We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Antwerp City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antwerp City Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pretty big room for European city, very comfortable bed, big TV with lots of channels. A little oldish but better than expected. Great location - next to the central station. Walking distance to historic city center - 10-15 minutes. The only thing you can hear the street noise - the windows are not good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    175
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
65
151
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. The room was quite large and the beds very comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom was of good size and stocked well. Most importantly to me, the carpet was clean! This is often difficult to come by in a hotel. The breakfast was great and the staff helpful. I had occasional trouble with the wi-fi passwords, but the front desk was always able to assist. My only issue was with the street noise, but the hotel can't do much about loud people on the street. Superb stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acrocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor!

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Conveniently located for the central station, the rooms are spacious (to the point of feeling a little vacuous) with comfy beds and a large TV. Everything in my room was decorated black, so it felt a little dingy, but everything appeared to be clean enough. The shower was good, and the bathroom a decent size.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit juices, chees and hams, nice coffee, scrambled eggs and yoghurt etc...

The hotel staff were helpful and made short work of a need for an iron, forgotten toothbrush and a wi-fi code that stopped working. The breakfast staff member was also of a very sunny disposition and welcomes with a smile every day.

A good selection of restaurants can be found just outside the station (along the street from the hotel), so no issues there.

Would stay again for the convenience and local eateries.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear PhysEd,

Thank you for leaving your review concerning your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor! We’re glad to read you liked your stay. It’s also nice to read you liked the bedroom you stayed in and the breakfast. We hope you had a great time in Antwerp.

Hopefully see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just checked into my room here and some very disgusting things I have found prompted me to write a review while I am still here, as opposed to after I leave.. Well, the bed linens seemed clean, however the black bed frames have some very nasty stains that appear to be human semen, on both the sides of the bed AND on the headboard. eWWW! Gross... Also in the bathroom, another very apparent stain on the wall around the toilet and sink area.. its either sprayed diarrhea or sprayed coffee, its hard to tell, and I didnt really want to study it too much.. I have a feeling the maids are either blind or just focus their attention on the floor, because thats the only real clean part of the room.. the walls and furniture in general are dirty with a few places that are just plain disgusting.. For $160 a night you would expect things to be clean.. right?? Second negative.. we go to check in and want to reserve another night, but for some reason that night has to cost $40 more then tonight, as if the price fluctuates every single day. I guess we will see how the rest of our stay here goes, and perhaps revise it after we leave if our experience improves, but for the moment, I have seen some of the dirtiest things I have ever encountered in a hotel room, not to mention a $160 a night hotel room..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarryd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Jarryd,

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room.
This helps us to monitor the quality of our product and implement corrections where needed.

We are extremely sorry to learn that your room was far from clean and wish that you had contacted the reception and management whilst you were in the hotel. Thus, we could have taken appropriate action immediately.

Please rest assured that this will be taken up with the responsible staff in our housekeeping department and that the necessary measures will be taken.

If you wish to visit Antwerp again in the future, please contact us directly so that we can offer you a complimentary night in a proper room .

Once again, thank you for the time you have taken to comment and we would look forward to welcome you again in Antwerp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

THE breakfast was good value for money and THE staff weer briljant. Any issue or problem was dealt with fast and with à smile. 5 stars..! THE reception has local maps and discounts for local buisnesses. As THE staff weer all local They weer Able to Answer About THE markets and good restaurants. THE toerist informatieon was neerby to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Pixiewolfe,

Thank you for leaving your review concerning your stay at ACC on Tripadvisor! We’re delighted to read you liked your stay and that you find our staff briljant. What a great compliment! We hope you liked Antwerpen and we hope to see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the hotel in early Sep 13. It is conveniently located, just 400 mtrs from Antwerpen Centraal Railway Station. The room we occupied was spacious and had several horizontal surfaces on which we could place and open our bags.The bathroom, too, was larger those we've come across in most hotels we've stayed in. Air conditioning , free WiFi , a really large TV screen, the availability of a kettle and the wherewithals for making tea and coffee all go in favour of the hotel. The younger staff we came into contact with at the front desk were friendly and helpful. What was disappointing was the standard of housekeeping; strangely, we did not come across a single member belonging to the housekeeping staff. The impression gained - we could very well be wrong - is that the the front desk staff also carry out housekeeping duties; on one occasion there were no towels in the room and it was the receptionist who came up several minutes later and gave us some. I could mention at least two other incidents which point towards less- than satisfactory housekeeping. All these instances were brought to the attention to the girl at the front desk when we checked out.
The hotel prides itself on being a 'different hotel' and there was evidence of this in its decor. Another indication is the fact that I was asked to pay our bill for our stay at check- in; I was informed that this is a matter of policy. Despite my comments on the state of housekeeping experienced , I would still recommend the hotel to those, like me, who are prepared to judge the experience as a whole and use 'value for money' as the yardstick for assessment. I noticed that the hotel had hung a framed Certificate of Excellence, 2013 from TripAdvisor in one of their lifts; I suggested to the girl at the front desk that the staff make greater effort to live up to that certificate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor! I’s nice to read you we’re pleased about your stay at our hotel and that you liked your room. We also appreciate your comments about our housekeeping and we will take these into account on our staff meetings!
We hope you liked your stay in Antwerp and that we will see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its a perfect place for someone who is visiting as all the attraction in antwerp are walking distance and very close to the station.
Rooms are big and well made.
Funky colours in the room.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are cleaned well. Breakfast is available also.

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Pompi14,

Thank you very much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor! It’s nice to read you liked our hotel and that our staff is friendly. We hope you had a great stay in Antwerp and hope to see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#33 of 72 in Antwerp
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antwerp City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Property: Antwerp City Hotel
Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing