We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outside the city centre, good facilities, expensive food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outside the city centre, good facilities, expensive food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located outside the city centre and so not an ideal location for tourists, unless you have a car of course. Parking and wifi are available for free which is great. The hotel also had a gym with basic necessities which was useful. The breakfast costs 20 euros and we felt it was a bit expensive for the choices offered. We also had dinner at the restaurant and felt the choices were limited but comparatively pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgr031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    238
    120
    36
    10
See reviews for
165
98
30
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Typical Novotel standards. From outside the building looks like an old prefab but I was pleasantly surprised to see good renovation inside. Room was clean and reception friendly. Had drinks and dinner at restaurant. Food quite pricey but very decent. Very attentive service in restaurant. Huge food portions. Overall very good value for money.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeanPierreBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night, just passing through. The hotel is attractive. It's in nice surroundings with a small pool (out of use when we were there in January, unsurprisingly). The rooms are lovely - a good size, comfortable and modern.

The hotel is in a good location for access from the main roads. Antwerp is a 10-15 minute drive away (depending on how many red traffic lights you have to wait at - it felt like we got stuck at about 30 of them!). There is a village a few KM away called Ekeren. It has supermarkets & restaurants so if you don't want to venture into Antwerp you're not just stuck with the overpriced hotel restaurant.

The only thing that lets this place down is the staff. Check in was unwelcoming. I don't expect a red carpet but I do expect a smile and a greeting. Check out was frustrating - only one person on the desk who was actually checking someone in for that night (at 10am). When she did get around to attending to me the only words uttered were to ask if we'd had anything from the minibar - not to enquire about our stay or even say goodbye. Just a gloomy bunch of people which is a real shame.

Overall, the room made this place great. If the staff were a little more welcoming, happy & professional, it could be a fantastic choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

When you stay at a Novotel Hotel you know it will be clean, staff polite, good food & generally good service all round. Novotel Antwerpen Noord had all this & a relaxing environment. It is good for business has great motorway connections. Having stayed in the old town with my family in an over priced poor hotel I wished we had gone to the Novotel Antwerpen Noord. Family friendly CBBC & XBox available & plenty of room inside & out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Rooms clean and well presented, Limited coffee and tea provided in the room, for a hotel of this price i did not expect paper cups to be the norm for this The staff were bored and disinterested, as a result the service in the bar was slow and not of an acceptable quality. The menu in the restaurant is very limited and quite expensive.
I visit Antwerp maybe a dozen times a year and this is the first and last time I have used an accor brand hotel. There are many other hotels in and around Antwerp that provide much better value for money than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, Directeur général at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Antwerpen. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the shortfall in the standard of our service.

I have personally discussed your comments regarding the attitude of our staff with the Food and Beverage manager who will address this matter to his team.
Regarding the restaurant menu it has been the hotels decision to limit the menu during the Christmas and New Year period due to the very low occupancy of the hotel, this to avoid food waste.
The full menu has been restarted as from Friday 4th.
Regarding the cups in the room it has been a brand decision to replace the original mugs by paper cups for hygienic and environmental reasons. This decision is part of our commitment to the environment program of Accor “Planet 21”.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a standard Novotel and good average quality. I stay here because it is very close to the office I visit in Antwerp. While room and bar/restaurant is fine, the check-in and -out is always a hassle. In my three stays I have never felt welcome, but rather felt treated like a nuisance. Even during check-out rush hour only one or two desks are manned, with very unfriendly staff ... all the time. This is not standard Novotel though, I have had great experience at others! Perhaps some training and coaching for the staff in Antwerp would help?

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike_the_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear,


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Antwerpen Nord. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are very sorry to hear that you have never felt welcome in our hotel. During check in or check out time we have the maximum of two desks manned. Unfortunately we have no more capacity at our desk. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and we will coach our reception team where necessary.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bram Maes
General Manager
Novotel Antwerpen Noord

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#13 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#11 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
3.4 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Antwerpen Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Antwerpen Noord

Property: Novotel Antwerpen Noord
Address: Luithagen-Haven 6, Antwerp 2030, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Antwerpen Noord 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Antwerpen is a 3 star hotel located between the city centre and the port, in the harbour business district, 7 km from the centre of Antwerp. It features 120 rooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as 4 conference rooms for meetings and seminars. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Antwerp with your partner or family. Its luminous, brand new interior with garden and pool views gives you a feeling of well being. Free WiFi and free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Antwerpen Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing