We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Indian - best I've had in the Netherlands”

Indian Restaurant Maharani
Reserve with
Indian Restaurant Maharani is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,285 Restaurants in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indian Restaurant Maharani is open throughout the entire year, even on important public holidays. The Maharani crew are always ready to put together the perfect dish for their guests. Maharani tries to make everything as special as possible by truly reacting to people's desires and therefore creating a dish for their guests, which is perfectly tuned to their personal tastes. The Maharani can also be hired for parties or other festive occasions. The chefs will bring along a traditional Indian clay oven, the Tandoor.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Superb Indian – best I've had in the Netherlands”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our dinner at the Maharani was superb: the food was a notch above the standard Indian fare, with much more varied tastes and interesting dishes on the menu. To top that, the staff is incredibly friendly, making us really feel at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    73
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Living in the UK, my wife and I are not strangers to Indian restaurants but we were extremely impressed with the Maharani. The service and friendliness of the staff were wonderful and we opted for a 'vegetarian surprise' meal as a change from our usual lamb or chicken. We had 4 lovely courses and the soup was one of the nicest home made soups we have ever tasted.
This really is a top of the range Indian restaurant with great decor and reasonable prices, I cannot recommend highly enough. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“They run it like their own!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Reached the restaurant just 10 mins before they were to close but was pleasantly surprised by the good service of the staff. They may be owners, or friends/family of the owner but it's clear they like what they do! Food was good and simple. It was served hot and was quite tasty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Followed the Law of Large Numbers and found a gem!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently moved from the US to the Netherlands and are still trying to find our favorite spots to eat out. This was our second Indian restaurant attempt (the first was really not that great) so we decided to use trip advisor to help us find all of the Indian restaurants in our area and picked this one because it had the largest sample size of ratings by far and yet it was still rated as a solid 4. We concur with that rating. The food was great and my husband's Chicken Madras dish was filled with heat the way he likes it and not the bland version of heat that we have seen at other Indian restaurants in Den Haag. This one made him sweat! They also throw in two complimentary side dishes with every order - a spinach and kidney bean dish which was a nice surprise for us. I had the Chicken Biryani which was very good.

Service was ok. They forgot our drink order and left wine glasses on our table the whole time even though we didn't order wine. All in all the service experience was on par with what we have seen at most restaurants in this country. One key piece of advice is call ahead and make reservations. They were packed when we arrived so we had to wait 30 minutes. It wasn't bad though. The restaurant is located in a nice shopping and restaurant street so we took a walk through town while we waited and explored.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thannan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great in every way!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, environment & service. Large portions and side dishes included with entrees. The spicy is very spicy! Service was wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Restaurant Maharani also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Indian Restaurant Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing