We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Below Average Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed there for two nights, and the experience was unexpectedly bad... Usually stay at the Crown Plaza across the road, but they were full this time and the Ramada was recommended to me. Arriving by car was quite a struggle as the access is very poor due to construction works around the hotel entrance. The garage was full already at 7pm, so had to leave the car on the ramp. the room was ok, nothing special. good thing is that you have the choice between a hard and a soft matress in the double bed - might be some room for discussions when you go there as a couple. breakfast could be better, and the guy at the reception of the breafast room a bit more friendly. staff in general are not up to what you would expect, quite slow and unfriendly. check out is a nightmare, it takes them 5 to 10 mins per check out which is not very pleasant. not really a hotel for me to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_travelling_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristofAntwerpen, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you very much for sharing your expressions and experiences with us in relation to your stay in Ramada Plaza Antwerp.
Every review gives us the opportunity to rethink ourselves and look for improvement in either service and maintaining our standards in rooms and staff.
We take every word seriously and will look for ways to constructively improve this.
Indeed, the construction works before our building, made it not easy to find the hotel in the past, but this has all finished now and visibility has been restored.
Perhaps we will meet again if again the other hotels might be fully booked to show that we have faithfully treated your words for improving.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    278
    146
    40
    27
See reviews for
102
215
22
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We went for a long family weekend on short notice. The room was nice, clean and had a lot of space for the 3 of us. Comments about bathrooms are correct - there was definitely some budget missing. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Public transport is about 5 minutes away which made sightseeing really easy. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristofAntwerpen, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Mrs Petra,
Thank you very much for your encouraging words in relation to your past stay in Ramada Plaza Antwerp.
For families of 3 or 4 persons, we had created spacious rooms with sofabeds which allows 2 adults and 2 children maximum to be accommodated in one room, at an affordable price.
I also thank you about your thoughts concering the bath room.
We find it nice to understand that you were feeling at home, due to our staff's friendliness.
That we all agree can make a big difference in the wide variety choice of hotels in Antwerpen.
We look forward in welcoming you again and more often in the near future.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

It's OK, that's sums it all up quite good. A huge plus side are the service with different hardness on the pillows in the room, you can easy find one that fit's you. On the downside are the shower, standing in a slim bathtub and no waterpressure wasn't the best start of the day. Good breakfast made the start fairly good anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for informing us about your recent experiences at Ramada Plaza Antwerp.
We can improve and maintain our standards where applicable.
A big plus indeed is our investment in different kind of pillows in relation to hardness, so all of our guests can enjoy a good night rest, with a pillow to their own choice and liking.
I will take the time to speak to my technical staff so we can resolve this issue of the water pressure and try to avoid this for future times for all of our guests.
Technical failures occur sometimes, despite the best of care, we take in maintenance.
A good breakfast is always a perfect start to any day.
Looking forward in welcoming you again soon again.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

To enter the hotel one will be challenged as there are renovating activities at the entrance. Taxi drivers are not able to drive through. The hotel lobby is okay but furniture is typical of the hotel: very poor condition. Rooms have strange situated toilets and being 6 foot 6 this is not very pleasant at all. Trying to fill the bath resulted in a wet floor as the switch from shower to bath was not working well. Emptying the bath was filthy as the plug (see picture) was covered with long hairs. The bed it self was a bit hard but okay. It looked however if the bed was not cleaned! Changed the cover to the backside.
The breakfast was reasonable but not from a quality one would expect. Chemical orange juice but good coffee from fresh beans. The location is close (10 minutes by taxi) to a factory but not close to nice tourist areasI would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwehnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your contribution and your review concerning your stay in Ramada Plaza Antwerp. All reviews and opinions will be used to improve our quality and look for solutions to stop for reoccuring any problems that you have suffered from.
Unfortunately, due to the renovations of the building Vivium in front of the hotel and their back entrance, we are indeed faced with difficulties for our guests and taxi's to reach our main entrance.
We will do research in the room you had stayed in on the 7th floor to make sure that all points you raised, will be improved for future convenience of all off our guests.
Not only for this particular room, but i agreed, arrving in a nice and fres cleaned room contributes to a happy feeling. With all equipments working to their normal standards.
Our location is indeed more business orientated, but if you have some spare time, with the public transport that runs frequently, our guests can easilly get into the centre of Antwerp.
Many guests have already used this to their satisfaction, as not real expensive.
For 1.20€ one way, a metro takes you directly into the centre.
I wish you all the best and i apologize for all inconveniences you had experienced.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms in the hotel have recently been refurbished. Looks great in the room and the bed's are marvelous. But the person how decide on the works to be done in the bathroom had either no budget or the wrong profession. The result is a nice room, with a half upgraded bathroom where the poor quality is seen everywhere.

The staff is great, restaurant is not too bad either.

Location is good, albeit difficult to find.

Bad thing is the construction on-going next door, creates a lot of noise and disturbances.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,
Many thanks for having taken the time to write your opinion about your stay in Ramada Plaza Antwerp in august.
All raised opinions will be treasured to reflect and improve our quality where needed.
Indeed, we were faced with the construction of the Vivium bank right in front of the hotel.
This brings discomfort to our guests but also for ourselves.
Thank you for sharing your opinion about the renovations, so we do research and have to possibility to improve and show that we are no longer 'missing the point'.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over a number of months. It is easy to get to by car, and there isarking below. The rooms are being upgraded in 2012, but although the "new" rooms are clean and fresh, they still appear a little dark and slightly depressing to me on account of the use of bark brown and weak lighting in the company's decoration style. That's my opinion.

The restaurant is large and does a good breakfast. I haven't tried lunch, but dinner was pleasant and well cooked. The bar is also a welcoming place, for a hotel anyway, and the staff are courteous and hepful.

I have had varying experiences with this hotel over several stays. Sometimes very pleasant and others have included being placed in a cold room at the corner of the building that stank of cigarette smoke. After a week so did all of my suits and other belongings, which made me feel quite unpleasant.


Overall a generally clean hotel with reasonable service and food. Nothing to rave about, but then no real complaints either.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for writing this review concerning your latest stay in Ramada Plaza Antwerp.
We value and treasure each opinion as we learn from and try to improve for every new challenge and occasion.
I completely understand and agree that it's not a pleasant feeling to be lodged in a smoking room if you are a convinced non smoking guest in our hotels.
This teaches me that we have to be more aware of our guests need and preferences.
I agree that's unpleasant to have your clothes and belongings smell to smoke, when you don't want this to happen.
I hope we can welcome you again next time and provide you with a nice and bright non smoking room, so you can enjoy again, the warm and genuine hospitality we aim to provide on every occassion in every part of our hotel, such as bar and restaurant.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is very easy to reach from Brussels airport as the hourly Express bus service stops only 5 minutes walk away. It is very well-sited for the Wezenberg swimming pool and the Expo, and less than a 15 minute ride into the city centre from the nearby tram stop.
When we stayed, there were extensive construction works directly outside the hotel from 7 am each weekday. This presented very few problems compared to the all-night noise rising from the Magic nightclub on both the Friday and Saturday nights, which continued past 7 am both mornings. Other guests we spoke to who were on higher floors were not troubled; unless you are an avid clubber it might be prudent to avoid the first floor at the weekends
The room had been refurbished and was pleasant and of a good size, if a little gloomy. The bathroom was fresh and functional, although the door was warped and would not close. The housekeeping service was somewhat erratic and we had to ask for towels on 2 occasions as these had been removed but not replaced. I removed a thick layer of dust from the storage area shelves myself and the carpet was vacuumed only once during our week-long stay.
The public areas of the hotel were inoffensively sterile. For some reason, the bar was closed throughout our week-long stay but service was available in the lobby seating area. There was a general out-of-season air about the place even though it was July. We did not eat in the hotel as there were a number of restaurants at a short distance in addition to the endless choice in the centre
While staff were pleasant when approached, they seemed a little distant and gave the impression of tolerating our presence rather than welcoming it.
Our stay was booked through Hotels.com and represented good value for money at the price we paid. I would consider this hotel again for events in the locale

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the night club if staying at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzardsandchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Antwerp, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,
I thank you very much for all of your words in relation to your stay at Ramada Plaza Antwerp.
We treasure each and every word in order to keep our service and standards up to date and improve them where we feel the need is.
Even though you offer nice and renovated rooms, it's equally important to have experienced a warm welcome and goodby as also a nice and friendly service the entire time you are a guest in our hotel in Antwerpen.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in Antwerpen when you travel plans guide you to Belgium, to show we have traken your words seriously to improve where necessary.
Kind regards
Caroline Lahou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#11 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Antwerp

Property: Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Address: Desguinlei 94, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 210 en-suite bedrooms, with meeting room and event capacity for up to 500 people. With its unmatched standard of services and facilities, Ramada Plaza Antwerp is an ideal venue for leisure and business travel as well as the perfect setting for conferences. Amenities include: Free internet throughout the hotel, Easily accessible by car and public transportation,location outside Antwerp's Low Emission Zone for card, private parking facilities (extra charge applies), Hugo's breakfast restaurant, Elaborate meeting facilities (13 meeting rooms), Fitness room with saunas, Private discothèque, Gozo Bar and Brasserie, Open air terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Ramada Antwerp
Antwerp Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing