We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after 17 years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised on my second visit to this hotel - the first was in 1997. It still benefits from a central, but quiet, location, within about 15 minutes walk of the main station. Its ghastly brutal architecture has blended in with its surroundings a little more now. It has been well looked after, and was probably cleaner and more shiny now than on my last visit. The welcome was fine.

I do like the new Ibis beds; my room had one and the difference was noticeable.

The bathrooms are still appallingly cramped. People with long legs (like me) have to sit on the loo carefully to avoid banging your knees on the wall in front of you. It's difficult to open the shower door without opening the main bathroom door (there's nowhere to stand). There was a certain amount of plumbing noise, coming either from the bathroom or the aircon unit, which could become annoying.

For the price I paid, this was good value. I would happily put up with its minor drawbacks for another visit. Antwerp grows on you as a city, especially if you have time to walk around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Great to read about your Ibis experience 17 years after your first stay in our hotel ! The hotel had indeed been fully renovated, and also the facade has been cleaned.
All our rooms have new Ibis beds, and are equipped with airco & flatscreen TV, Free Wi-Fi..

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank weltenbummler983
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo D, General Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Based on the knowledge that this is a budget hotel, I considered this an excellent stay. The location is phenomenal - close to shopping and the historic centre and across the street from the theatre (which is the reason we were there). The check-in and service throughout our stay was friendly. The rooms were modern and clean. They're a bit small, but as long as you're there to see the city and not stay in your hotel room, it's perfectly fine. Since it's a no-frills hotel, there's no breakfast or parking included, but if you walk down the street to Bakkerij van Helmont, you'll have a much better breakfast than you could hope for at any hotel. There's a market in the square across from the hotel on Sundays as well, which is fun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsera713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We very much enjoyed your positive experience of our hotel and Antwerp, thanks for sharing!
As an alternative for the buffetbreakfast we also serve excellent coffee & croissants at our bar for only €6 !
See you next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is excellent, we were within walking distance of all of the central attractions and shopping. On Saturday and Sunday there is a large market on the square in front of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent that the hotel is actively busy with sustainability (a bit annoying that they kept replacing the towels even though the old ones were hung up instead of on the ground). Parking is underground in front of the door. Convenient, but quite expensive at €18/day.

The rooms are clean and basic. There is very little storage space. The bathroom was tiny, even for Ibis standards. Some parts of the hotel are outdated (e.g. the hall and the stucco walls), but everything is okay.

We decided to skip the breakfast buffet and found more affordable and delicious options nearby.

We found it a bit ridiculous that you had to pay (€5) to have your baggage stored in lockers during the last day (have never experienced that in a hotel before).

Good for a weekend option, a bit too cramped for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review, we try to improve our services by listening to our guests !
The lockers in the luggage room have been installed to ensure everyone's property. We have different sizes of lockers, even for €2 bags can be left safely with us.

we hope to welcome you again in our hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Norbel00
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LaurentHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Check in was fine really friendly staff who spoke good English. Rooms are really small but quirky and clean. Have genius space saving ideas and everything you need. Two full length mirrors and a hairdryer so panic not ladies!!! Corridors are a little dated but who cares! Ask at reception for a Mao add location is good but you can easily get lost. If you are into theatre the ibis is perfect as the huge theatre is right outside. Book it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyliverpool85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback about the stay at our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit yo Antwerp, best wishes for 2014 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 73 in Antwerp
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#53 of 73 in Antwerp
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Antwerpen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Antwerpen Centrum

Address: Meistraat 39, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Antwerpen Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum is in the heart of the historic town centre of Antwerp, near the famous Vogelenmarkt marketplace, Rubens House, the main shopping street (known as Le Meir) and just 700 m from the railway station as well as close to theatres. Book one of our 150 rooms and make the most of our facilities, a restaurant, bar with terrace area open 24 hours and 2 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access, public parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Antwerpen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum Hotel Antwerp
Ibis Hotel Antwerpen Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing