We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a classic!”
Review of El Warda

El Warda
Ranked #586 of 1,426 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $30 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“a classic!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I visited El Warda some 15 years ago. The place stil breaths the same real Maroccan atmosphere (nothing fancy but the real thing).
Food is excellent; prices are correct; service fine.
Won't wait another 15 years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    41
    19
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing, noisy, chaotic”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place had been recommended by friends. They own a (good) restaurant, so I felt quite comfortable taking my family there. Oh, the disappointment! The tables are much too close. The place is noisy. The service is appallingly slow. The wine is undrinkable. The food is very average. If you're just back from Morocco, avoid the place by all means.
We all decided we'd never go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Furge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food for an informal dinner”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

El Warda serves great traditional Moroccan food in a rather informal setting. It can get a little hectic at times, and mistakes do happen from time to time, but they are usually solved with a very friendly smile and a lot of goodwill. You can wait quite a while for your main dish so ordering a collection from their great appetizers is usually a good way of avoiding any frustration.

When you can see past the service, you'll find great tasting dishes to enjoy with your friends when time doesn't really matter.

Helpful?
Thank joostbevernage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
358 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“chaos but great food”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went on a busy sundayevening to this place.
The servant lost our order ... waiting waiting waiting.
But after one hour (with free drink) we got our tajine. One with chicken, the other with seafood! Great taste.
The chef apologised antoher time and suggested a dessert for free. Pancakes from Fatima with mangosauce and oranges with cinnamon. And a nice portion of tea.
So bit of chaotic evening, but great food.
We certainly visit this place another timei

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in Antwerp”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

El Warda used to be around the corner from where I lived, and now that I have moved out of Antwerp I still regularly regret that I can't go there as easily anymore. I especially liked the way they combined several great things without making a big fuzz about it: the food is very good, the atmosphere is also very nice, and the area where it is situated is just perfect for a nice couple of relaxed hours off-the-beaten-track with a stroll through Cogels-Osylei and some of it's northern side-streets and a refreshing drink on the Draakplaats or Dageraadplaats - or maybe both? Enjoy the vibes!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepperwhitechili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Warda also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to El Warda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing