We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with love and attention”
Review of Le John

Le John
Ranked #283 of 1,441 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Hague
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food with love and attention”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Almost plain white and modern restaurant with friendly staff and most important: great food. Just the right atmosphere to enjoy your food and company. Loved their risotto with truffle. Worth every euro :-).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanFrankenhuyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant you would probably never visit if you didn't know about it”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

You wouldn't even notice there was a restaurant if you walked by it.
Although the restaurant is never crowded (read as: I've never seen it crowded), it serves delicious food.
The service is friendly, correct and they suggested us great wines.
I'll visit this place again in the future!

Though it was enough for us, the portions aren't really that big.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Le John: Fun and good food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Le John is not easy to find, even though it's in central Antwerp. In fact, our cab driver had no idea where it was. But don't let that deter you. It's worth the search! We started with Cava, which is the popular alternative to Champagne in much of Flemish-speaking Belgium. With it we ate delicious oysters - some of the best I've ever had. We switched to red wine with the meat course and continued until dessert, with more Cava. All delicious!

Service was not only excellent but warm and friendly. Not the US style of 'My name is ..." friendly, but helpful, quick, and witty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the best places to dine in Antwerp”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a truely feelgood place. The food is creative and simply delicious, the service is very friendly. The bar upstairs where you can have a drink before or after has an equally lovely atmosphere. I LOVE this place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mieke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, loved the atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The restaurant is situated not far from the south, really an original place.. Some friends recommended it, I had a blast, the food was great, original and inventive... the service was friendly and loved the bar upstairs ( you can even smoke in a separate room :) )
I'll come back for sure...

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bebebblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le John also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Le John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing