We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antwerp City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antwerp City Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Handen, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked a cheap deal through an external bookingsite, and expected an average room, but we were greeted by a big, spacious room. Very central and easy to find.
It was very fresh and clean and we heard many hotels having problem with the airconditioning at the rooms because that it was +33 outside, but we didn't notice it at all at this hotel.
The breakfast was basic, but since it was included we didn't mind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you again at the Antwerp City Center Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    162
    67
    19
    7
See reviews for
59
143
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is very close to central train station and generally it's very centrally located. I love that the room was big and it has coffee facilities. The stuff was polite. Free wifi and modern decoration.
All in all it was a very good experience and I definitiley suggest this hotel. The only negative was that the room was too hot, but there is an A/C!.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do have airconditioning in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Everything was good!
The room for 3-4 people was super comfortable, bed linen clean, pillows, blankets - everything!
The location was the best - near the train station and closer to the historical center.
It was very good hotel!)

Room Tip: Room fo 3-4 people!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena220488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggius, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel is well-situated only five minutes from the central station and to approximately 20 minutes by foot from the cathedral/groenplaats.
the rooms is big and have all the necessary, big television, phone, sicurity box
I suggest this hotel for the trips in city for a weekend to Antwerp.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dario0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you

Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The free parking cuts expenses way down! The parking lot has 3 accesses. The front desk staff is very helpful with directions and suggestions. I usually don't use the electric kettles in hotel rooms, but I needed tea on this trip. I slept very well on their comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in the future in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel with my wife and 14yo daughter. Found it difficult to find the place with satellite navigation as some of the street around the hotel turned out to be closed. Gave a call to reception. They were very nice to help to navigate me to the parking ( Dimond ) next to the hotel. Arrived around 13:30. We were asked to wait till 15:00. The hotel seamed a bit tired and worn out. I came to the breakfast room and did not find it very fresh, but smelly. That is why decided not to take breakfast. Cafes around are available. The room was quite spacious, but facing the street. Sound isolation was not very good. We were woken up by early cars. wifi was working well. I would say that the main advantage of the hotel is central location, not far from the railway station and ZOO, in the middle of the diamond area. Overall impression - average, nothing special.

Room Tip: 313 is facing the street. otherwise is good for 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to see you again in Antwerp!

The Antwerp City Center Hotel - team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location can't be beat. The breakfast is very basic and budget; I would just give this a miss and get your own elswhere. The rooms and large and the beds are quite comfortable but admittedly not necessarily four start cleanliness. Antwerp at times can be a bit smelly as well so I can imagine in warmer weather that the areas outside may not be that pleasant. It wasn't that cheap either but I don't think Antwerp is a cheap city.

Our room was near the lifts so could be a bit noisy depending on people traffic outside of our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We hope to see you again in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 73 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#10 of 73 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antwerp City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Property: Antwerp City Hotel
Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. Sleep: All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast & dinner: The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. To have lunch or dinner you can visit one of the many restaurants in the city. Meetings: Antwerp City Center Hotel has two boardrooms for 10-15 persons. Both meeting rooms are equipped with direct day light, air conditioning and free wireless Internet. Antwerp: The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". For more information about the surroundings of Antwerp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing