We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hotel with free soft drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool hotel with free soft drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A different hotel with many glimpses of the Flemish classic portraits. Located on a main street but we were not disturbed by noise. Free hot drinks in the lobby and soft drinks in the fridge in the room is a nice experience compared to the usually overpriced mini-bar in other hotels. Illumination of the corridors is a bit sparse with motion-detector controlled pot lights but young people will love it. Located 10 min walking from the diamond quarters, 25 min walking from the old town but there is tram 11. Definitely good value for the comparatively low room rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay and sharing your positive feedback about the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp. I'm very grateful that you reiterate and thus appreciate the good value for money at our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Once again many thanks & kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    345
    293
    137
    60
See reviews for
71
445
74
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We decided at the very last minute to book this hotel as the price was reasonable. The location is ok, about 15-20' walk to the central train station and main shopping streets. The hotel parking was not available for us to park so it was not convenient at all. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Unfortunately we had a very bad night as the mattress and cushions were too hard to sleep on and we all had headache the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanDinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay at our hotel.
Although I obviously believe you, II was rather surprised about your reaction regarding the bed, as we have already received many very positive comments abouts the quality of the beds.
We would be very proud to offer you again a warm welcome at our hotel.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Room was clean but a little tired looking. Air con noisy and could not open a window. No car parking ( despite advertised as having it) and no facility to drop off bags, parking in street was a nightmare in quite a rough area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & feedback. Would like to inform you that we do have a parking (underground), but places are temporarily limited as a part of the garage is currently used for the grand renovation of the 6, 7 & 8th floor. Beginning September '13 all our parking places will most probably be available again. However parking can not be reserved and will remain upon availability. Please note that a well secured 24/7 large parking at a very reasonable rate is situated nearby the hotel (Parking Central Station/Kievitplein-Approx.600 Meter).
Looking forward to welcoming you back & best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I been staying for an overnight stay at this property, the only nice thing about it is the lobby, the bad experience start as soon as you get into the elevator, old stuff, and you hope it will bring you where you intend to go .... once on the corridor, all painted in black but long ago, it give you a sensation you have landeded into a dubious place, sensation of dark and dirt ....

Once you enter the room, (just figure out that mine was a "superior" one !) you notice how small it is , and when you are into it, you realise that at least several battles took place there !! I mean big dirt spot on the carpet, wall painting damaged . Soon , I realized too that the airco heating wasn't working, so had to live in a room a little chilled , and when I wanted to go down to the reception floor (in the night) I had to experience elevators malfunction, impossible to use them , and only way to reach the ground floor was by the fire escape staircase, there is a movement detection lighting in that staircase, everything was ok up to the 1st floor, and then no more marking of the floor and no more automatic lighting , so had to walk the two last volley in the dark and when I found the first door (logically ground floor), it was closed !!.... from there had no choice to go down again and I nearly missed one more stairs volley in the darkness to at least find a mark indication the door to reach the reception floor ...

Considering all those problems , plus the fact that the reservation service doesn't even seem to pay attention to the additional requirement from guest, just to be finally denied of them , but only once the check-in was done, so that give the sensation that this hotel management doesn't mind to cheat his way to guest's money, and precisely, for the kind of money asked there , I have had much better accomodation in Brussels in hotels of the same category (Aloft hotel and bloom Hotel). Also to mention , the safe in the room wasn't working, and the free minibar is consisting of 4 bottle of water, one bottle of beer, and one bottle of lemonade, all of them from a (probably very cheap) brand I have never heard of ....


For just a little bit more money, you can find in Antwerp accomodation of another world than this one (like the Radisson Blu on Astridplein) . And as far as I am concerned, never ever again with this hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear,
Thank you for your recent stay & the time you have taken to write about your experience that were unfortunately rather negative.
All remarks, positive or negative, are very important for us to learn where and how to improve quality and service levels during any stay at our hotel.
I would very much appreciate if you could contact me (to know more about your specific reservation & allocated room), so I can further investigate your complaint. Will definitely consult my colleagues to research all the points you raised and search for constructive ways to prevent similar shortfalls.
Accept our sincerest apologies for all inconvenience and I hope we will be able to accommodate you again, so we can show that we have take your remarks seriously.
Best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was a "book-on-the-spot" decision. There was a major problem with our reservation to another hotel nearby, so we urgently had to find somewhere to stay. Then I saw TRYP and the first impression was absolutely positive.

Clean, airy, modern lobby, a cosy salon to hang out and the price was fantastic. They even gave us a 10% reduction. The staff at the reception was proffesional and absolutely friendly.

The room was on the third floor, facing a small aley, so it was absloutely noise free until a rude and noisy "neighbour" checked-in in the room just next to ours.

The room was small but cofortable, good A/C, mini bar, flat TV, safe and the bathroom was clean with good amenities and a refreshing smell (actually the whole hotel smell fantastic).

Wi-Fi was free with excellent and fast connection.

Breakfast wasn't included in the price but we had one on our last morning there. The quality was exeptional and the variety absolutely perfect.

Close to the hotel is a large supermarket so you won't have to worry about anything that you might have forgotten.

On the positive side: Great prizes, friendly staff, good slepp quality, clean, perfect wi-fi connection and....an all day FREE coffemachine at the lobby !!!

On the negative side: Location. It is located far from city center, around 30 mins on foot. Central Station is around 10-15 mins walk and the closest tram/metro station is around 8-10 mins of walk. No parking at the hotel, so you have to park on the nearby streets.

I definetly recommend it and I would surely stay thee again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorSotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your kind words in relation to your past stay at the Tryp by Wyndham Antwerp.
It is our responsibility to ensure that all our most valuable guests enjoy their time with us and we are determined to ensure that happens.

We would be very proud to give you again a warm welcome @ the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed here for three nights. the staff very helpfull. 2 things detract , the slow emptying of the sink and maintaince. On arrivall in our room 2 light bulbs were blown. In the time we were there they were not replaced. the rooms were well decrated and overall very clean. to sm up a bice friendly hotel 4 star maintenance 2 star

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidique497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp. Due to all comments and opinions, we can evaluate and improve our service and standards where needed.
I fully agree that we must improve our maintenance standards and can confirm we will take the necessary steps to do so.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Antwerp on your next visit.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Modern hotel with a very youngish vibe... located 10 mins from the station.. Worth the money spent... Good breakfast spread with a complimentary coffee machine in the lobby, but the icing on the cake was the complementary minibar ( FYI this is not for a one time use, they restock it every day).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear,
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & sharing your valuable feedback.
Obviously we are happy that your stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp exceeded your expectations. This is exactly the image and atmosphere we want that all of our esteemed guests come to experience when choosing our hotel as their home away from home in wonderful Antwerp. I trust we are able to meet your expectations over and over again.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#11 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#31 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#34 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#27 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing