We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”

Sir Anthony Van Dijck
Ranked #52 of 1,457 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply great”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in town, even without the Michelin stars. Be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    117
    33
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant lost it's quality by the years. The food is not bad, but average. Be aware of the high prices of the beverages. For this price you can eat twice elswhere and better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A restaurant since the 15th century, not flashy but beautifully done, having renouced three stars!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I knew this would be an interesting meal when we had to ring a doorbell for admittance. The restaurant opened in the 15th century and while it no longer serves a 15th century menu, the interior is a luscious stage for the presentation of good food. There are worn stone floor and huge windows that bathe the place in beautiful light even in the winter, when we were there. In the summer those windows are opened and the place is flooded with fresh air and there are a few tables out in a small courtyard.

That is the feast for the eyes. The current chef used to have three Michelin stars but tired of the demands of the star system for constant innovation and the expectations of snooty customers who seemed to be there more for the stars than to taste the food. And so he returned to making rather simple but exquisite fare. Two of the three of us were vegetarian and so we had a lovely negotiation at the outset about what there could be. And the result lived up to our hopes. Our lunch (2 1/2 hours) was not flashy but it was beautifully done. The wait staff were exceedingly knowledgable and even, I would say, affectionate in the best way. It was a lovely afternoon.

Ring the bell!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went here to celebrate New Year with the two of us. Since the restaurant was closed during the holidays, they could only serve the gastronomic menu just after (this was mentioned on the phone during reservation). We were planning to take that menu anyway, so for us this was no problem. All the four courses were prepared with care, the wine advised by the waitress had a good price/quality ratio and the service was very attentive. This is not a restaurant to go to on a weekly base since it's rather expensive, but for special occasions, this is more then recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First but not the last time!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent set dinner with friends. Whilst other tables were replaced with diners during the night we had our table from 19.30 to 23.30 with no pressure to leave - an excellent meal and service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doux79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Anthony Van Dijck also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Sir Anthony Van Dijck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing