We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, great location, clean & comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antwerp City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antwerp City Hotel
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Affordable, great location, clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nicely situated only 5 mins from the central station and about 20 mins walk from the cathedral/groenplaats area. Booked a comfort family room to spend one night in Antwerp. We were pleasantly surprised to be given a large room with 2 double beds and a decent sized bathroom. More than enough space for four people. Room is clean and has a large tv. Corridor smelt like cigarette smoke as some of the rooms have balconies which guests can smoke on- would suggest they have air freshners in the corridors. We were on the 3rd floor and the room was not noisy as I have read in some reviews. Did not have breakfast at the hotel as it did not look very appetizing and there are better restaurant options nearby. There is a parking garage right next door which is very convenient and you get a discount through the hotel, we paid €12 for a 24 hour stay. Would recommend this hotel for weekend city trips to Antwerp.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaffaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Rahul

Thank you very much for your review!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    169
    68
    22
    8
See reviews for
60
148
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I would say that this hotel is an amazing place because it has the best beds, rooms, food and service. there is no swimming pool but its in the center of the best place( Antwerp ).this hotel is quiet an silent place and also a good place to stay, in a cheap price.

Room Tip: the last room of each floor are bigger and has more connection to WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! Love to see you again in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very nice location - close to the central station, the shopping street and the historical centre. The room was surprisingly big, clean, with tea/coffee making facilities, the breakfast was ok too.
The only negative side is the littered street - not the best view...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank extemporizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Natallie

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

There are times when you walk into a Hotel room and you actually get surprised at the size and value of the Hotel, this was one of them in a positive way. Great location with 2min walk to the Central Station and 5min to the main shopping strip. Rooms were large for Europe, well serviced and “very nice” overall.

Okay some of the negatives but nothing that would suggest to go elsewhere, just brought it down from 5 stars to 4, which is still an awesome rating. We stayed in two rooms 403 and 406 and both were on the street side, which was very very noisy at night. They were doing construction across the road and it started at 6:45am and the noise form the taxi’s and cars, never seemed to get quiet until 11pm. Unfortunately they had a banner right near my window, the fluttering was rather annoying at night when it was windy, but I got used to it. The air con and room seemed very cold no matter what the setting 25C or 26+ but it’s easy to an extra wear a top or duck under the blankets whilst in the room. I mentioned this to the staff, but they just said change the settings.

I felt the two staff members at reception I dealt with could have been more friendly and didn’t seem knowledgeable in English or even in Dutch which I can speak. Whether it was the air con, or knowledge of the local area on both occasions, I would classify their responses as disappointing.

Last negatives is City Tax, though I know Hotels have to charge this, it did come as a surprise at checkout. Many hotels have a sign on the front desk so it’s clear to the customer on check in and you can be prepared for it.

But overall this is a great Hotel with good in room facilities, spacious, clean and a great location. External noise was really the only drawback.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the road side (rooms 403 and 406) noisy due to construction and cars across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Tripadvisor.

I'ts good to know that some hotels place a sign on the front desk, we will thake this into consideration.

Hope to see you again in one of our Different Hotels!

The Antwerp City Center Hotel - team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have now stayed in every hotel within the diamond district & this is best value / price ratio. Breakfas is same as the other hotels nearby, nothing amazing but good enough. Room was suprisngly big, little bit modern feel, clean bathroom & good shower. Nice big window which you can open slightly to let a bit of fresh air in is also a plus for me (I get tired of air con on business trips) I got the City Hotel for $100 p/night on Expedia, it was more expensive to book on the hotel site suprisingly.

Room Tip: get higher level, I was on level 2 and there was a little noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!

Normally the rate is the lowest on our own website, we will look into it! Thanks for the tip.

Hope to see you again in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pretty big room for European city, very comfortable bed, big TV with lots of channels. A little oldish but better than expected. Great location - next to the central station. Walking distance to historic city center - 10-15 minutes. The only thing you can hear the street noise - the windows are not good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. The room was quite large and the beds very comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom was of good size and stocked well. Most importantly to me, the carpet was clean! This is often difficult to come by in a hotel. The breakfast was great and the staff helpful. I had occasional trouble with the wi-fi passwords, but the front desk was always able to assist. My only issue was with the street noise, but the hotel can't do much about loud people on the street. Superb stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acrocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor!

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hyllit
Hotel Hyllit
#17 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antwerp City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Property: Antwerp City Hotel
Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. Sleep: All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast & dinner: The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. To have lunch or dinner you can visit one of the many restaurants in the city. Meetings: Antwerp City Center Hotel has two boardrooms for 10-15 persons. Both meeting rooms are equipped with direct day light, air conditioning and free wireless Internet. Antwerp: The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". For more information about the surroundings of Antwerp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing