We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Antwerp City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antwerp City Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very nice location - close to the central station, the shopping street and the historical centre. The room was surprisingly big, clean, with tea/coffee making facilities, the breakfast was ok too.
The only negative side is the littered street - not the best view...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank extemporizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Natallie

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Antwerp City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

There are times when you walk into a Hotel room and you actually get surprised at the size and value of the Hotel, this was one of them in a positive way. Great location with 2min walk to the Central Station and 5min to the main shopping strip. Rooms were large for Europe, well serviced and “very nice” overall.

Okay some of the negatives but nothing that would suggest to go elsewhere, just brought it down from 5 stars to 4, which is still an awesome rating. We stayed in two rooms 403 and 406 and both were on the street side, which was very very noisy at night. They were doing construction across the road and it started at 6:45am and the noise form the taxi’s and cars, never seemed to get quiet until 11pm. Unfortunately they had a banner right near my window, the fluttering was rather annoying at night when it was windy, but I got used to it. The air con and room seemed very cold no matter what the setting 25C or 26+ but it’s easy to an extra wear a top or duck under the blankets whilst in the room. I mentioned this to the staff, but they just said change the settings.

I felt the two staff members at reception I dealt with could have been more friendly and didn’t seem knowledgeable in English or even in Dutch which I can speak. Whether it was the air con, or knowledge of the local area on both occasions, I would classify their responses as disappointing.

Last negatives is City Tax, though I know Hotels have to charge this, it did come as a surprise at checkout. Many hotels have a sign on the front desk so it’s clear to the customer on check in and you can be prepared for it.

But overall this is a great Hotel with good in room facilities, spacious, clean and a great location. External noise was really the only drawback.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the road side (rooms 403 and 406) noisy due to construction and cars across t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Tripadvisor.

I'ts good to know that some hotels place a sign on the front desk, we will thake this into consideration.

Hope to see you again in one of our Different Hotels!

The Antwerp City Center Hotel - team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have now stayed in every hotel within the diamond district & this is best value / price ratio. Breakfas is same as the other hotels nearby, nothing amazing but good enough. Room was suprisngly big, little bit modern feel, clean bathroom & good shower. Nice big window which you can open slightly to let a bit of fresh air in is also a plus for me (I get tired of air con on business trips) I got the City Hotel for $100 p/night on Expedia, it was more expensive to book on the hotel site suprisingly.

Room Tip: get higher level, I was on level 2 and there was a little noise from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!

Normally the rate is the lowest on our own website, we will look into it! Thanks for the tip.

Hope to see you again in Antwerp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pretty big room for European city, very comfortable bed, big TV with lots of channels. A little oldish but better than expected. Great location - next to the central station. Walking distance to historic city center - 10-15 minutes. The only thing you can hear the street noise - the windows are not good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. The room was quite large and the beds very comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom was of good size and stocked well. Most importantly to me, the carpet was clean! This is often difficult to come by in a hotel. The breakfast was great and the staff helpful. I had occasional trouble with the wi-fi passwords, but the front desk was always able to assist. My only issue was with the street noise, but the hotel can't do much about loud people on the street. Superb stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acrocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor!

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Conveniently located for the central station, the rooms are spacious (to the point of feeling a little vacuous) with comfy beds and a large TV. Everything in my room was decorated black, so it felt a little dingy, but everything appeared to be clean enough. The shower was good, and the bathroom a decent size.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit juices, chees and hams, nice coffee, scrambled eggs and yoghurt etc...

The hotel staff were helpful and made short work of a need for an iron, forgotten toothbrush and a wi-fi code that stopped working. The breakfast staff member was also of a very sunny disposition and welcomes with a smile every day.

A good selection of restaurants can be found just outside the station (along the street from the hotel), so no issues there.

Would stay again for the convenience and local eateries.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank PhysEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear PhysEd,

Thank you for leaving your review concerning your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor! We’re glad to read you liked your stay. It’s also nice to read you liked the bedroom you stayed in and the breakfast. We hope you had a great time in Antwerp.

Hopefully see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just checked into my room here and some very disgusting things I have found prompted me to write a review while I am still here, as opposed to after I leave.. Well, the bed linens seemed clean, however the black bed frames have some very nasty stains that appear to be human semen, on both the sides of the bed AND on the headboard. eWWW! Gross... Also in the bathroom, another very apparent stain on the wall around the toilet and sink area.. its either sprayed diarrhea or sprayed coffee, its hard to tell, and I didnt really want to study it too much.. I have a feeling the maids are either blind or just focus their attention on the floor, because thats the only real clean part of the room.. the walls and furniture in general are dirty with a few places that are just plain disgusting.. For $160 a night you would expect things to be clean.. right?? Second negative.. we go to check in and want to reserve another night, but for some reason that night has to cost $40 more then tonight, as if the price fluctuates every single day. I guess we will see how the rest of our stay here goes, and perhaps revise it after we leave if our experience improves, but for the moment, I have seen some of the dirtiest things I have ever encountered in a hotel room, not to mention a $160 a night hotel room..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarryd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Jarryd,

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room.
This helps us to monitor the quality of our product and implement corrections where needed.

We are extremely sorry to learn that your room was far from clean and wish that you had contacted the reception and management whilst you were in the hotel. Thus, we could have taken appropriate action immediately.

Please rest assured that this will be taken up with the responsible staff in our housekeeping department and that the necessary measures will be taken.

If you wish to visit Antwerp again in the future, please contact us directly so that we can offer you a complimentary night in a proper room .

Once again, thank you for the time you have taken to comment and we would look forward to welcome you again in Antwerp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 72 in Antwerp
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antwerp City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $90 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing