We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best restaurant in the neighbourhood”
Review of Restaurant Basaal

Restaurant Basaal
Reserve with
Restaurant Basaal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 1,274 Restaurants in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Zuidwal
Description: Restaurant Basaal has been based at Dunne Bierkade, one of the most beautiful canals in the centre of The Hague since 2001. Chef Bas Oonk has led the way for years with his culinary style on Avenue Culinaire, a range of restaurants and cafes on Dunne Bierkade, each with their own unique and international style. Cosy restaurant and terrace Basaal serves dishes from the European kitchen in a warm, contemporary and intimate atmosphere. The restaurant consists of the adjoined parterres of two small town houses. In the summertime you can enjoy dining on the spacious terrace with view on the charming Dunne Bierkade. Kitchen Over the past few years, Bas Oonk's kitchen has evolved into a contemporary, basic style using regional products. For several years, Restaurant Basaal has been a member of Euro Toques, a collaborative that focuses on the use of natural, and preferably regional and seasonal produce. In 2015, the Michelin guide awarded the efforts and consistent quality of Basaal with a BiB Gourmand. 'Bib' is short for Bibendum, the Michelin man, that awards a mark of distinction to eating establishments that offer an excellent meal for under 37 euros.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in the neighbourhood”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I like eating at Basaal, though it is not cheap, it has erverything I like in a restaurant. Good food wich is made with pasion fo food and cooking. Nice relaxt informal atmosphere what makes you feel welcome. Good service and nice wines! So if in you are in The Hague, treat yourself!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bertus-veldhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    58
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It is the best you can get in The Hague”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Basaal was a surprise in comparison to other places I have been in The Hague. A good surprise. The chef knows how to combine different ingredients and give the dish some taste. Some dishes were a success some were not but at least, the Chef tried to sign his dishes with personnality and give them a strong flavour. This is the first place in The Hague where I had the impression that the Dutch cuisine had some taste. It is a little bit expensive for what it is but if you enjoy good food with good service in a nice and cosy place, this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salama34790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Such potential, such dismal results”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having gone here after such a wonderful meal at Spijs, I was so disappointed. I, again as I did at Spijs, ordered the surprise menu expecting to try things not on the menu...why else would it be called a surprise? The Appetizer of chicken liver pâté was good but served Ina completely impractical spice jar...it was hard to get the contens out. The next courses whe really quite forgettable and were all just menu items. No surprise off menu items to show off the chefs abilities leaving to wonder what abilities he has.

What really ticked me off is that, as I had eaten late, I was eventually the only customer left. The service became non existent as the staff retired to a table near mine to talk and smoke. I had to start asking for things and it seemed to be considered a bother. It took over two hours to a simple three plus amuse bouche service without no one else around for most of it. The timing between the last course an desert was ridiculously long. The pairings became random and for two courses I had to ask what it was in front of me as they simpy put it down and started to head back to their table.

Overall the food was okay, the service started out as good then crater. A surprise menu made up of menu items is lazy. I would not return and where there half stars this place would rate 2.5 stars.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're in Den Haag, this is the place to go to...”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

In 40 years of living, I have never eaten food this divine. It's as simple as that!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody_Aki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Den Haag”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I really enjoyed eating at Basaal restaurant. The food was excellent from the starters, main course and desert, all very delicious. The service was also very good, with the chef coming out to talk to everyone. I would recommend everyone living or visiting Den Haag to go to this restaurant. It was a great pleasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizCurmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Basaal also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Basaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing