We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel beter then expected..”
Review of Antwerp City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antwerp City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed September 8, 2013

THE breakfast was good value for money and THE staff weer briljant. Any issue or problem was dealt with fast and with à smile. 5 stars..! THE reception has local maps and discounts for local buisnesses. As THE staff weer all local They weer Able to Answer About THE markets and good restaurants. THE toerist informatieon was neerby to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Pixiewolfe,

Thank you for leaving your review concerning your stay at ACC on Tripadvisor! We’re delighted to read you liked your stay and that you find our staff briljant. What a great compliment! We hope you liked Antwerpen and we hope to see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 395 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the hotel in early Sep 13. It is conveniently located, just 400 mtrs from Antwerpen Centraal Railway Station. The room we occupied was spacious and had several horizontal surfaces on which we could place and open our bags.The bathroom, too, was larger those we've come across in most hotels we've stayed in. Air conditioning , free WiFi , a really large TV screen, the availability of a kettle and the wherewithals for making tea and coffee all go in favour of the hotel. The younger staff we came into contact with at the front desk were friendly and helpful. What was disappointing was the standard of housekeeping; strangely, we did not come across a single member belonging to the housekeeping staff. The impression gained - we could very well be wrong - is that the the front desk staff also carry out housekeeping duties; on one occasion there were no towels in the room and it was the receptionist who came up several minutes later and gave us some. I could mention at least two other incidents which point towards less- than satisfactory housekeeping. All these instances were brought to the attention to the girl at the front desk when we checked out.
The hotel prides itself on being a 'different hotel' and there was evidence of this in its decor. Another indication is the fact that I was asked to pay our bill for our stay at check- in; I was informed that this is a matter of policy. Despite my comments on the state of housekeeping experienced , I would still recommend the hotel to those, like me, who are prepared to judge the experience as a whole and use 'value for money' as the yardstick for assessment. I noticed that the hotel had hung a framed Certificate of Excellence, 2013 from TripAdvisor in one of their lifts; I suggested to the girl at the front desk that the staff make greater effort to live up to that certificate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor! I’s nice to read you we’re pleased about your stay at our hotel and that you liked your room. We also appreciate your comments about our housekeeping and we will take these into account on our staff meetings!
We hope you liked your stay in Antwerp and that we will see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its a perfect place for someone who is visiting as all the attraction in antwerp are walking distance and very close to the station.
Rooms are big and well made.
Funky colours in the room.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are cleaned well. Breakfast is available also.

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Pompi14,

Thank you very much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor! It’s nice to read you liked our hotel and that our staff is friendly. We hope you had a great stay in Antwerp and hope to see you back soon in one of our Different Hotels.

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a big room with a small kitchen with a fridge etc. so you can make your own the and coffee, and the roomservice brought us a good matras for the extra third bed at 22.00!
And even without a credit card no problem to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gideon1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! We love to read you’re very pleased about our services in the hotel. We do anything to make our guests stay great. We hope you had a great time in Antwerp!

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent location. The Antwerp CC Hotel is just a stone's throw away from Antwerp Centraal Station, especially important when you do not wish to lug your huge luggage across the street. Hotel was extremely spacious by European standards. The front counter staff checking us in made sure we got a room that fit our needs. Four thumbs up from the both of us. The only very minor downsides are that the hotel front counter may get a tad busy at times and the wifi password changes daily and you'll have to call to ask.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! We love to read that you liked our hotel, your room and the location of our hotel. We will take your remark about the wifi password into account.

We hope to see you soon in on of our Different Hotels!

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good avarage hotel with exellent location just next to train station and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The comfort rooms are good and lots of space - very clean and in good condition. Bathrooms also good space and good condition. No noice reduction in windows, so there can be a bit noice from the street, but it is a quiet street, so it is not an issue. Breakfast not worth paying extra for, but if it is included, it is alright.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Poul,

Thank you for leaving your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the fact that you liked your stay. We will take your notes concerning the breakfast into account.

See you soon at Different Hotels!
With different regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group and booked 5 rooms. The rooms are very large and comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Only minus is the poor strength of the wifi. You had to leave the room to get best reception. And a bit of advice: stay away from the 07 and 08 rooms as you will be bothered but the staircase door being slammed on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis-Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Louis-Andre

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that you liked your stay at our hotel and that you liked the fact that our staff was very nice and helpful! We hope to see you back soon at Different Hotels!

With different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 74 in Antwerp
856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#17 of 74 in Antwerp
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antwerp City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing