We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best sole in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maritime

Maritime
Ranked #120 of 1,410 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $78
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best sole in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although on the "tourist trap", this place is always full due to it's excellent standard of cuisine. I have tried most things here, including the mussels, which have to be the best prepared in Antwerp. On this occasion I tried the dover sole. It really had to be the best sole I have ever eaten! Beautifully prepared and huge (I didn't know soles came in that size!). The wine selection is OK and the service could be a little more humble.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    20
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to this place after reading the comments in tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed at all. We chose the mussels "à la façon du chef", they were superb. The attention was correct and kind. We didn't expect to find such a high quality meal in a touristic place like this, an absolutely good surprise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oskrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This traditional fish restaurant is a short walk from the Grote Markt. Had the croquettes to start which were cooked to perfection and then a seemingly never ending bowl of mussels. They offer a variety of sauces but we both opted for the Chef's choice which is cooked with a large amount of herbs and onions in a light creamy sauce with a dish of perfectly cooked chips. With a very nice carafe of house white wine to accompany it, it was a delicious and filling lunch before the journey home to the UK. It is not cheap in Maritime but worth splashing out for such good food. Would like to go back and try something from the grilled fish selection. Helpful and friendly staff with everything well presented.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The real no nonsence good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a traditional Antwerp restaurant, known since many year for his mussels, game and asperges. Not to forget the Dame Blache Ice cream with real wipped cream.
Not romantic or for a romantic diner, but great food for fair prices. A place to go, also for lunch when your in Antwerp, not a tourist trap

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp-Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Here for eternity?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been frequenting this restaurant on and off for over 30 odd years now and I've never been disappointed. True, many tourists come here, which in view of its location near the main square in Antwerp and the town hall is not surprising. Yet unlike some of the other restaurants in the area, "Maritime" is NOT a tourist trap. Proof? I am a local and as I said I've been a customer for more years than I care to remember. Also true, many people come here for the mussels, which come prepared in many different ways. You'll get a portion of 1,2 Kg instead of the usual 1 Kg in many other places. A bit more expensive perhaps, but well worth the extra cost. Apart from the mussels the menu offers a variety in other seafood, and for those of you who don't too much care for anything coming out of the sea there are steaks available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Maritime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing