We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous bed and breakfast, beautifully decorated, lovely host .....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antwerp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 106 Antwerp B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bed and breakfast, beautifully decorated, lovely host .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We flew to Charleroi Airport then travelled by train to Antwerp, was 5 euros by booking on-line in the UK and printing off etickets !! bargain ........ took around 1hr 50 mins, the B&B is not ideally located if you want to easily walk into the town of Antwerp, which is why I have initially scored this down from a 5. After spending more than an hour trying to find the B&B on foot we finally ordered a taxi. The B&B is beautiful, the interior design is unusual and full of character. Our room was huge, warm, inviting and despite being on a busy road not as noisy as we were anticipating. There is a large 'gas' fire, which gave the room a cosy, comfortable feel, the heat could be altered with a remote control! Initially there was no tea and coffee making facilities, however Martin was extremely helpful and brought us a kettle and provisions so we could have a cup of tea in our room. The biggest disappointment was not having the room serviced, we stayed 2 nights/3 days and were surprised to find when we got back after our first night, having spent a full day in Antwerp, the bed was still 'unmade' and the towels etc were still where we had left them, hence my reason for scoring 3 out of 5 overall. It's a shame as this B&B was of a 4/5* quality, not sure if Martin just forgot to service the room or it was 'normal' that it would not be cleaned. We did not mention this to Martin, maybe in hindsight we should have done this. There was no access to communal areas, other than at breakfast time, where the breakfast room was accessed via the owners living room, however our room was large and other than maybe wanting to socialise with other guests, you do have space to sit and read, etc. in the room. We stayed in Room 3, lots of stairs to climb but that's normal in Belgium bed and breakfasts we soon learned. The host, Martin, was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was enjoyable and you were not left hungry. Martin was also really helpful advising about transport, sites, shopping, eating out. Overall the place is fantastic, hopefully the non cleaning was just a foresight on Martin's part, and if you want to be away from the centre you can catch a tram within a few minutes walk of the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeandipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulevardLeopold, Owner at Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and stay with us.
About your remarks, I would first of all like to state that the 4/5 rating on tripadvisor is not 4/5 hotel stars, we are not a hotel, but a rating of guests how they value their stay here, so the comment that we don't live up to the 5 star rating is not an issue here.
If you don't know your way in a city I would suggest you take a taxi to start with or at least ask me for directions, it's a 10min walk from the train station and 5 min by Metro. So there was no reason for walking around the city for more than an hour.
In every room there is a Nespresso machine present, I only offered you the water boiler because you prefered to drink tea.
Not servicing the room is a choice we make because we respect the privacy of our guests, and we are always willing to change towels and service the room if anyone would request this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I just spent 4 wonderful nights in Martin and Patricia's terrific house. The location was great...the public transportation was just a very short walk away. Martin gave us a map and marked all the routes for us so it made travel around the city very easy.

Room Tip: We stayed in apt #1,,,it was beautiful and very spacious...we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulevardLeopold, Owner at Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Hope to see you next time you visit Antwerpen !
Kind regards,
Martin & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Boulevard Leopold and most importantly Martin and Patricia are absolutely fabulous, it might sound like a cliche however it really did feel like we had spent the weekend with good friends.
We were brought to Antwerp for a friends wedding and we were constantly running in and out to attend various events with the wedding party over the weekend. Martin always went out of his way to call us a taxi and was always super helpful to arrange restaurants and offer up local information.
We stayed in Apartment 02 and it was just divine. We had our bed on a mezzanine level with a gorgeous skylight where we laid in bed in the morning admiring the beautiful blue sky above us. The room also has a beautiful role-top bath which I had to say even as a shower addict it was so enjoyable to take the time to run a bath and soak our body after a lot of dancing during the wedding, it was so therapeutic and it really made it feel like an indulgent holiday.
Having read a previous review about taking your own shower gel, I brought a little travel version of my favourite shower gel and bubble bath solution to thoroughly enjoy and would recommend.
Finally I would just like to say that even though the building is stunning and the room was something I would actually rent to live in, what makes Boulevard Leopold are Martin and Patricia, they are just so fabulous and I remember before going on this trip I read a few reviews and I can not believe how anyone can find them unhelpful they are simply the perfect hosts and I thank them for the lovely stay and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The apartment was lovely and spacious however all the rooms looked amazing also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent four nights here with my girlfriend and had an amazing stay. Very cool, unique renovated house. Interesting and comfortable rooms. Location is a long walk from downtown (20 minutes), but is easy with convenient public trans if you're comfortable with it.

Martin was very helpful with recommendations and got us reservations at some amazing restaurants. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jgertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Martin and Patricia the owners have done an amazing job with their stunning house in Antwerp. I stayed ther with my mum in apartment 1 and it was everything I thought it would be and more. They were very helpful giving us advice on great restaurants to go to and places to see. The apartment and the area that you had breakfast in were just beautiful and I couldn't stop taking pictures.
Our only niggle was that we booked the apartment for the second bed and it wasn't made up and there was no bed linnen handy to make the bed. As we arrived late at night we didn't want to make a fuss. The main bed was really big (and comfy) so we ended up sharing for the rest of our time there. If you get this apartment and want the second bed I would ask in advance. The second thing, and this is miner, it would be nice the have a few little toilettries with the room. I would have loved a bit of bubble bath so I could have really enjoyed the massive clawfoot bathtub! Take your own, you won't regret it! All and all I would reccomend this to anyone who was visiting Antwerp and wants somewhere beautiful, original and with bags of character. What are you waiting for? Book this B n B now!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Everything, seriously, everything in this place is perfect. It goes from the walls, to the decorations, to the doorknobs, to the knife at the breakfast table and even the radiator in the room. I couldn't stop looking around, discovering new amazing things every time.

We stayed for 2 nights in Room 1, the one with the big black bathtub next to the bed. It was perfect, the bed feels like a marshmellow, so soft and perfect. Falling asleep was no problem for me. The tub is so big I could lay in it entirely (and I'm a tall girl, so that's a first time for me). People who prefer to shower, no problem, there is one in a seperate bathroom. The people were really nice and friendly. Gave advice on the public transport, parking and what to do and what to see and very nice in conversation.

Breakfast is perfect. Several sorts of bread, all fresh and still warm from the oven (you wake up from the smell of breakfast and it makes you want to get out of bed and go eat). Fresh orangejuice, eggs (the way you want them), coffee, tea, fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt with strawberries. Just lovely.

The tram stops just 200m away from the front door. You never have to wait long, and it brings you right to the center of the city. It's in the Jewish quarter, so that's quite a impressive thing (I think). And the supermarket was closed on Saturday (for sabbat) but open on sunday. Different, but interesting. But the buildings are beautiful and it's a great place to walk around, with the park around the corner.

Perfect B&B if you are looking for that romantic, one of a kind place.
Thank you for the great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulevardLeopold, Owner at Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Lotte,
Thank you for the kind review.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we 're glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Martin & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Boulevard Leopold is a boutique B&B in the Jewish quarter of Antwerp with plenty of character, a great host, and décor that looks like it could grace the pages of Vogue. We stayed here to visit the Christmas markets in both Antwerp and Brussels, with a quick trip up to the Netherlands. We arrived a bit later than anticipated, but the owner, Martin, graciously waited for our arrival, helped us with directions over the phone to find the address, and even held a roadside parking spot for us (the B&B doesn't have a parking area, but you can usually find someplace close along the avenue). We do recommend that, if you drive to the Leopold, you find a parking spot in front of the hotel and leave it there. The city tram runs right in front of the hotel and there is a tram stop less than 100m from the front door. The tram in Antwerp is well run and easy to navigate. One note is that our GPS kept directing us to the wrong location, so make sure you take a look at the map before you go. Once we finally found the house, Martin showed us up the stairs our gorgeous room (room 3) with a view over the tree-lined streets below.

Each suite is decorated in a unique manner and color scheme with plenty of bespoke antiques, books above the fireplace and comfy furniture. We loved the romantic feel of the room with its hardwood floors, glass perfume bottles on the nightstand, icons hanging on the walls, and other amazing details, the only issue we had with the room was the bathroom. The clawfoot tub is quite the focal point with its gauzy curtain, flanked by antique mirrors and shelves with etched glass jars filled with bath salts, but we still haven't mastered the art of using the showerhead in a freestanding tub without splashing water everywhere like we are robins in a bird bath!

We slept in and then joined the other guests in the solarium the next morning for breakfast, and what a delight to see the tall Christmas tree adorned with glass bulbs and fairy lights! The owners have an amazing sense of style and they pulled off some interesting pairings for décor that was chic and edgy, yet still sumptuous and utterly lounge-worthy. There are several tables set up underneath the glass ceiling of the outer salon room (where breakfast is served), which led to an outdoor courtyard that was also decorated in the holiday spirit. Breakfast was delicious and enough to tide you over until you can enjoy one of the many culinary offerings that Martin will gladly direct you to. He was an excellent host; very friendly with plenty of suggestions for how to enjoy his city.

The common areas were amazing. You can tell that the owners take great pride in the house and the comfort of their guests. It was a bit rainy during our stay, but there were even umbrellas ready for the taking in the foyer. The entire house is full of great details, from the fresh flowers on the mantles to the carved woodwork leading up the stairwells. There are potted plants, leather couches and beautiful antique wooden or velvet upholstered chairs gathered in the main salon where you can sit and listen to music, chat with the hosts or other guests, and read one of the many local guidebooks or magazines sitting on the table.

On our way down to breakfast one morning, we managed to sneak a peek into apartment 1 as it was being cleaned after one guest left, and it was absolutely stunning! Gorgeous furnishings, a little balcony, an overstuffed couch in front of the marble fireplace, potted plants, and it spanned the entire floor. We liked it so much we would have switched rooms if we'd stayed for longer.

Overall we really enjoyed the atmosphere, food, and service provided at Boulevard Leopold. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a stylish and romantic B&B outside the city center.

Room Tip: The apartments don't include breakfast in the rate, but they are well worth consideration if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulevardLeopold, Owner at Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the nice detailed review, we couldn't have said it better ourselves.
We are truly glad you liked the house and appreciated the details.
The remark about the bath in room 03 is noted but I have to state that it's a handshower to rince out your hair while seated in the bath tub, it's not really intented to take a shower.
The room 01, room 02 and the apartment 01 do have a regular shower.
Anyway, we never read a review about our house that reflected the feeling better and there for our sincere regards.
Martin & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
1.3 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast

Property: Boulevard Leopold Bed & Breakfast
Address: 135 Belgielei, Antwerp, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boulevard Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Boulevard Leopold Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing