We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute night @ the Crowne Plaza after a weddingparty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We made a ast minute reservation the evening of a weddingparty. We arrived that same night at 3 am in the hotel.

There is a 24h receptiondesk. The receptionists are super-friendly.

Large and secured private parking.

The superior room (2 persons) was good, the bed super, the bathroom a little dated, but everything was clean.

Crowne Plaza is just off the ring road, and we could hear that in our room. The sound didn't disturb too much, but a better isolation is certainly possible...

We had a very good breakfast (was possible until 11.30 am)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Theo R

Thank you very much for your very positive review of our hotel. It is greatly appreciated, and I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities and the service you received from our team
Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen on your next visit to Antwerp.

Kind regards,
Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My main grievance with this hotel is with the rooms. They are like stepping into a late 80's time warp... When I complained at reception about the room, I was told that I was already in a deluxe room on account of my Priority Plus status. That shocked me, dreading to think what a regular room looks like. The kind receptionist did proceed to upgrade me to the next level...but truth be told, it was still not what I would expect from a Crowne Plaza. I have seen Holiday Inns that were much better.

It's a real shame because the rest of the hotel is great. Restaurant and bar are really good. The gym is very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms need a refurb desparately. ..and once that's done it will be a true Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DouweMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Douwemik,

Thank you very much for your honest review.

I am glad to read that you found our staff service commendable and that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar.

However, I would like to apologize for the fact you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations you received. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this is our best way of improving guest satisfaction.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Kind regards,


Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was there during last 4 nights, nice hotel with clean rooms. Recently renovated. The lobby is well designed, the only demerit is furniture in rooms which seems a little bit old!
nice and friendly staff but seems there is no bell man!!!
The breakfast and the bar "ANNA" are well managed with nice selection of beverages and foods.
The price is reasonable and worth the quality. The most advantage is easy access to Brussels airport by a routine bus passes the hotel to and from Antwerpen. Also access to the city is easy by walking or using public transport service.
To sum up, I suggest it to all travelers to Antwerp.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rezagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Rezagh

Thank you for your valuable review about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the quality of service and facilities met your expectations during your recent stay in Antwerp.
It is especially great to hear that you recommend us to fellow travellers.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Antwerp.

Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel and the rooms are very elegant, clean and high level standard.
Very good value for money (85 eur/night, breakfast included).
Nevertheless, our room was a bit small, with the extra child bed we could not move around, we were quite stuffed.
We could hear quite some noise coming from the highway, even if we were at the 7th floor..
We could not quite regulate the airco, it was a bit too warm, but ok overall.
The breakfast is excellent, there is everything for continental breakfast.
There is no luggage service to the room, but they gave us a trolley to bring all the bags in the room.
There is a private parking, not clear if it's included in the room (15 eur/day), we did not pay at the end of some discussions.
The restaurant is excellent, also the service, but a bit pricey.
The reception staff was not impressive, actually a bit useless, with the exception of an extremely helpful and kind Italian lady.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the road side, it might be more quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Michi2011,

Thank you taking the time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciated the feedback you gave us, as it helps us to improve our service.

We look forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Antwerp.

Thank you once again.

Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel hasn't yet made a successful transition from being a former Holiday Inn. Although pleasantly refurbished, we had a poor night's sleep in a small and uncomfortable bed that the front desk claimed was "queen" size, and the largest that they had. This isn't acceptable for the Crowne Plaza brand - I expect a top quality king size bed and a good night's sleep.

Helpful front desk staff, but slow and indifferent service in the bar. Good pool / steam room and sauna. Rip off parking charge when you can park for free opposite the hotel!

An unappetizing breakfast with rather awful scrambled egg finished off a disappointing stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the motorway side of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank craigvassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear craigvassie

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor.
I am glad that you found our property nicely refurbished and that you were able to enjoy the pool, steam room and sauna!

However I would like to apologize for falling short in your expectations with the accommodation as well as the service in the bar and during breakfast.

We will take all comments into consideration and will discuss them with the department heads concerned.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Hans Wils,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A good quality/price hotel, well orientated. Recently renovated in an Antwerp accent. A very good business hotel.
Hop on hop off.
Nice lobby, good meeting rooms.
No romance, just passing through for business ...

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room ...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review of our hotel with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate when our guests share their comments.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Antwerp, even though it was only passing through for business.
Once again, our sincere thanks for sharing your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Hans Wils,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My first and probably last visit to this hotel. The hotel is quite a way from Antwerp centre. My room was on the 4th floor and when I first entered I heard traffic noise and thought the window had been left open, but the noise was from the busy main road which runs past the hotel. My first night I went to ANNA. This is the foyer bar which is the only place to eat in the hotel. For a large hotel the bar was relatively small, so there were problems finding a table. Quite a long wait for food which was average to say the least. Second night my colleague and I waited 20 minutes to be served after being directed to a table by a waitress and being acknowledged several times by other staff. The bar manager's comment when we remarked about size of bar and lack of staff was "Tell the management about it". There was also a problem throughout the two night stay that nothing could be charged to the rooms because the "system was down". Not very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Colin S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience at the hotel's bar. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#13 of 72 in Antwerp
693 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
2.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $95 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing