We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Set Genki Tei

Set Genki Tei
Ranked #108 of 1,232 Restaurants in The Hague
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Our interiour has been decorated in a traditional Japanese style. Besides sushi, we also offer Lunch Bentoboxes, Hotpot (Fondue), Japanese Noodlesoup (Ramen) and other Japanese dishes. And aside from food we also offer different kinds of Sake, Japanese beers, cocktails and soft drinks.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Cozy restaurant located within the shopping zone. Serve quality Japanese food and with good portion. Tried lunch beef set (request for medium rare) and I love it! My wife and I went back couple of time and we tried their Wagyu Shukiyaki set, waygu portion are generous. Smple awesome especially when it pair with sake.

A must visit restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    56
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take the Soft shell temaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Exquisite Japanese restaurant. Nice staff, but very very very good food. Always fresh. By all means, not a cheap restaurant, but as Japanese restaurants go, not expensive either. I highly recommend the soft-shell crab temaki (handroll), as well as the Okinomiyaki. Both are very nice! I try eating here at least once a month.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kroonkurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
265 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The food is good, the restaurant is big and well located. The service is friendly but I was puzzled when I ordered a cup of latte (they have an Illy sign at the door) and they told me that they didn't have it. So I've asked if they have capuccino and actually got one... my question was if they can make a capuccino, why they cannot make a simple latte??? don't think it would be so difficult to have some warm milk...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot in The Hague for sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very authentic place for great sushi in The Hague. Great service and friendly people.

Helpful?
Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not authentic Japanese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The new location of this restaurant is spacious, modern and attractive. The picture menus are easy to understand and it is certainly not expensive for Japanese. The trouble is, it is not really Japanese. Most Japanese restaurants in the Hague are run and owned by Chinese, nothing wrong with that but the quality of ingredients and the execution of the dishes is not of Japanese standards. What we had was adequate (a couple of sushi rolls, some deep fried pork rolls with a watery thousand island dressing??, a red bean icecream without any red bean in it and with a funny colour). A shame Japanese food is being presented this way, Dutch people get the wrong idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurriaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Set Genki Tei also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Set Genki Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing