We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, comfortable bed but get a room at the back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good price, comfortable bed but get a room at the back”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Happy with my choice of hotel - it was a fair walk from the train station (15+ mins) which can be shortened by walking through the train station to the glass doors (as if going to the Linder hotel) and walking down the street to join on to the road where the hotel sits (take a look at the map before you go). Reception fine outside of being given a room key for a room that was already occupied ... I was on the 3rd floor at the end of the corridor. Room was fine (corridors are very dark) and importantly the bed was comfortable. Free beer (x1) and water in the minibar was a nice touch. Main issue was the road noise which woke me up around 5am. Will be happy to return for only Eur50 / night room only (ebookers) but will require a room away from the road.

Room Tip: At the back of the building away from the road
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for staying at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp and sharing your positive feed-back regarding this stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager - TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    364
    326
    155
    70
See reviews for
91
478
81
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was really clean and everything we needed was there. The bathroom was nice (bathtub with shower, toilet, sink) although it was a little small. Shampoo and showergel was provided.

We had breakfast in the hotel once, and it was really good. When one type of bread was finished the staff would immediately get new bread.

The thing I liked the most is the fact that the hotel has character. Not just a basic room painted in white (we had the green room).

The city center is 15 mins walk, just close enough to walk. If you don't feel like walking you can also catch the tram. (Tip: get your tram ticket at the station, there is a really nice info desk. They also have free city maps)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren845B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
It's always our aim to provide every guest a similar feeling of happiness when staying in our hotel.
I hope to welcoming you back soon at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
Once again many thanks & kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Staff was really professional and kind. There were complimentary drinks in the room and a coffee machine was free to use in the lobby. Room was tidy and pretty, nice art on the wall. Bathroom with a bathtub was great. The bed was comfortable and it was quite peaceful, except little traffic noise from the street. We couldn't close our window because the lock was broken but we didn't care to complain about it because that didn't matter to us that much. Also TV could have worked a bit better...
Hotel is located a bit far but still on the walking distance to the station and all the main things you want to see in Antwerp.
All in all, we had a really nice stay in Tryp by Wyndham. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsikatriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
It's always a true pleasure for my team & myself to read that our esteemed guests are appreciating our great value for money and do also recommend us for this.
I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
Once again many thanks & best regards,
WIm Van Respaille - General Manager - TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nothing special about this hotel, it's too far from main town. the hotel is clean and neat but the let down was the room, it was too small for 2 people and the air con did not work. The free mini bar is a joke.2 beers and some water.
Mean while down in the bar the barman would shut the bar and go home if there was no one using it. My friend and I returned one night expecting a night cap and the bar was shut. The night porter couldn't even get us a drink.
The breakfast we did not take as the cost of 15 euros is way to high for what you got, it's easier if you heading to Astridplein there are a few places there that serve just as good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Thank you very much for having booked our hotel and taken the time to informing us about your recent stay.
All opinions are treasured by us, as an indication on what areas we can improve our service we offer to our most valuable guests.
This way we can keep on improving on service and quality for all of our future guest who choose to stay at our hotel.
I hope when you might visit us again, we can show you that we have taken your opinions seriously.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The walk from the station is actually about 20 mins and not along the nicest of roads, but having got inside the hotel, things pick up. Our room was large and clean and the bathroom was good and clean too. We had a room at the front and the soundproofing from the doubling glazing isn't brilliant so it's probably worth asking for a room at the back.
Our room had one of those large faces behind the bed -- not as scary as it might appear.
A real bonus of this hotel is the complementary minibar (beer, soft drink and water) and the free coffee/chocolate machine in the lobby.
A tram will get you into the centre if you don't fancy the walk back. You can buy (reduced price) single or multi tickets at the supermarket just down the road, or pay 2 euros to the driver.
Ask for directions to Dageraad Plaats (5 mins walk) to find a square brimming with cafes (we ate at Camping Campino) and locals. It also has a playground for the children and an excellent cycle shop if you need cycle repairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Thank you very much for staying at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp and providing us with your most valuable feedback.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

First impressions of the hotel were good, staff professional and friendly. Smoke free lobby and hotel which was very important for me. The WIFI was easy to access (user name and password provided by front desk) but it wasn't very fast. suitable for a little streaming but not uploading video or downloading. Breakfast was good, there was a decent selection: eggs (scrambled, boiled or fried), bacon, sausages, cereals and A LOT OF sweet pastry and doughnuts (a little strange for breakfast but each to their own). I especially enjoyed their selection of tea having recently adopted green tea as my morning wake up juice.

I have to mention a wonderful lady in the breakfast room called Patricia, she wonderful and incredibly helpful! She made every morning that little bit more welcoming and pleasant.

The rooms where good, some had crazy colour themes but nothing unpleasant. Mini bar was free which is always a nice touch. I would recommend the hotel look into replacing some of the carpets in rooms as they looked a little worn and old. Bathroom were great but didn't like the shower curtains (looked old), I would always prefer glass or something solid that can be cleaned more thoroughly and easily. The hallways where also very very dark without any natural light what so ever (very low lighting here), I liked this style but I'm sure not everyone would agree.

The hotels location is great, it's within 5minutes walk from a square with plenty of choices for restaurants and bars. Come out of the hotel to your right and take 2nd right, walk straight down the street and you're there.. There is a Barista not even 1 minute walk from the hotel if you come out and turn right (on the corner of the street) They have fantastic food and service, seriously recommended, cheapest and best meal we had all weekend there!

Parking: 20EUR per day from the hotel or 3.80EUR per day directly outside along the street, might need to wait for a spot to park in (Sunday is free). Overall my stay was pleasant and I intend to return next year.

Room Tip: Watch out for the 14EUR charge at the end of your stay and make sure you have plenty of Euros, not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & detailed feedback. We appreciated your most valuable opinion whilst I'm also very pleased to read your lovely comments about our breakfast supervisor Patricia.
Look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Once again many thanks & kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Reception staff very helpful and friendly, and reception area pretty stylish. Bedrooms are quite small but clean and functional. The hotel does not really have a restaurant but a short walk will talk you to many restaurants and bars in this residential area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & recommendation of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp...much appreciated ! Obviously I'm very pleased you have enjoyed your stay and very much forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#11 of 72 in Antwerp
674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#33 of 72 in Antwerp
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
#41 of 72 in Antwerp
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing