We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartamentos Ambassador, Belgielei, Antwerp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Suites Antwerp
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Apartamentos Ambassador, Belgielei, Antwerp”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good place for students who do not want to spend too much money in an apartment.
In the first nights I stayed in a room with two beds, and the next nights in a room with four beds, which can get a little crowded, but not in this case, because the suites are spacious with a kitchen with almost everything, and a small lounge with sofa and tv. The bathrooms are also big.
A really nice jewish neighborhood with a 10 min walk to the Antwerp Central Station or you can also take the tram.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaM_Freitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    86
    45
    23
    39
See reviews for
44
55
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is quite literally the pits. Nobody to check us in on arrival. Reception closes at 6pm and had to wait almost an hour for the caretaker to check us in, who was very grumpy that we had disturbed him outside office hours. Even during the day it was hard to speak with him as he always had someone in his office chatting to him.
There was live plugs hanging off the wall in the living room. The window could be opened wide which is very unsafe for children.
The apartment had not been cleaned properly. Infact there was a load of hair to the side of the shower cubicle when we checked in.
There were no English tv stations not that you would really want to watch tv on a tiny TV set from the 90's, but even if you did you sure wouldn't want to sit on the uncomfortable couch they have in the living room.
I paid 4 euros to wash my clothes. For some reason the washing machine stopped half cycle meaning I had warm soapy clothes. I dried the, for another 4 hours but the dryer didn't last long enough. So after spending 8 euros (oh and another 2 euros for soap tablets from the vending machine) I decided to cut my loses and using the laundrette down the road. I don't mind paying extra to do my washing in a hotel, but if you are going to charge me 10 euros for the privilege then make sure it actually works. I mentioned this to manager on charge. He shrugged his shoulders and said that I shoud not have used it in the first place as it was a rip off!!

The most annoying part was we only issued with 1 room key between 4 people as we had a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment. The least I expect is either 2 keys, or a 24 hour reception where we can access our room if the main key holder is not back. Instead, most nights someone was woken up each night as some of the group were returning to the hotel at different times than others.

Another major problem was the heat. It was not even peak summer yet the heat in the apartment was unbearable. We had visions of cooking meals and using the living space, but given the heat we choose to spend most of our time outside of the apartment. Oh and they cleaned the apartment once in the whole week. And when I mean clean, they emptied the bin, have us some new towels and left. They didn't even clean the toilet or shower!

This place really has been left to fall apart. I'm surprised nobody from the 'ambassador suites' hasn't visited because based on this place I would give any ambassador suites property a very wide berth!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the penthouse. Not worth the money. Infact don't bother with this place fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfer_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
be_housing1, Manager at Ambassador Suites Antwerp, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear,
We are disappointed to hear that your stay in our residence wasn't what you've expected. We daily try to give our guests a nice stay and give the comfort they need for a good price.
As I can read in your review you arrived on a Saturday or Sunday after 18hours while our offices are closed. We are not a regular hotel and our reception isn't open 24h/24h.
In case of late arrival we have a special check inn procedure using a safe in the lobby and a code that is send to you by mail. Maybe something went wrong in this communication with the result that you had to use the emergency number and had to wait for our complexmanager to come down to the reception.
Before each arrival our complexmanager controls the room on cleanliness to make sure that everything is all right for the guest. We are sorry to hear that this wasn't done correctly and we'll do the necessary to avoid this in the future.
We take notice of the remarks you gave about the room and use them to change and improve our services. However, we have some English channels on our television and all movies and series in Belgium who are in English are subtitled in Dutch...
I can tell you already that we are installing Satellite television in all our buildings at this moment and this to increase the number of channels in different languages. Also our washing machine is checked but no technical problems are found,
The remark you give concerning the key of the room is correct. We use a special (technical) key card in this building and don't have an extra key for the room. This may be uncomfortable in case you are with 4 guests.
The meaning and experiences of our guests are very important. It's thanks to this critic that we can improve ourselves every day. Even when this stay wasn't what you expected, we still hope to see you back soon, so we have the chance to prove you that a stay in 'Ambassador Suites' is pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Cadiz, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We liked very much the area; although it´s not in the center the neightbohourd was really unusual and the walking tryp to the center agreable; that gave extra value to the stay. The apartment was really big and no noisy at all. Tha kitchen facilities are really useful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pawelek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The studio flat was better than the photos on www.booking.co.uk so we were pleasantly surprised. Had everything we needed, eg fridge, kettle, microwave etc plus washing up liquid, cloth, tea towel.
Room was clean and beds were firm but comfortable.
Car park reasonable price.
Only negative was having to ring manager in arrival to be able to check in.

Room Tip: Rear of building, we had room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrspmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in May 2013 for 2 weeks. It was a temporary accomodation till I found an apartment in Antwerp. The location of the hotel is very convinient with a Tram and Bus stop at less than 200 Meters. Tram/bus connect to Central Station and the Shopping District (Meir). Checkin was smooth, staff was really friendly and offered good advice. Room was clean and had all the besic necessities (I anyways didn't need a swimming pool or a gym). kitchenette was well equipped for cooking. Only annoying thing was - there was a meat leftover of the visitor before me in the fridge. Cleaning staff needs to check all these things before making it ready for the next customer I guess. They also have a Washer and Dryer but its way too costly. Later I found out a cheaper Coin-Laundry just around the corner. Wi-fi (200 MB per day) worked perfect. There are few bars and grocery shops nearby and lot of eating places near Central Station which is 10 mins walk from the hotel.

Overall it was value for money for travellers on budget and needing basic comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patil_Manish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked a large studio for two persons for 6 nights via Booking.com. We promptly received 4 emails from Ambassador Suites to welcome us and they added some useful information.
Check in went smoothly and friendly. Unfortunately there was only one room key available for the two of us and this required some serious schedule juggling on our part to make sure nobody landed in front of a closed door. The studio and bathroom were spacious but looked sad and tired with 2 crooked lamps and sagging curtains. The bathroom wasn't clean and had mold traces around the shower. For the totality of our 6 nights we each got one small towel and one big one and one set of sheets for the twin beds, everything looked grubby. The pillows on the bed were downright dirty.
Basic internet is free however it won’t get you any far. We purchased a 5GB upgrade for 15 euros. Far too expensive but we had no choice.
The first morning housekeeping entered our room without knocking, alas not to clean the room. She apologised but when I asked her to knock the next time she just replied that our room number was (abusively) on her to do list. This happened again the following morning. Mind you, the room is only cleaned once a week unless you pay an extra 20 euros per time.
Do we recommend this place: no. Shall we return: no.
The price quality ratio is very poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TweeOpReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went here with a group of friends.

What is different from normal hotels is that you can get decent four person appartments with your own kitchenette, shower and toilet. Or actually: a four person studio, given that teh kitchenette and the beds are in one and the same room. Given that we were with a group of five, we decided to go here in two four person appartments, rather than to a normal hotel with an added bed to a two person hotel room.

Do not expect anything fancy; all furniture has clearly been used more than once before, the shower looked fairly seventies and the (two person) coach is made from plastic . However, at EUR 124 per four persons, the hotel room rates are difficult to beat. Maybe in a youth hostel, but than you would have to share most facilities.

Also, be prepared that the hotel is a bit offsite if you orientated on the center of Antwerp. Though it is only a ten minute walk from the station, for example the Groenplaats, or the Marnixplaats are each a fifteen minute walk. Or you just take a cab from teh money you saved on teh hotel room.

All-in-all: very decent value for money for groups of more than two persons, but nothing fancy.

Room Tip: If you have to choose a four person room: ask for 508 rather than 608; 608 smells a bit like ashtrey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.7 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Apartments Antwerpen
City Apartments Antwerpen
#34 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Suites Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Suites Antwerp

Property: Ambassador Suites Antwerp
Address: Belgielei 6 - 10, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Suites Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the diamond area in Antwerp, you will find our residence Ambassador Suites Antwerp.Within walking distance of the Central Station and the town center, this beautifully renovated four-star hotel, is the perfect base for you to visit the city.The studio-apartments are comfortably equipped with separate bathroom with bath/shower and toilet, kitchenette, living area and tv.The fully furnished kitchenette with spacious fridge and microwave, will give you the possibility to prepare your own meal or the reheat small dishes.A washing machine and dryer can be found in the residence.In the entire building, you can make use of the free wireless internet.The residence offers an underground parking – which can be used by our guests for a small fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Suites Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Suites Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Ambassador Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing