We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
87
231
131
71
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
231
131
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free drinks and nibbles free bar modern art le pain quotidien rooms are small perfect hotel weekend break old town nice room comfy bed nice breakfast grote markt bars and restaurants central location cava fireplace centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 571 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant. Superb location in a very upmarket part of Antwerp with lots of nice designer shops around it.

Great value for money (I think it was the least expensive of all the nice hotels on Booking.con when I looked).

Nice rooms - we were in a “Small Room” but it wasn’t even that small.

Very well maintained ... and then the special touch; A totally free bar between 5.30pm to 8pm!!

I’m not joking - the hotel has a lovely bar on The ground floor with unlimited free beer, wine and Prosecco, plus nibbles!, between those hours. As a result it’s got plenty of people in there, so a nice buzzy atmosphere.

People were not taking advantage of it, just respectful that the hotel could do something so generous - made you feel special so people we’re friendly and happy but not rowdy and We were there in a Saturday night.

Never seen that in a hotel before, but it’s a brilliant touch and means it’s the only place we would ever stay if we went back. Love this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ralphtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear guest,

How wonderful to read Banks has met your expectations in full and we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink.

Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and as said we do look forward to welcoming you again in Banks.

With kind regards,
Niesje Hogewoning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

The best hotel: in the centre of the city, quiet and friendly. Welcome with cava of the house. Between 4 and 8 pm free drinks and bites in the lounge with sofa’s where we could relax. Tiny room but cosy, the beds and rainshower excellent.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jet003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments and we are happy to read Banks has met your expectations in full.

And thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp.

With kind regards,
Niesje Hogewoning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019

Really good location. Parking nearby. Good service.
Clean room.
It is really nice that they have free drinks and bites in the late afternoon/ early evening.
We would go here again and recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Antwerpen.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marloesandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2019

Dear guest,

We are happy to read you are recommending Banks and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp.

With kind regards
Niesje Hogewoning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

We are experienced travellers in our mid-sixties. When we first stepped into the hotel, we both thought that we’d have a chat with our very experienced travel consultant when we got home because this is not your normal hotel, at least by our view. However, we quickly realized that it was a very good establishment and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It’s not for everybody, and best described as “quirky” and part edgy art gallery as well as a hotel. Interestingly, the clientele when we stayed varied from the young to the very experienced end of the time scale. We got an upgrade to a corner suite that was very large, if a slightly unusual configuration with a great view down into central Antwerp through floor to ceiling French doors that opened for an “alfresco” experience. Its location is its best attribute. Very close to a variety of good restaurants as well as metro stations that are a short ride from central. It's a very easy, and flat, 20-minute walk to Central station, which is worth a visit on its own. Most of Antwerp’s tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel, however our main objective was to use Antwerp as our base to explore the many beautiful medieval cities in Belgium that are only short train rides away. So being close to transport options was a bonus for us. The hotel has a “happy hour” every afternoon, with complementary wine and nibbles. Ask for a beer, because it’s not on display at the self-service bar. This gave us a chance to meet and talk to other visitors at the end of a days sightseeing, which was great. Try the small pub around the corner on the square next to the museum. Belgium beer is great! Breakfast at the hotel is very unusual, especially if you must have “full English”, however there’s enough other places to eat very close by. This is a great if unusual hotel; we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 694PhilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for your extensive feedback and we are happy to read you found Banks a "great if unusual hotel".

We do hope we may welcome you again with a chilled welcome drink to further explore Belgium and Antwerp.

With kind regards,
Niesje Hogewoning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is location. Service and hotel policies have a lot of room for improvement. The rooms are dark and small. Concrete ceiling and floor. Mini fridge that they give is tiny and loud. Breakfast is the same every day. Staff is not capable of problem solving. When I asked for iron and ironing board they could not provide any. First day, they had trouble showing me how to work gas heater in the room, and they were able to figure it out after few phone calls to other hotel employees. When they promised me a refund to my credit card, it took them three weeks to process it. If you don’t want to ruin your trip do not stay here, unless there are no other rooms left in Antwerpen. Will not come back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank mstepanov80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and thank you for appreciating Banks location.

I will discuss your remarks with our team to ensure we improve our service, so thank you for sharing this with us.

Regarding the point you make about the payment policy we do not understand these negative remarks in hindsight. At the moment of your reservation we did explain we had to take a guarantee on your credit card for a certain period and upfront payment at arrival for the rooms. This was accepted by yourself at the moment you made the reservation so why are you complaining about it now?
And the challenge of refunding the money to your card had to do with the fact you offered us a different card, therefore the credit card company could not apply the refund, as we explained to you and you then understood, so please be complete in your feedback.

With kind regards,
Niesje Hogewoning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews