We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rabbits have bigger hutches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Bognor Regis
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Rabbits have bigger hutches”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is ideally located and an easy walk into the centre of town 5-10 mins..
The hotel is clean and the staff extremely helpful.
The rooms are very small and the toilets even smaller but they do have a decent shower..hardly room for you to turn around...the beds are extremely comfortable

The bar area is nice and comfortable and stocks a few beers.

The breakfast which I believe costs around 14 euros is worth every penny..good choice and plenty of it..no complaints.

Overall its an Ibis hotel but the staff and the quality of the breakfast made my stay very pleasurable.

Downside...having a room at the front of the hotel means you could be disturbed from around 4am on a saturday morning as they throw the scaffolding around for the market directly across the road..it didnt seem so bad on the sunday..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an odd number that way you will not be facing the square where they put up the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_scotatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    505
    315
    58
    23
See reviews for
99
449
108
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for three nights with a coach party. Checking in was quick, room was compact and clean and bed very comfortable. The bathroom was minute, but shower worked well and the window opened. Towels could do with replacing as they were very thin. Our room faced onto the square, third floor, but with windows closed we were not troubled with excess noise. There was a lack of space for hanging clothes, but plenty of sheves. Breakfast was included in our trip and there was a good choice, self service, with delicious scrambled egg, bacon, sausages, eggs to boil, yoghurts, fruit, breads etc. This was excellent on the first two mornings but the last morning was chaotic - too many people, too few staff so trays and machines were not being restocked. However, I would visit again as maybe only an occasional problem, and the hotel's price and position I doubt could be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hey Jane

thx for your honest and positive feedback on ibis hotel antwerpen.
for sure, I will share this info with our teams and work on the breakfastins issue to prevent future occurence.
With kind regards
Jurgen
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very close to central station so very good location. Hotel is clean, room was comfortable but small and bathroom exceptionally tiny. Didn't have breakfast as too expensive. There's parking opposite the hotel. All in all a good hotel but a couple of the staff were less than helpful. Upon checking in it was not made clear why they wanted to put my debit card in a chip and pin for €150, some €60 more than the room cost. When I pointed out most hotels take just an imprint they said that was all they were doing yet when I went to the room and checked my bank the money had gone. We went down to query and what I found out was the financial manager was very unhelpful. Never apologised for the misunderstanding just said repeatedly, its policy. However not a policy they have advised booking.com as they also had not heard of it.
The male receptionist on check out was extremely helpful and accommodating. I feel such an international chain should me a lot more customer focused but sadly due to one man and "policy" I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hey Dollyloulondon

I read and understood clearly your comments with regards to your stay in Ibis Antwerpen.
I understand financial policies can seem sometimes harsh and yes, I'm with you that staff could be more efficient and "commercial" when it comes to explaining to guests these procedures.

I'll take it on with our next staff meeting to make this procedure go more smoothly in the future

Thx and kind regards
Jurgen
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent a very pleasant few days at the IBIS CENTRUM in Antwerp.
Very clean hotel,but the rooms were a bit small and the bathrooms were
minute to say the least.There were no teasmade,but the continental
breakfast also included scrambled eggs,bacon,sausage beans etc,but
the self service was a fiasco with people coming at you from all directions
and some items of breakfast were running out,and having to wait for refills.
Dave Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daishop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessel-Lo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location - it's a 5 minute walk from the Meir and Groenplaats, very central.
The rooms are tidy and the bathrooms are small but clean. Staff is friendly and the prices are simply unbeatable for a central hotel in Antwerp.
A top tip: If you're staying for the weekend, you might want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as the square houses a market on Saturday and Sunday mornings, which makes the square noisy as early as 6:30 am (building up the market, lorries, etc).
Oh, and skip the breakfast here... Go to Horta Grand Café (located across the square) and have an excellent breakfast for 9,5 euro!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK_120784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Just an Ibis like all the other ones: rooms and bathrooms so tiny you can only just turn around and good luck if you have big suitcases. Conveniently located at walking distance from Meir and the old centre, only parking is expensive. Reception service is correct, however as usual the weakest link service-wise is the 14 Euro/person breakfast. Things went fine a few mornings in a row, anyway you can't expect much at breakfast in an Ibis, only the last morning hell broke out. When we arrived, no more forks, plates, trays, no more bread and not much of anything else except dirty dishes on almost every table and an apparent stagiaire walking around with no clue or interest as to what was going on. Worse, the kitchen staff who finally showed up, saidshe only had two hands, which was clear enough for anyone to see, but the result of what her two hands accomplished (not accomplished, rather) clearly did not matter. I thought I had paid for breakfast, not just to see someone being moderately busy. Something fundamentally wrong with the perception of customer service. Someone got the manager to take care of the situation and luckily she had the intelligence to not invoice the last breakfast as I was not going to pay for it whatever the case. A correct place to sleep, but no more than 3 points after this incident.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank livarot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good afternoon livarot

the irony in your feedback is very much to the point ;-) and indeed, it does point out a couple of things to do better for the future when it comes to breakfasting in ibis antwerpen.
I'd like to thank you for comments and we will have soon a staff meeting, considering your feedback, and with the aim to prevent future occurance.

with kind regards
Jurgen
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is standard Ibis - good price, value for money, not more not less. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Location is a fine, near station and 10 min. from the old town centre. Nice bars just arround the corner. - Oude Arsenaal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank janjun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.5 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Antwerpen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Antwerpen Centrum

Property: Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Address: Meistraat 39, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Antwerpen Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum is in the heart of the historic town centre of Antwerp, near the famous Vogelenmarkt marketplace, Rubens House, the main shopping street (known as Le Meir) and just 700 m from the railway station as well as close to theatres. Book one of our 150 rooms and make the most of our facilities, a restaurant, bar with terrace area open 24 hours and 2 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access, public parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Antwerpen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum Hotel Antwerp
Ibis Hotel Antwerpen Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing