We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgian restaurant recommended by locals”
Review of Reuzenhof

Reuzenhof
Ranked #792 of 1,788 Restaurants in Antwerp
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

I had my first Belgian dish in this restaurant, on my first night ever in Belgium. This restaurant was recommended by owners of the hostel I was staying in, both of them were locals. I came in on a Thursday night and there was no wait as there were many empty tables.

I was the only foreigner the whole night. Many grandma & grandpa came to this restaurant and looked like everyone knew each other!

The waiter was very friendly. Recommended me a few Belgian dishes and I went for the "Witloof" which was chicory root or endives cooked with ham and cheese and served with mashed potatoes. It was reasonably priced at €15.90. I was surprised that the portion was huge! This dish tasted good and was very cheesy. Would recommend for those looking for a restaurant frequented by locals.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 40mellisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2018

This was our first restaurant in our short time in Antwerp and it was such a welcoming experience. Our waiter was so kind and patient with us. They didn't have an English menu but he was so helpful with explaining everything. When my sister ordered the trout he even helped her with removing the bone. Then he helped us look at the map to find some things to do in the city! We were impressed with how much the staff went out of their way, very kindly to help us have a great experience!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank nationalbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Ate "Vlaamse carbonade" there thIs evening. Deliciously stewed beef, with croquettes instead of chips - getting a bit sick of the Belgian passion for 'frietjes'... I had a Trappisten bier (the brown one (great.)

Delicious. English-speaking manager and manageress were very helpful.

The restaurant is in a rather "ethnic" part of the city Turnhoutsebaan 73, a bit run-down, but Reuzenhof is clean and respectable.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuzenhof also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Reuzenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing