We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Koning van Spanje
Ranked #27 of 107 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
“Exquisite stay!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights and it was an absolute pleasure being hosted there. The luxurious room is contemporary classic and tempting. A contemporary hotel experience is added to a century old building. Our bathroom with plenty of space and big bath added to the romantic getaway we planned for. The breakfast was sumptuous.

The hotel is located right in the old centre of Antwerp, right next door to many cultural attractions and many good restaurants. The whole,experience makes one almost feel part of this rich culture without having to compromise on one's wishes for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinoud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed only 1 night but very nice room and bathroom. Missed only a Nespresso and Tea making facility. They offer breakfast in a special room, should be ok. Not easy to find as you drive by the entrance door without seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. I like the off the street entrance. Our room was beautiful, roomy and quiet. Bathroom was spacious.

We enjoyed the breakfast and the coffee was also very good. Another beautiful breakfast room. Also the same room where tea and dinner is served. Unfortunately we did not sign up for the dinner. But after returning one day we did see several people enjoying a beautifuly prepared meal and wine and conversations.

The hostess is very knowledgeable and a well trained cook. Should we stay in Antwerp again, we will avoid searching for restaurants and ask to have dinner at De Koning van Spanje instead.

Once again, beautiful accomodations that are not too far from the train station and main tourist areas. The price is more than reasonable.

Thank you!

Room Tip: any room is great. sign up for the dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legsbut_boo_b_elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

While traveling from Bruges to Amsterdam we stopped in Antwerp for one night to see the city and stayed at De Koning van Spanje. The street door to the bed and breakfast makes it look unwelcoming and impossibly small, since it is sandwiched between other buildings. Though once you enter the street door you walk into a cute little garden alley that leads to the house, that is actually set back from the street. We arrived a bit later than we had expected and were greeted by Georgette's son. He was very courteous (and strong because he easily carried our heavy suitcases up the stairs), and showed us quickly around the bed and breakfast even though he had somewhere else to be. The room we had was very spacious with a nice sitting area. The bathroom didn't have a door but it was around a corner in the room so you still had some privacy. There was a nice tub and a shower with many different nozzles, a variety of buttons, and a radio. I never really figured out what all the different buttons did though. The room was very quiet and our window looked out into their yard. We met Georgette in the morning, she was very talkative and friendly. We did not have breakfast here since it cost extra, instead we went out to a nearby cafe. The bed and breakfast is in a good location that is easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, the square and church. We did take a taxi to get to and from the train station. Overall this was a very nice clean and comfortable bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

A very interesting and small ghesthouse. Great location, very central, but the guesthouse is absolutely quite. The rooms overlooking the interior garden are exxcellent: large, furnished and decorated with taste, and possesing all the necessary amenities.Large and well equiped bathrooms. Add to all this Georgette, a charming and very friendly hostess.

Room Tip: poom overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkisNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

A good B&B experience starts with the people who welcome you in their home and Georgette and her husband are a lovely couple who manage their B&B all by themselves. And what a home it is! VERY spacious, very tasteful, very unique. The place itself has a lot of history and charm and decorated with an eclectic collection of objects, plants and furniture. I wished the weather was better so that I could have had a beer in their cozy back garden. The rooms are very quiet and spotless. Towels a plush, you have everything available: shampoo, hair dryer, TV, whirlpool bathtub, shower cabin with a thousand buttons that do all kinds of things, bath robes, and free Wi-Fi internet access.... In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast with warm breads and croissants, cheeses and ham, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, coffee, homemade apricot marmalade (delicious!). The place is not cheap, but your get your money worth... an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfattal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

you're surprised when you're in front of the door, you're surprised when you enter the door , the house itself, the rooms, the bathrooms, the whole atmosphere, the friendlyness of the owner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuifje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Tissu
Hotel Le Tissu
#2 of 107 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
House Le Prince D'Anvers
House Le Prince D'Anvers
#35 of 107 in Antwerp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quatre20cinq
Quatre20cinq
#9 of 107 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bernardin Guesthouse
Bernardin Guesthouse
#25 of 107 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Koning van Spanje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Koning van Spanje

Property: De Koning van Spanje
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Koning van Spanje 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Koning van Spanje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing