had one of the senior suites and the layout was kind of inefficient to me. I would have thought that the bedroom component of the suite would have been larger (a lot of wasted space it seemed to me). The staff that I dealt with were very pleasant and I had no troubles with anyone there. The way that they handled the password for the internet was annoying. Very good (from a security perspective) password but it was annoying having to re-enter all the login credentials every time my iPhone would go back to the lock screen.Also another small thing was that it seemed to me that the rooms never really cooled down even with the Air Conditioning turned all the way down. All in all a good hotel and I'll come back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent one night in Hyllit in August. It was offseason, so not many people. Room, breakfast, service was very good. Room and bathroom seem to be fairly new and bed was great too. They let me keep the room for few hours extra with no charge. (maybe because off-season)

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelR_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have stayed there for well over 30 nights over the course of the last year. The hotel is clean and adequate. It is located in the Diamond District next to Central Station and the Meir so it is very convenient. If you have a high floor chances are you will have a nice view. The internet is a pain though. It doesn't always run well and you have to get a new code every 24 hours which is annoying if you are staying there for business purposes and you need to work. The pool is nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hyllit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hyllit

Property: Hotel Hyllit
Address: De Keyserlei 28-30, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly TOP Hotel Hyllit)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#11 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hyllit 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hyllit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing