We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden Antwerp
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

If I could give two and a half stars, that'd be more like it. very conveniently placed near the station, but at the end of one of the main diamond streets so, good neighborhood. Very minimal services (it's the first time in years I do get into a 3 stars hotel without a hairdrier in the bathroom... without anything at all except soap and towels, actually), a somewhat confused daytime reception (where they couldn't figure out for a while the room had been paid in advance, as it was, or not and where they insisted in having me pay the city tax altho it was well written in my booking it was included) while th enight turn was much better, the room had a single wardrobe designed for tall north european people, I'd say, as the hangers were barely within my reach (I'm small but not THAT small). Very confortable "ecological" bed tho and very quiet, which made for a good night sleep. Breakfast minimal but acceptable. Slow but stable internet connection. At around 100 euros it's way overpriced for what you get, but for less, if you can get it, it's still an aceptale choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    139
    82
    27
    11
See reviews for
22
173
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had booked this hotel for the first time in Antwerp during the Seafood fair Brussels, as the central station is only 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I Booked in advance on their own website for the advantegeous rate of €79,00 inlusive breakfast.(low rates comparing to Brussels) , Free wifi in the room, comfortable bed & modern bathroom with walk in shower. Plenty of good restaurants around the corner! Ideal for a 3 nights stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Close to the mainstreet , central station , zoo and
[ poor ] China Town .
All in walking distance .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel when it was called Sandton Hotel Antwerp. The hotel is conveniently located near the Central Station. It is along a quiet street in the Diamond District, less than 5 mins walk in from the main road. It is also within walking distance to Meir and Leysstraat for your shopping.

The room is spacious by European standards (definitely the largest room I've stayed in Europe), clean and chic. The bathroom is also of decent size. Bed is comfortable and generously sized for a good night's sleep. The room was already in great condition but I believe they have recently renovated and changed name to Mondo Eden Antwerp. The hotel is eco-friendly and there is free WIFI.

Staff at reception are pleasant and helpful. Breakfast served in a nice breakfast room, with sufficient selection to fill you up. The hotel is strategically located and good to use as your base for a trip to Antwerp. Wouldn't mind staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

we stayed at the Mondo Eden at the end of November, alto a little difficult to find at first it gave us a tour of the city!
The rooms are fairly small but comfortable, but the view from the window was directly opposite another room and so we had to keep the curtains closed even though we were on the second floor!
Breakfast was superb.
The staff were extremely friendly.
The wi-fi was not always available.
The only thing that lets this hotel down was the cleaning of the room, we stayed for 3 nights and not once was the room cleaned properly, the house keeping staff emptied the bin but left the rubbish bag on the floor, they did not wash the coffee cups or replace the tea and coffee (used on the first day) the kettle could not be used on the table as it would not reach the plug socket so had to be boiled on the floor. both soap containers in the bathroom were empty and had been for some time.
we will not let this spoil our thoughts on this hotel, and we will come back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
245 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Pleasant enough smallish hotel to use a a base. Has it's own parking but it's more expensive than the public car park right next door. Very messy shower that flooded the bathroom. Breakfast not bad. We'd probably stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondoEdenHotel, Reception at Eden Antwerp, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Mondo Eden Hotel Antwerp and sharing your experience & positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future in of our Mondo Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonUK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed in October 2011. I wouldn't go as far as the other reviewers to say this is a great hotel - I'd say more average to good. It let itself down a bit as I had high hopes but you can make up your own mind with my honest review below.

Rooms are small, and I booked mine through a third party internet site and requested a room on a high floor with a view. I was given a room on the third floor with an inward facing room with a view of a wall, so room was very dark and felt like a prison cell. I asked at reception and they quickly offered me a room on the same floor but on the road side so at least had a better view. However there was no WI-FI coverage at all and when I asked reception they said it wasn't great throughout the hotel (so why advertise it as free of charge and throughout the whole hotel?).

Again I asked for a different room that had a good WI-FI signal as I had to work and I was given a room on the lower ground floor, but again inward facing the courtyard (for smokers) so was very dark and all other rooms could see in.

The problem with the ground floor where I was is that you can hear people in the rooms above as they are wooden floors and you can also here them talking. Walls in the rooms were quite dirty with scuff marks, but they are all white so show things up easily I guess.

The positives were that the breakfast was good - lots to choose from and from 8 to 11.30 at weekends. Beds are also great and comfy so top marks here and the bathrooms were nicely done.

Overall if you just want somewhere to sleep and not fussed about any of the 'extra's' then this is ok. Not sure I'd want to be paying up to 90 Euros though without looking around elsewhere. Staff seemed ok and quickly sorted out other rooms when I wasn't happy. If internet connection is important stay on ground floor near reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#32 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Antwerp

Property: Eden Antwerp
Address: Lange Herentalsestraat 25 - 27, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Antwerp Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing