We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and food better at the McDonald's across the way.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Frituur Max

Frituur Max
Ranked #1,021 of 1,410 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian, Fast Food, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Service and food better at the McDonald's across the way.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The server behind the counter was EXTREMELY rude. The fries were limp, doughy, and boring, and the chicken was overcooked. I was so disappointed, I would rather have gone to the Golden Arches nearby.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank umgabri2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    24
    9
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Antwerp experience ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We read about this place and were excited to experience the best Belgian fries in Antwerp. After 10 minutes of waiting, we finally got our order in. We then had to wait 20 minutes more while the greasy cook served all the Belgian people who arrived after us. After complaining and asking for a refund, he shouted 'no refunds, quality takes time', before blowing his nose on top of our fries and serving it to us. We promptly threw it in the bin before going up the road for the some real Belgian food. DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank frantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"je bent zo moeilijk..."”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The grumpy guy at the counter started complaining and insulting me in Dutch when I asked for a tray to put the "fritjes" on . The locals commented that he had hard life and was drunk that day. Still - he could fry well :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpus Mills, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great fries a bit of a wait. The guy who runs the place is very grouchy, but he make great fries!! 3.50 Euro for a stack.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Frites en Belgique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were recommended to try the belgian fries and happened across this little place in Antwerp across from the Hilton and grootes. The server behind the counter, a middle aged gentleman was very friendly and chatted to us while our frites were being made fresh, they tasted very well and the location and atmosphere were good too. It was later in the evening when we went and it was just right. Overall, a good experience, only downside was there wasn't a lot of seating available.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Global Nomad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frituur Max also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Frituur Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing