We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and acceptable...”
Review of De Keyser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Keyser Hotel
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Location and acceptable...”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the De Keyser hotel in Antwerp, on a Bed and Breakfast basis.

When we arrived we were able to check in but as our rooms were not ready, we left our luggage in a secure locked room and went sight-seeing. (We repeated this on our last day after checking out!)

The location is ideal for a city centre hotel; right outside the central station and at one end of a long main shopping street. (There is some major relaying of drains outside the hotel and the smell can be a little unpleasant, but it is not the hotels fault!) Following this street, left out of the hotel, takes you right into the Old Town and takes about 15 minutes to walk at a leisurely pace, window shopping as you stroll!

The hotel itself was modern and clean and tidy.The bedrooms are small and fairly basic but we didn't spend too much time in the room. They have wardrobe space and a functional bathroom and overall it was more than enough for a short break. The maid tidied and kept the room spotless. We had a room at the back which had no view but was nice and quiet.
The bar area downstairs is nice enough and have a good selection of drinks BUT they do allow people to smoke in the bar area!!

The breakfast room/restaurant was not the best, as whilst we were there it got very busy and they didn't seem to be much room to move around. The actual breakfast itself was a good but typical Continental breakfast. They also had a small selection of hot items, mainly scrambled eggs, pancakes and small sausages (links!). They also had famous Belgian waffles!

The reception area was good and welcoming and the staff pleasant and spoke good English.

Across the road there is a square with a plethora of restaurants and bars, with Indian Chinese, Morroccan, Italian to name a few!! Very handy after a long day sight-seeing!
Overall a pleasant place to stay for a few days and enjoy the sights of Antwerp. I would definitely use this hotel again for a base if I were to go back.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    168
    160
    59
    64
See reviews for
36
206
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Verry good location. Just across the street from Central Station. So a visit to Brussels or somwhere else is at you finger tips. Parking is in a remote area, but you are in the middle of 'Diamond" neighborhood. We use the hotel as a base for our round trips all around Belgium. And you are at few meters from Antwerp Zoo, and 5 minutes from shopping area.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are a litle bit far from traffic noise. Ask for back side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorin-Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the De Keyser hotel from November 5 to November 6 2011.

Because we read some negative ratings about the hotel on Tripadvisor we did not know what to expect.

It turned out however that the hotel was beautifully decorated. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean and had all the necessary amenities. Breakfast was good, with a lot of choice. The hotel has a small but nice bar where we had a drink.

The location of the hotel is superb, next to the main railway station (Antwerpen Centraal), public transport (stop: Diamant) and in the main shopping area. Sights like the cathedral (Onze Lieve Vrouwen Kathedraal), the Rubenshouse and the Grote Markt (Market Square with medieval City Hall).

Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful in giving directions. They can also provide a city map. The roomrate was very reasonable. All in hotel a hotel I can certainly recommend. I would stay at this hotel again when coming to Antwerp!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_LeJeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alges, Portugal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Was in Antwerp last week in business travel on my way to Holland.
THis Hotel has in my opinion a great location if you travel by train from or to Antwerp as it is realy about 50/100 meters from Antwerp Centraal, and so convenient for walking.
Check in is ok, rooms could be better but acceptable for 1 or 2 nights, bar is ok, and breakfast is the normal 4* hotel.
If visiting Antwerp again I'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRAFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The location is tawdry but couldn't be more convenient for the central railway station (2 minutes' walk), or indeed the bus stop for the express bus to & from Brussels Airport (almost right outside). Inside, all is the usual fare from a busy, large and impersonal city-centre tourist hotel; slightly shabby furnishings (one lift out of order, eccentric electronic keys, a broken light switch in the room) but comfortable, clean and functional. Breakfast is something of a scrum anytime after 8.30, and nothing specially tempting to keep you at table, if you find one. A reasonable option if you need to be near the railway station or are catching an early bus to Brussels airport.

Room Tip: Remember to specify a non-smoker, if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I came here a few weeks ago for a citytrip and it was great! The location of the hotel is perfect, near the centre of Antwerp and also near the old part. The rooms of the hotel were nice, clean and cozy decorated. The housekeeping was very good but also the staff at the reception and bar was very friendly!! They were very helpfull and they told us all the nice places of Antwerp! I can't tell you antything wrong about this hotel. It's definitely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva227921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

wow, what a great experience. it was my first time in antwerp but I will be back very soon. the hotel maked it complate. the staff in the hotel was so kind and helpfull. they showed me and my friends the places where we had to go to. we had a great time! the hotel room was very nice and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#31 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hyllit
Hotel Hyllit
#14 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Keyser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Keyser Hotel

Property: De Keyser Hotel
Address: De Keyserlei 66 - 70, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Alfa De Keyser Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Keyser Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly newly renovated rooms from 2010, central located in Antwerp, in front of train station, buses and subway, nearby the animal zoo and diamond district behind the hotel. 5 Minutes walk from the shopping area and ten minutes walk from the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Keyser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa De Keyser Antwerp
Hotel Alfa De Keyser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing