We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Italian, real food, real taste, good value for your money”
Review of Isola Sarda

Isola Sarda
Reserve with
Isola Sarda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #214 of 1,423 Restaurants in Antwerp
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Italian, real food, real taste, good value for your money”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is really like what you get if you go to a typical restaurant in Italy. The menu is not too long to read and everything has a real Italian home cooking taste.
The place is simple, straight to the point: they serve excellent food at comfortable tables and no fancy dressing, keep in mind the spaghetti sauce may stain your shirt, so I would advise not to wear a tie ;-)
As for the service, it is really personal, by the owner, who will be happy to entertain you in different languages.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MassimoMercuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    76
    27
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, passionate owner.”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Came to this restaurant after a long conference week. The food was fantastic, the beer was really good an he Italian owner offers suggestions on food which show he was really passionate about the food her served. Was relatively well price 17€ for garlic bread (freshly cooked bread), massive pizza with bolanaise toppin, a beer and a bottle of water. If I'm ever in Antwerp again this will be where I will eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiranMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food made by lovely people”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The owners are very friendly, the food is very good, and the location is quite central. It's not Michelin-star-worthy food, but it's solid rural Italian fare. Definitely worth stopping in if you're looking for a low-key Italian restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank defensiverealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhein-Main Gebiet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truely Italian - and a very special chef”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant for a group of 18 people who were in Antwerp for a couple of days. Isola Sarda looked promising - but also somewhat irritating given a few negative ratings here on Tripadvisor. We found no confirmation whatsoever for the sceptical assessments. To the contrary: this turned out to be a truely excellent experience in Italian cuisine. I have lived in Bologna for almost a year. Some consider it to be the "foodie world capital" - perhaps rightly so. Isola Sarda reminded me of the prime qualities of the mutitude of very good restaurants in Bologna: reliance on fresh ingredients, creativity in designing new combinations, care in preparing the food. The chef and co-owner (with his wife) introduced his standards of quality by stating right at the start that most of the fish offerings (which many of us, myself included, had considered choosing) were not available because none of the fish which he saw in the market that morning lived up to his standard of quality. This was disappointing regarding our preferences but encouraging as to the quality standards the chef applied. As a result I asked him for suggestons. He recommended lamb chops with mushrooms in a Grand Marnier sauce. This sounded interesting -- and turned out to be a real experience in no fuss, down to earth BUT EXCELLENT food. The Grand Marnier had irritated me at first when I read the combination, but it went along extremely well with the lamb and opened up a new tasting experience. The chef also recommended a Sardinian red wine which was an equally excellent companion with the food. I asked others in the group afterwards what they thought and they agreed that this had been an excellent experience - also as far as price-quality ratio is concerned.

In sum: I have no idea what earlier critics had expected or whether they were indeed served food of lower quality and/or with less good service. Our group was - at a minimum - satisfied, many were (as myelf) thrilled. I had been to a reception beforehand and was actually planning to have only little food that evening. It turned out that I went for a full plate - and did not want to miss ANY of the delicious lamb chops served alongside the mushrooms-Grand Marnier sauce.

A final word regarding the chef with whom I had a ten-minute chat towards the end of our stay. He is a true character, a stubborn man as far as his (high) standards are concerned. One could easily imagine that he might not always be the diplomatic salesperson which some customers might expect. However, I was fascinated by his honesty, openness, professional sincerity and the passion for good food he brought to his job. We only had about ten minutes to talk but the story he told me about his life (among others he has two university degrees and has lived and worked - in financial services - in the US for some time), his self-understanding of being a chef etc. left me with the impression that it is THIS type of passionate restaurant owner which should be rewarded by customers. If you appreciate good food and if you are open for food which may go beyond received tastes try out Isola Sarda, tell the chef what you like -- and then follow his advice. More restaurants of this type would be a blessing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reddry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a word service and food items excellent.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I think it is a good restaurant.Because all foods are delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hossain r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Sarda also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Isola Sarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing