We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi but kind of expensive”
Review of Tokyo - Sushi Bar

Tokyo - Sushi Bar
Ranked #440 of 1,423 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good sushi but kind of expensive”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We wished there was a way to give 3.5 stars. We rounded up because the waitress and the cook are such friendly people.

We are vegetarian/vegan and called up front to ask if that was ok. It was and we were looking forward to see what the chef had come up with. Unfortunately we found it a bit limited and not very creative. To be honest, one week after and we can't even remember exactly what we got.

What we do remember is the bill. We found it a bit over the top to charge the same for vegan sushi as for sushi with fish (18€ for 16 pieces).
For those in our party who did eat fish, everything looked incredibly fresh and from what we've heard everything tasted great.

As veggies we will probably look at another place to get a bit more variety.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very fresh”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This tiny and authentic sushi spot seems to always guarantee the freshest fish. Of all the sushi places in Antwerp, they have the best rice for chirashi sushi. Good place for lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mieke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best of Japanese”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Fabulous sashimi. The freshest food prepared with great expertise (fish is brought daily from Paris). Very homely atmosphere and EXTREMELY friendly and polite.

Helpful?
6 Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Will visit again, authentic taste”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Have visited the restaurant multiple times, even before they relocated to this street.
We had udon noodles and sashimi.
Although not cheap, but then which Japanese restaurant is in Europe if you compare it with the US ..., but the taste was very authentic and really good.
I visited accompanied by a native Korean who is also a food lover and she totally agrees, so from multiple continents this restaurant gets a thumbs up.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank devege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi in Antwerp”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I've been a regular here for years, the quality is always excellent and all sushi and sashimi is cut and rolled a-la-minute, nothing pre-made like so many other sushi places.
Also a good selection of noodle soups and hot dishes.
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank eheiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo - Sushi Bar also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Tokyo - Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing