We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fair value for money”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I think this hotel is good considering its price. They are obviously trying to be good and there are signs of this (free coffee machine, allegedly free mini-bar: shame we never discovered this and no one on reception even mentioned such an usual feature to us - we have never seen free mini-bar and were even once charged for drinking the bottle of water put on the table! so it will be good move to keep the guests properly informed on this feature).

Location is not that bad as some people perceived. It is really neighboring the nice quarter - though to get to the town centre you need to walk for about 10-15 mins, but we didn't see a problem with it.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend (and will tell him/her about the "free" mini-bar!!!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear,
I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp. I do very much appreciate your genuine comments and would like to apologize that you were not informed by our reception about complimentary the minibar (= 4 mineral waters, 1 limonade & 1 premium lager / daily replenished).
I will also share your feedback with my staff, so we can learn from it.
Once again many thanks & best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    353
    300
    142
    64
See reviews for
73
453
78
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We booked because the reviews seemed reasonable, and the hotel was very cheap (Under £70 for 3 nights). At the time we didn't realise the location was not so good- you're out of the city in a suburb that looks a little ropey. The hotel also seems to be re-branding, from Sir-Plantin to Tryp, so some web pages have one hotel or the other.

The entrance to the hotel was very nice, and very promising. Reception and welcome was ok. We weren't helped with bags, shown to the lift or told how to find our room though, no biggie.

Upon leaving the lift for our room, 411, we entered a pitch black corridor. Black floors, ceilings, no external lights. We called it the corridor of doom. When you come out of the lift you almost walk in to a wall before the lights come on. There's nothing to say what rooms are left, what are right so you have to work it out.

The room we were given was poor. There was a massive dirty stain on the floor which made you immediately think the room wasn't clean. The lime green paint was badly chipped and marked. The window didn't close properly, and we were on the very busy road at the front of the hotel. This is very noisy. We asked to move rooms, and reception we helpful and moved us to 411 next door. This room was an improvement with working window. I found a hair in the bath and the floor in the bathroom I don't think has ever seen a mop. The bedding was clean and comfortable.Road noise was fairly consistent, and was very audible until around 11pm. It became noisy again at around 5am. I didn;t find it stopped me sleeping as we were out and about all day so slept like a log, but light sleepers would have a big problem.

The air conditioning was a beast to work and there's no instructions with it. The volume on the TV struggled to compete with road noise a bit. There's a free minibar, and on a daily basis you get 2 bottles of still water, 2 of sparkling, 1 fizzy orange and 1 beer.

There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is a coffee machine downstairs which does good coffee, and the reception didn't care we were taking it up to the rooms. We didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that.

On the decor front, I really can't work out why somebody would paint a corridor matt black. I don't think they could have chosen anything worse. For the money the hotel is good value, but once you leave reception you feel there is a lack of care and will to maintain anything in "nice" condition. I'd imagine in 2 years the hotel will be looking very ropey again. After finding the hair in the bathroom and the dusty floor, I felt the room was not clean even though it probably was ok.

There is a supermarket within 5 minutes of the hotel which is great for nibbles, water etc. They also have a very good and very cheap selection of Belgian beers :)

All in all- if you want a hotel in Antwerp, if you just want somewhere dirty cheap, don't mind being out of the way, and can sacrifice things like room size, road nice etc then this is fine. That said I would suggest looking for somewhere a little more central, and a little nicer inside.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room round the back, this gets you off the main road which is consistently nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baffers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & genuine feedback.
Although I definitely regret the fact that you are not very pleased about our hotel & location, I'm convinced we offer a great price-quality ratio.
I would like to apologize that the bathroom was not cleaned properly as it should be and have immediately followed up your reaction with our housekeeping contractors. I can assure you that our housekeeping standards are normally of a high standard, as we are well aware this a most important issue.
We are currently doing a grand renovation (nearly finished) of our 6,7 & 8th floor and have also taken all the feedback from our valuable guests into account. So I'm pleased to confirm that the 8th level will be in a light colour, whilst the 6th & 7th level will also be lighter that the other floors.
I hope you will come back to try our newly renovated rooms in the not so distant future, aswell to discover the most charming art-déco Zurenborg area just next to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in hotel for three nights during the Easter break.
Hotel is very easy to find, not exactly central location but if you enjoy walking :) it is perfect place to stay.15 minutes walk from central station, with supermarkets and fast foods nearby.
Room was very nice and clean. We really liked the decor :) But it was very cold inside when we came. So while we were out we left AC turned on...hoping it will be better when we come back. But it wasnt :( our AC was broken. But we had a new room in 10 minutes.
I would recommend this hotel because location was good, staff was extremely helpful and kind, room was very clean and all this for great price :)

Room Tip: room 114 - A/C didnt work, orange one room 120 - green one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydkaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & genuine feedback.
My apologies about the technical shortfall in the first allocated room, however also pleased that our receptionist solved the problem by offering you a room-move, so you were able to enjoy your stay with us.
Looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future & best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - G.M. TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Got off to a bad start as the Parking Garage was closed for building work. Street parking in the area is a nightmare, but persistence paid. Reception is good a friendly, rooms a little dark but well equipped and clean. Bed comfortable but my room at the front of the hotel was noisy due to traffic from the street,. Try to get a room at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast was a little pricey but the pastries divine. Overall a good stay and good value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & genuine feedback.
I'm happy you have enjoyed your stay with us but also sorry that our parking is currently closed due to renovation. Please note than you can always park safely (24/24,7/7) at the nearby (600 m.) Central Stationunderground Parking (Kievitplein-approx. 15 € per 24 hours).
Looking very much forward to welcoming yout at the TRYP hotel Antwerp.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knesselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I think this building used to be a crappy hotel... But hey! The building had a great make-over! Inside it's fresh, goodlooking and welcoming! Not over-designed. Positive vibe. The lobby is cosy, the staff helpful en friendly. Rooms are small but comfy, nicely decorated and clean! Free (good) coffee in the lobby, free water & beer in the minibar, free wifi... can't believe for that price!
Location is OK, not in the centre but not at the end of the world... In a Small city like Antwerp nothing is really far. Parking is easy to find in the streets around the hotel. When I need a hotel in Antwerp I will come back to this place because of price / value / interior / parking

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavyVermeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Vermeire,
Many thanks for visiting us again and sharing your wonderful feedback.
Obviously I'm very pleased that you acknowledge our great price-quality ratio as this is a most important USP for the TRYP hotel Antwerp.
Looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Best regards,
Wim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Likes: free minibar, free wi-fi, clean rooms, helpful staff who speak good English, very comfortable bed, great shower, nice seating area in entrance to the hotel.

Dislikes: breakfast a bit expensive, no iron or board in the rooms, limited no of channels on the TV and no movie options, bit out of the centre and looks like in a run down neighbourhood.

Overall: very pleased with our stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dodo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for staying @ TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp and sharing your honest feedback.
Obviously I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay with. Regarding the location I really would like you to discover the most charming art nouveau district Zurenborg, just around the corner of our hotel (The vibrant & beautiful Daegeraadplaats is at only 5 minutes walk).
Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future & best regards,
WIM Van Respaille - GM TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#32 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.9 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing