We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This appeared to be very much a businessman's hotel. The room was a reasonable size, clean, comfortable. Only one seat plus a stool in a double room though. Free wifi. Breakfast was ok but a little unprepossessing and quite expensive. No restaurant but some interesting ones a block or two back from the main road. It was easy to reach and find by car from the ring road. We parked in the car park and it was quite tight to get in - easier to exit. Just thought it simpler than driving round looking for a space. It was a pleasant walk into the centre in the morning despite there being a nearby tram stop, but coming back mid evening it felt quite far out and one could get quite wet if it rained!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Sir Plantin Hotel Antwerp + your feeback, as it helps us to further improve our standards.
We appreciate your comments on the quality of the hotel and altough we remain confident that the price is very reasonable and competitive we take your comments about our breakfast serious.
Thank you once again & we look forward to hosting you once again at the Sir Plantin in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location of the Sir Plantin in Antwerp is very good. Close to one braod raed leading into the city's center but still very close to the center itself (15min by foot).

The rooms are big enough and comfortable, WiFi is included for free. The beds are also comfortable and bis enough. The bathroom is sufficiently large, towels are available, everything is very clean.

Unfortunately, the windows can not be opened and rooms are climatized. For those who do not understand how to control the air conditioning (or when the controller is out of work, which happened when I was there), there is no way for getting a suitable breeze into the room.

The corridors are painted dark, you have to get used to this impression.

Breakfast ist good but not really cheap. It has to be paid additionally to the stay. For those who do not need a breakfast buffet, they offer free coffee and croissants in the morning. That's real fair.

The parking situation is not perfect. The hotel offers a parking garage to be paid extra but there are public parkings available. Please note that the entry to the hotel's parking garage is very low, access with a bus or a van could be critical.

A supermarket is pretty close. Also, some restaurants are very close to the hotel.

All in all, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schwabenheini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at the SIR Plantin Hotel Antwerp.

We are happy to see that you have spent a nice stay with us. Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of my team as we strive continuously to offer our esteemed guests service beyond expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another SIR experience.

Kind regards,

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Plantin and would recommend it. The location was fine for me as it was 10mins. walk from where my son lives. There is a pleasant square with bars and restaurants just 5 mins. away. Not suitable for people who wish to walk into the centre of town though.

Pleasant modern decor, with a boutique feel. Room was excellent (and quiet), except lighting a bit too subdued for me.

Breakfast of a good standard, although first day there had obviously been a rush on as no tables laid and noone to great guests. Only one person on duty. Other two breakfasts were better.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and I got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks you for your time and valuable comments regarding your recent stay at the SIR Plantin Hotel Antwerp.

Obviously we are very pleasad to see that you have spent a nice stay with us.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another SIR experience.

Sincerely,

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had a good stay and will come again. I took a train in from the airport and the Hotel was about a 10-12 minute walk - very doable even if you're in mediocre shape. Hotel and rooms are a little eclectic - chic-modern feel. I got what I thought was a good deal but believe it was a pretty standard rate. Desk staff was great – very pleasant and knew where to go and what to do. Location is great as city center starts right around the back and down three blocks – 10-15 minute walk to the square. Lobby bar is small but fun and had good food. Breakfast is way overpriced for sure and the lady managing it consistently crabby – eat breakfast somewhere else. WiFi was problematic for me (slow and had to reconnect every hour).

Room Tip: The front of the building is busy all night and not conducive to rest for light sleepers - get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Sir Plantin Hotel Antwerp + your feeback, as it helps us to further improve our standards.
We appreciate your comments on the quality of the room & our front office staff and take your comments about our breakfast service serious. However we remain confident that the price is very reasonable & competitive. I will investigate what went wrong with the internet connection, as we realize this is very important service towards our esteemed guests.
Thank you once again & we look forward to hosting you once again @ the Sir Plantin in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the train station down an unattractive street although the hotel itself was very appealing. The decor inside was very nice and modern and reminded me of Boutique hotel style. The room was large, clean and modern and included a free mini bar. The bathroom had a bath and overhead shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and provided us with a great night's sleep. The food available at the bar was reasonable and delicious. We had a problem connecting to the Wifi but the receptionist allowed us to use the office Wifi. Getting into the centre means taking a tram that looks like it's from the 30's. Not very comfortable. As we only stayed for one day this was manageable. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear,

Many thanks for your recent stay & recommendation.

Obviously it's always a pleasure to know that our esteemend guests have enjoyed their stay !

If you come back to the hotel, I would definitely like to recommend you to visit the very charming Dageraadplaats at only a few hundred meters walk from the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Mega comfortable beds and bathroom. Very clean too! Nice design.. No complaints about anything. Take a bike ( velo Antwerp, with creditcard and install app on your phone ) for 3€ a day and within 5 min you are in centre of town..park the car opposite of the hotel in the streets for 3,50€ a day!!!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lloretje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear,

Many thanks for your recent stay & recommendation.

It's always a pleasure to know that our esteemend guests have enjoyed their stay !

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for the three nights. The front desk staff/bar staff are top quality. Very easy going, well knowledgeable, and friendly. The rooms are very well done, modern flare and simple. The massive mural of Catherine the Great behind the bed was a nice touch. "Free minibar" are two words I like to see together.
The breakfast is not the best. The "breakfast lady" seems give everyone grief about even showing up. "It is 9:30, we close at 10:00. This(the food) is all that is left," she barks. The OJ container needed filling, the eggs were gone. Two pieces of and sausages and dry bread being left out. I paid €15 for what? The cheese was sweaty, the milk was warm, and the coffee was a strange sludge. "this is all that is left" she said again. "You have 20 minutes", she mumbled. That was a pleasant way to start the business day. NOT!
Hint... There is a grocery store about 200 metres to the left as one walks out to the street from the main entrance. It has everything. I stocked my fridge with breakfast bits and snacks and saved my €15 from the breakfast troll.
Free WiFi. No fitness center. Close to Central Station by taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear,
Thank you for the completion of your review following your recent stay at the Sir Plantin Hotel Antwerp.
We appreciate feedback such as yours, as it helps us to assess our standards constantly & consistently.
We appreciate your comments on the quality of the room & our front office staff and take your genuine comments about our breakfast service serious.
Thank you once again & we look forward to hosting you once again @ the Sir Plantin in the not too distant future.

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 73 in Antwerp
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#47 of 73 in Antwerp
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#35 of 73 in Antwerp
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
4.2 mi away
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
#25 of 73 in Antwerp
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $64 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing