We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, comfortable apartment in perfect...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antwerp, Antwerp Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GeoffC46
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in the apartment for four nights at the start of the New Year, and couldn't fault it. There is a very fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living room space with good lighting for reading by (something often a problem with holiday flats), a big bathroom and large bedroom with a very comfortable bed. It was too cold to use the outside sitting space but it looked attractive. What is impressive is that Catherine and Dieter seem to have thought of everything when equipping the flat - right down to a pot of muesli, a coffee machine and beer in the fridge. Having met Catherine on the day we arrived I can understand why - she was welcoming, thoughtful, full of good advice.

The apartment is exceptionally well located. Just across the small, quiet square is the wonderful, engrossing Plantin-Moretus Museum, absolutely not to be missed. At the end of the street on Kammenstraat is Billie's Bier Kafetaria, a small, extremely friendly place with very good beer (about a dozen on draft and with the often very high alcohol content helpfully marked on the board!) and excellent Flemish food. It is within a few minutes walk of Grote Markt in one direction, Rubens' House in the other (a disappointment, I must say, because most of the art there was unimpressive and most of the house was the result of building after his death). Apart from Plantin-Moretus we were most impressed by MAS and the FOMU photography museum, in opposite directions but no more than 20-minutes walk each. But in general you can't fail with the location - Antwerp is a lovely city and it is a huge pleasure just to wander.

This is definitely where we'll stay on future visits to Antwerp - this was our first but there will be more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thank you so much for staying at our place! It was lovely meeting you both. Always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CynSpecht
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Apartment was perfect for our needs, but just a couple things that would have made it 5 stars.

First the pros: The apartment was nicely sized and the space very well utilized.
Absolutely loved the location, very close to the Christmas market and many restaurants, bakeries and establishment to choose from. Our favorite breakfast restaurant wss literally right outside the door, Goodie Foodie, really great place for coffee and brekky!

The apartment heated up nicely, we were very comfortable temperature wise during our stay.

Now the cons: there was no toilet tissue in the bathroom when we arrived. The owner was to greet us, and because of our uncertainty at what time we would arrive, we were not able to do meet up , upon our arrival. No fault of theirs, they were helpful and kind, but i guess during the "greet " they hand over the supplies? Not sure why toilet paper isn't already in the apartment just as a standard rule, and if it isn't it absolutely should be. Also a towel in the bathroom wss dirty, already used. "Stiff dried", think it should had been removed prior to our arrival. Not a big deal, but first impressions....

Although we loved the location, on Saturday evening there were allot of revelers on the street. People partying outside, very noisy till very late. This is not something that the owners can control but it's something we would consider when booking in Antwerp again.

Overall, a nice apartment, nice owner, just a few small "fixes" that could have made it perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
Hello Cynthia,

thank you again for staying at our apartment and for the nice review! We are always very involved and check our apartments after cleaning so that they are absolutely perfect before our guests arrive. I am so sorry but the day you arrived was a very hectic day on which everything that could go wrong went wrong: a sick cleaning lady that called off very late, a sick daughter so we couldn't check the apartment before you arrived. We got called and heard too late that the toilet tissue was finished. It is absolutely standard and there is always plenty. I do apologies for the inconvenience! I hope you had a smooth trip back home. Thank you again for staying at Slapen in Apen! Best wishes, Catherine & Dieter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeuwenka...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place, in a quit street right in the city center!”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolute gem if you want the best of Antwerpen, closeby to the busy center. Located in a quit road next to fabulous small squares with brilliant typical cafes and restaurants. For breakfast or dinner you could easily do it yourself as the kitchen has all the necessary equipment. The appartment is on the first floor and is decorated with style and good taste. The furniture is also high quality and the bed as well. There is also a terrace with ample of place to relax. So defo worth a booking if you want to visit Antwerpen and not stay in a dull hotelroom :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Thank you for being such perfect guests! Always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we will stay again”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

central to old town, clean and comfortable, walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go, excellent and lovely owners

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Thank you for your review! Always welcome!

Catherine & Dieter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment, great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Antwerp. The apartment was really comfortable and in a really good location.
Some of the museums are free on the last Wednesday of each month, so we made the most of the museums on that day.

Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport6...
1 review
“Amazing apartment in the city center”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was the CUTEST apartment I could've stayed in during my time in Antwerp. The owners were so kind, very accommodating, and were very easy to communicate with. I would certainly recommend this over a hotel any time. Adorable location, walking distance to so many historical things and great shopping!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne D
Leland, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious apartment in the heart of Antwerp!”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this Antwerp apartment. The owner, Catherine, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating! The steep spiral staircase to our 3rd floor apartment (2nd for Belgians) was challenging with our luggage, but once we reached the summit the apartment was beautiful! It had a nice view of the cathedral from the bedroom terrace. There was a parking garage very nearby for 16.50 euros a day and a laundromat down the street if needed. Other than the stairs, this place was perfect!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing